Chevron Left
Back to Introduction to Power Electronics

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Introduction to Power Electronics by University of Colorado Boulder

4.8
stars
2,701 ratings
674 reviews

About the Course

This course can also be taken for academic credit as ECEA 5700, part of CU Boulder’s Master of Science in Electrical Engineering degree. This course introduces the basic concepts of switched-mode converter circuits for controlling and converting electrical power with high efficiency. Principles of converter circuit analysis are introduced, and are developed for finding the steady state voltages, current, and efficiency of power converters. Assignments include simulation of a dc-dc converter, analysis of an inverting dc-dc converter, and modeling and efficiency analysis of an electric vehicle system and of a USB power regulator. After completing this course, you will: ● Understand what a switched-mode converter is and its basic operating principles ● Be able to solve for the steady-state voltages and currents of step-down, step-up, inverting, and other power converters ● Know how to derive an averaged equivalent circuit model and solve for the converter efficiency A basic understanding of electrical circuit analysis is an assumed prerequisite for this course....

Top reviews

SA
Jul 31, 2017

This course sets the groundwork for more advanced concepts in Power Electronics. The Professor was very explicit and the homework assignments were of a good strength to help ground the notions learnt.

PK
Jun 18, 2020

Very nice course. Even if you are already familiar with power electronics, it will help you to form a system of knowledge and utilize rational approaches for task solution of any level of complicity.

Filter by:

176 - 200 of 658 Reviews for Introduction to Power Electronics

By Branko M

Feb 22, 2019

I'm in love with this course. The material is presented and taught in the most efficient manner it would e

By Ahmed A

Sep 4, 2018

This course is great both in terms theoretical knowledge and practical hands on problem solving experience.

By Shounak K

Mar 14, 2018

The course really clarified many of the voids that even I was unaware. A big thank you to the instructors !

By Athanasios P

Feb 20, 2016

Excellent course!

I highly recommend this course for someone who wants to learn more on power electronics.

By Akash C P

Mar 10, 2018

Wonderful course if you looking to understand how power converters work and to a good start for beginners.

By Nick L

Jun 9, 2017

Great for anyone getting into power electronics or someone who simply needs a basic refresher from school.

By Anjana W

Feb 27, 2019

This course was really well organized such that the students can acquire basic power electronic concepts.

By Jonathan A S L

Jul 17, 2020

Very interesting content, I really extended my knowledge of a topic we didn't cover while in university.

By Malolasimman

May 21, 2020

Excellent teaching and I would recommend electrical and electronics engineers to specialize this course

By Shubham R P

May 18, 2017

Very nice course. In depth understanding of theory behind converters. Need to complete all the courses.

By Nathan J W

Aug 25, 2020

Great course. Well explained and good structure with topics building in a cohesive and coherent order.

By Laxmi M

Jun 4, 2020

A very good course sir. Got to know so many new things.Thank you sir for giving me so much knowledge.

By Javier P G

Aug 2, 2017

Good course to take a look into Dc-Dc non isolated devices and their analisys techniques(1 part of 6)

By Igna B

Jan 31, 2021

It's very difficult but you'll end up understanding everything very well. It took me like 15 hours.

By Muhammad A

Feb 28, 2016

An excellent opportunity to enrich my self with power electronics from another side of the picture.

By RUSHAB B

Dec 22, 2019

Excellent course for beginners looking towards making a career in the domain of power electronics.

By Maxim C

May 27, 2019

Меня впечатлило, как доступно и понятно были объяснены базовые понятия, и как разжеваны тонкости.

By Mukesh G

Nov 9, 2020

I think this course maintains a good standard, exercises are tricky and difficult. But I like it

By Mohammad J U

Feb 13, 2018

An excellent course to learn step by step how to analyze the steady state circuit of converters.

By Parth S

Nov 16, 2019

A Very god course & very much things to be learned as a beginner of a power electronics subject

By Aashish K

May 19, 2016

The course is great, especially for revisiting work previously learned and long since applied.

By Juan P P S

Mar 14, 2016

Great course! I learned so much about different types of converters. Keep it up the good work!

By Vibhor I

May 14, 2016

Beautifully covered. It helped to brush up the basic of converter in a well systematic way...

By PE

Feb 9, 2016

Excellent course by Prof. Robert Erickson !!

Want to do a power electronics course after this.

By Md T

May 2, 2021

Nicely presented all the important analysis and design of power electronics dc-dc converter.