Chevron Left
Back to Introduction to Power Electronics

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Introduction to Power Electronics by University of Colorado Boulder

4.7
stars
2,813 ratings
709 reviews

About the Course

This course can also be taken for academic credit as ECEA 5700, part of CU Boulder’s Master of Science in Electrical Engineering degree. This course introduces the basic concepts of switched-mode converter circuits for controlling and converting electrical power with high efficiency. Principles of converter circuit analysis are introduced, and are developed for finding the steady state voltages, current, and efficiency of power converters. Assignments include simulation of a dc-dc converter, analysis of an inverting dc-dc converter, and modeling and efficiency analysis of an electric vehicle system and of a USB power regulator. After completing this course, you will: ● Understand what a switched-mode converter is and its basic operating principles ● Be able to solve for the steady-state voltages and currents of step-down, step-up, inverting, and other power converters ● Know how to derive an averaged equivalent circuit model and solve for the converter efficiency A basic understanding of electrical circuit analysis is an assumed prerequisite for this course....

Top reviews

SA
Jul 31, 2017

This course sets the groundwork for more advanced concepts in Power Electronics. The Professor was very explicit and the homework assignments were of a good strength to help ground the notions learnt.

SH
Sep 22, 2017

I am very please of with course but i also want the course of power electronics related to any field i mean in FACTS devices applications so we can learn more related to new emerging technologies .

Filter by:

676 - 700 of 700 Reviews for Introduction to Power Electronics

By Abhinav R

Nov 4, 2016

This Course is very standard. I would have given 5 stars. Once you complete the weekly quiz and PASS it, you don't see the worked out solutions for the weekly quiz so that you can review.

By Unheh O

Jul 14, 2021

G​ood and concise lectures. Challenging homework problems, but I think I would have gained much more out of the course with solutions to the homework problems.

By Aya I

May 19, 2020

Good Intro information,but very little interactions or none on the discussion boards as the hw assignments are too complicated next to the lectures.

By Ing. R V

Mar 8, 2020

Quite good course practical and useful but without any support of lecturer or responsible person who is able to answer specific question at forum

By Rajat J

Apr 3, 2016

More theoretical. Analytical and Intuition is not much developed. Good for getting familiar with switch mode converter circuits.

By Thomas E M

Sep 18, 2016

There are serious issues with the quizzes. Other than grading correct/incorrect, there is no feedback afterwards.

By Farhan S

Mar 2, 2021

A good course but need some more advance software for the solving and practising of assignment and knowledge.

By Joy J S P

Jun 7, 2020

Should be extended from 3 week course to 5 week. Basics should be covered in 1st 2 weeks

By Phuong N

Apr 21, 2017

That course is quite good to get the fundamental knowledge about power electronics

By MARK G

Jun 29, 2017

Course is very good and well explaned. Tutor support is very patchy though.

By Ramya G

Aug 21, 2021

I have not received the certificate after completing the course

By Yi W

Jul 10, 2020

Good course. How to get feedback about homework?

By HARSHIT K

Jul 16, 2020

need assistance of teachers

By santosh k

Jan 2, 2021

Innovative & very tough.

By akash c

Jul 17, 2020

give me my certificate

By Suresh F M

Jan 6, 2021

it was help full

By sonar y v

Aug 27, 2020

BIT DIFFICULT

By Clayton B

Jan 10, 2021

LTSpice is what spoiled it for me. It made it impossible for me to continue this course past week one due to the demands of the workings of my work and budget. I am running a farm on a shoestring budget as my semiretirement profession, and the expense of getting graded by the LTSpice made this unfeasible for me.

By Biswamoy P

Aug 10, 2021

The course content was absolutely relevant. I enjoyed the course very much. But. at last I am disappointed after getting certificate. The certificate is not displaying my name, instead it is showing " Date of Birth" in place of name.

By Eric S

Aug 28, 2020

No TA/Professor help. Some of the HW questions were ambiguous. Posting on the forums didn't help at all, no one is there.

By Wangnan Z

Aug 23, 2021

Literally no forum support. calculation tolerance is very small

By Валерий В

May 12, 2021

no support

By Jorge V

Jun 26, 2021

There is little guidance to go by on this course, is it worth the time and effort? Not sure. A lot of theory with little application on real life problems. The concepts are important, the volt second, charge balance for example are fundamental, the examples given walk you through this. The teaching assistants are absent and also the Prof. There are no moderators on the Forum so you will not be able to ask anyone. The hw submission is inadequate, might as well make it multiple choice. You are on your own learning difficult content. This course can be improved with the presence of the moderators or TA's.

By Abheek A

Oct 9, 2020

Its Not an introduction , its from intermediate level

By ANDY G R U

Apr 19, 2021

no mr parece