Chevron Left
Back to Introduction to Power Electronics

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Introduction to Power Electronics by University of Colorado Boulder

4.7
stars
2,737 ratings
682 reviews

About the Course

This course can also be taken for academic credit as ECEA 5700, part of CU Boulder’s Master of Science in Electrical Engineering degree. This course introduces the basic concepts of switched-mode converter circuits for controlling and converting electrical power with high efficiency. Principles of converter circuit analysis are introduced, and are developed for finding the steady state voltages, current, and efficiency of power converters. Assignments include simulation of a dc-dc converter, analysis of an inverting dc-dc converter, and modeling and efficiency analysis of an electric vehicle system and of a USB power regulator. After completing this course, you will: ● Understand what a switched-mode converter is and its basic operating principles ● Be able to solve for the steady-state voltages and currents of step-down, step-up, inverting, and other power converters ● Know how to derive an averaged equivalent circuit model and solve for the converter efficiency A basic understanding of electrical circuit analysis is an assumed prerequisite for this course....

Top reviews

SA
Jul 31, 2017

This course sets the groundwork for more advanced concepts in Power Electronics. The Professor was very explicit and the homework assignments were of a good strength to help ground the notions learnt.

PK
Jun 18, 2020

Very nice course. Even if you are already familiar with power electronics, it will help you to form a system of knowledge and utilize rational approaches for task solution of any level of complicity.

Filter by:

151 - 175 of 666 Reviews for Introduction to Power Electronics

By Stefan R

Sep 8, 2020

This is a very intriguing , intellectual and quick understanding course. Great all round with a splendid instructor to guide the way.

By Zalman R

Mar 16, 2016

Really very useful for a beginner of power electronics, with some simple concepts and calculation, let me have a brief view. Thanks.

By Abhishek S

May 31, 2020

By far the best power electronics introduction chapter I have studied. I studied more than my bachelor's here. Highly recommended.

By E.M P C H

May 2, 2020

Very valuable course and it is gained good basic knowledge about DC-DC converters.Clear lectures and effective notes and examples.

By Irfan C

Mar 13, 2016

I re-learned some basic concepts from a different point-of-view despite practicing electrical engineering for the past 20 years!

By Julie F

Feb 29, 2016

Very clear course, interesting assignments. It could be even more interesting to get access to the solutions of the assignments.

By Jaja M J

Mar 25, 2019

Great course, beautiful experience! Thank you Professor Robert Erickson, thank you University of Colorado, Thank you Coursera.

By Peh K S

Aug 30, 2020

Prof Erickson explains the principles behind average equivalent circuit modelling of switching converters very well. Thanks.

By Dr.S.Rajasekaran

Jun 29, 2020

excellent course content , but after the submission of assignments ,pls provide the design factors to better understanding

By Abhinav K

Apr 6, 2019

A great start to the specialization course. Tough quizzes, great assignments! And Dr. Robert Erickson is amazing as usual!

By salil k

Mar 4, 2020

This is a fabulous course by the Authors. I am glad to be taught by the people whose books are followed at our institute.

By Amritansh S

Apr 19, 2019

Thank you sir.I learned the basics of power electronics in an effective manner.I will definitely enroll in the next part.

By Amnon Y

Mar 6, 2021

Very clear lectures. Very helpful worked examples. Very challenging homework which help in understanding the material

By Jakkamsetti S D

Jul 14, 2020

Course is great we can increase our knowledge in a great way assignments help us to solve many problems and derivations

By Rishi S

May 16, 2021

A very well designed introductory course. I really enjoyed taking this course. It was a very fun learning experience.

By Olvin J B M

Sep 22, 2020

Muy dificil la tarea numero dos, pero una vez pasando ese filtro lo demás es relativamente fácil (al menos manejable)

By Tumo M

Dec 10, 2017

I have really enjoyed the course and learned the basics of converter. Definitely looking forward for the next course.

By Leomar M M

Jan 28, 2020

The course is good, and the videos easy to comprehend. There are extra exercises to prepare you for each weeks test.

By Khalid H

Oct 23, 2017

Very helpful course and the concepts are very clear, 100 % recommended for any one work in Power Electronics field

By Seyed H M M A R

Dec 23, 2020

Dr. Erickson's excellent teaching in this course gave me a good understanding of the subject of power electronics

By Angel C M

Sep 1, 2019

Very interesting course, with good theoretical material and tasks that help to reinforce the knowledge obtained.

By Mohit V

Jul 12, 2019

Absolutely mind bogling. emands a lot of efforts from students to sove the asignments which is a very good thing

By Wajahat A

Dec 26, 2020

It was an amazing experience. The course was to the point and concise. The assignments were totally conceptual.

By Shivayogi B N

Jul 25, 2020

This is the very interesting subject which brings us confidence to solve practical problems. Thank you Sir. :)

By Jayakrishnan H

Jan 8, 2018

I cannot recommend this course as well as the whole specialization enough. Absolute value for the money spent.