Chevron Left
Back to Principles of Computing (Part 1)

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Principles of Computing (Part 1) by Rice University

4.8
stars
524 ratings
90 reviews

About the Course

This two-part course builds upon the programming skills that you learned in our Introduction to Interactive Programming in Python course. We will augment those skills with both important programming practices and critical mathematical problem solving skills. These skills underlie larger scale computational problem solving and programming. The main focus of the class will be programming weekly mini-projects in Python that build upon the mathematical and programming principles that are taught in the class. To keep the class fun and engaging, many of the projects will involve working with strategy-based games. In part 1 of this course, the programming aspect of the class will focus on coding standards and testing. The mathematical portion of the class will focus on probability, combinatorics, and counting with an eye towards practical applications of these concepts in Computer Science. Recommended Background - Students should be comfortable writing small (100+ line) programs in Python using constructs such as lists, dictionaries and classes and also have a high-school math background that includes algebra and pre-calculus....

Top reviews

SN

May 07, 2019

This course is very good for beginners and intermediate coders. Gives important basics about computer science from 3 very good professors.

JJ

May 16, 2018

very wellmade assignments! that goes a long way!\n\nplotting seemed a bit superflous and not much learned.\n\nThank you professors!

Filter by:

26 - 50 of 86 Reviews for Principles of Computing (Part 1)

By 周玮晨

Jul 08, 2018

Much harder than "Introduction to Interactive Programming in Python", more frustration and sense of accomplishment. I don't like TEST!

By Ian B

Jun 12, 2017

Yay, no more peer grading! This course felt easier than intro2. Less fiddling with your programs and more about concepts.

By GOGULA V

Apr 23, 2020

i enjoyed a lot, the syllabus in this course is really useful, and the application that we see in our day to day life

By Frank V

Feb 28, 2019

Very good course, with challenging projects. These projects help you also to improve your Python skills.

By 李彦霖

Jan 31, 2018

Very nice courses, I've learnt a lot. Thanks for all the teachers for their preparations and lectures.

By William C

May 10, 2020

Unbelievable course - great instruction and coding skill level increasing increasing exponentially!

By Ken M

Oct 29, 2017

definitely gets you thinking the right way about programming (math, algorithms, efficiency, etc.

By Julian O

Feb 20, 2018

Another wonderful class in this series. Great, engaging instructors and interesting projects.

By ankush k

May 20, 2018

Extremely well structured and highly recommended as a beginner course for computer science!

By RAVI R

Jun 17, 2017

Best specialization for those who want to improve their coding and computational thinking.

By DAVID P P

Apr 30, 2017

Really great course, understanding deeper some principles of computing. Great staff too.

By Jeffrey C

Sep 16, 2019

Increasing harder than the IIPP, but at the right level of toughness... great course!

By Jaehwi C

Oct 31, 2017

Great course for beginner to enter computer science and programming with Python!

By Stephen J W

Apr 04, 2018

Yet another brilliant course in a brilliant specialization. On to part 2!

By AN-HUNG ( T

Sep 10, 2018

Amazing course. Spend lots of time thinking how to code in Python Lol

By Ugo N

Oct 24, 2017

Very challenging and interesting so far. I'm only in the second week!

By Johann K M O

Jul 26, 2020

There was a lot to learn. It was very comprehensive and engaging.

By Margarita A

Jul 03, 2020

One of the best courses I've ever taken. Really makes you think.

By Ze C

Feb 15, 2017

Last week programming assignment is interesting and inspiring.

By Jason M

Apr 06, 2016

Amazing. Way better than my community college CS courses.

By Ravva S K

Jul 02, 2020

Extremely Satisfied with the Content of the COurse ....

By Rita I G

Sep 29, 2018

Funny, difficult and well structured, at the same time.

By Shivam C

Sep 02, 2020

Great professors great assignment Thank you very much

By Guanyu B

Aug 20, 2020

This course is super! Learned a lot from this course.

By Ashiti K

Sep 09, 2017

This specialization is helping me improve a lot.