Chevron Left
Back to Private Equity and Venture Capital

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Private Equity and Venture Capital by Università Bocconi

4.8
stars
6,094 ratings
1,429 reviews

About the Course

The course deals with the analysis of the private equity and venture capital business. Over the course, students will be provided with a deep understanding of the mechanism underpinning the creation and/or development of a firm and the financial support it can get from the financial system through venture capital investment. The course tries to discover how special financial intermediaries (called private equity investors) finance through equity companies belonging to different stages of their life-cycle, starting from the very beginning (startup and early stage) to a more mature phase (i.e. expansion, mature age, etc.) or also staying into crises and decline. Private equity (named venture capital when the company is in the first phases of its life cycle) deals with very different activities, such as scouting, advisory, deal-making, valuation, and financing as financial intermediaries see it. COURSE SYLLABUS The course is made up of four different modules: WEEK 1 - Introduction to Private Equity and Venture Capital WEEK 2 - Discovering Private Equity Investors: Legal Issues and Taxation WEEK 3 - Management of Private Equity and Venture Capital Funds WEEK 4 - Company Valuation And Deal Making In Private Equity Settings WEEK 5 - Final Test Throughout the course, guest speakers and practitioners will be interviewed to provide some examples of concrete applications of the contents presented. RECOMMENDED BACKGROUND An understanding of the basic concepts of corporate financing accounting principles is required, while prior knowledge of private equity and venture capital is not required however it is recommended, as this is a course designed to introduce you to the fundamental concepts in private equity and venture capital....

Top reviews

AM
Dec 3, 2015

Amazing course! Thank you very much, Stefano Caselli, for a such wonderful content and perfect presenting. I took a lot of very useful and practical information from it.\n\nI do appreciate it. Thanks!

TP
Oct 26, 2019

Excellent content, and superb slides.\n\nPlease check the quality of the English in the slides, and also in the quiz questions. Many quiz questions were difficult to understand because of the English.

Filter by:

226 - 250 of 1,430 Reviews for Private Equity and Venture Capital

By Renat F

Apr 6, 2020

This course gave me a plenty of new knowledge in the field of PE, though the narration was quiet easy yet exciting.

This course is a must for every one who is in search of new skills.

By Geoffroy D M

Feb 6, 2019

Excellent contenu. Professeur très pédagogue. Des semaines bien agencées permettant d'avancer à un bon rythme dans une thématique intéressante. De nombreux points complexes abordés.

By Carrie

Mar 30, 2018

The lectures are well organised, detailed and very clear. It has been very useful and I enjoyed the course very much. A big thank you to Professor Caselli and the team at Bocconi!

By Andres C

May 3, 2020

Excellent and very usefull material. Practical approach and outstanding theory on PE and VC clusters, deals structures, covenants, exist strategies, regulation, valuation and more.

By Edoardo L

May 29, 2019

The course provides an excellent overview of Private Equity and Venture Capital world. Very well structured materials and clear videos are available for the students. Truly helpful

By Pablo R

May 23, 2021

Muy ágil e ilustrativo! las entrevistas a gente clave muy valiosas, estoy muy agradecido con el profesor y la plataforma que hizo posible este curso. Muchas gracias y hasta pronto

By Julien D

Mar 24, 2016

Very good introduction to private equity. As a financial auditor in PE, this course allows me to develop my knowledge in PE, especially regarding the PE vehicles in the US and UK.

By Younes B

Nov 16, 2015

Great Course, I really enjoyed it. The course is well structured and it allows you to have an overview about Private Equity and Venture Capital Sector. I definitely recommend it !

By Alberto B

Apr 29, 2020

This course has been a positive surprise. I sincerely suggest to everyone, and especially to people who are passionate about finance, this amazing course. Well done Bocconi Team!

By Абакумов А А

Oct 21, 2018

That is the excellent course as for professionals and as for students. That was very usefully for me. And I would recomend this one to student of financial or economic education.

By Ahmad A

Mar 24, 2018

A great course to understand how the Private Equity and Venture Capital Industry works and how to evaluate opportunities both from a strategic view and financial valuation view.

By Augustin M

Mar 18, 2017

Very good course to understand the private equity and venture capital world ! It's not easy to find a good source to learn basics... This course allows me to improve my skills !

By Maximilian K

Mar 23, 2021

A really interesting and informative course regarding the topic PE & VC. Great to have a global overview of the industry before starting more advanced activities and research.

By Vignesh I

Jun 11, 2017

Simply amazing. Elegant explanations, basics are covered very well in this course. I will definitely recommend to anyone wishing to embark on a finance course like this. Hi 5!

By Valmik G I

Mar 29, 2020

Great course, provided me with an in-depth understanding of how private equity functions in the real world. Would definitely recommend it to someone interested in this field!

By Siavash R

Sep 24, 2019

Provided me with a very good overview and level of details that you would expect from such a short yet intense course. Highly recommend to individuals interested in PE world.

By Ibikunle F

Apr 7, 2021

The knowledge ,exercises and guest interviews were all of the highest quality and i leave the class much much much smarter and better than when i started. Gracie mi amicos.

By Junji K

Apr 8, 2019

Videos and slides were well structured and the length of the course was ideal. It did teach me a lot of the basic concepts for Private Equity and Venture Capital investment.

By Cindy M

Apr 17, 2016

I am in the PE industry, and this course is teaching me many aspects of the PE industry I was never exposed to. I believe anyone can learn a lot from this course. Thank you!

By Andrew D

Jun 15, 2020

Excellent course. Good teacher. Might need refreshing as interviewer mentioned 2015 market at present day. However, fundamentals remain the same. Highly recommended course.

By Felix

May 13, 2020

Amazing course. The presentations are full of info, structured, with examples. Highly recommend this course for those who don't have enough time to read 500+++ pages books.

By Shashvat R

Feb 5, 2018

Very informative course! A quick peek into all the vital facets of the PE industry. Enjoyed the way instructor appealed to the intuition needed for specific types of deals.

By Gregoire D

Dec 28, 2020

Really interesting training about finance and more precisely Private Equity/ Venture Capital from Bocconi ! I enjoyed it. A suitable way to get more skills and knowledge.

By DEBASIS P

Dec 3, 2020

A great in-depth knowledge of the world of private equity in different part of world. The knowledge of different private equity vehicles served as a great learning curve

By Shikha S

May 6, 2020

Very informative and illustrative. I had a very little knowledge about this topic and it has really helped me to understand critical concepts as well as feel confident.