Chevron Left
Back to Private Equity and Venture Capital

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Private Equity and Venture Capital by Università Bocconi

4.8
stars
7,328 ratings

About the Course

The course deals with the analysis of the private equity and venture capital business. Over the course, students will be provided with a deep understanding of the mechanism underpinning the creation and/or development of a firm and the financial support it can get from the financial system through venture capital investment. The course tries to discover how special financial intermediaries (called private equity investors) finance through equity companies belonging to different stages of their life-cycle, starting from the very beginning (startup and early stage) to a more mature phase (i.e. expansion, mature age, etc.) or also staying into crises and decline. Private equity (named venture capital when the company is in the first phases of its life cycle) deals with very different activities, such as scouting, advisory, deal-making, valuation, and financing as financial intermediaries see it. COURSE SYLLABUS The course is made up of four different modules: WEEK 1 - Introduction to Private Equity and Venture Capital WEEK 2 - Discovering Private Equity Investors: Legal Issues and Taxation WEEK 3 - Management of Private Equity and Venture Capital Funds WEEK 4 - Company Valuation And Deal Making In Private Equity Settings WEEK 5 - Final Test Throughout the course, guest speakers and practitioners will be interviewed to provide some examples of concrete applications of the contents presented. RECOMMENDED BACKGROUND An understanding of the basic concepts of corporate financing accounting principles is required, while prior knowledge of private equity and venture capital is not required however it is recommended, as this is a course designed to introduce you to the fundamental concepts in private equity and venture capital....

Top reviews

WO

Jul 14, 2019

The content of the course is really helpful and touches on the very important subjects in Private Equity and Venture Capital. The delivery by the Professor Stefano Caseli is also fantastic. Thank you!

TP

Oct 26, 2019

Excellent content, and superb slides.

Please check the quality of the English in the slides, and also in the quiz questions. Many quiz questions were difficult to understand because of the English.

Filter by:

501 - 525 of 1,667 Reviews for Private Equity and Venture Capital

By Michelle Z

Jul 31, 2020

A very great course with an engaging lecturer to understand more about Private Equity and Venture Capital

By Raymond X

Jul 18, 2020

Great content for beginners for corporate finance and interested in topic of private equity in particular

By Bruno M

Jul 5, 2020

Excellent course!! The concepts are very well explained by the Professor Stefano Caselli. I do recommend.

By Jing Z

Jun 19, 2020

I loved how all the notes were downloadable as a PDF. Instructor was clear and engaging. I learned a lot!

By Corwin R

Jul 29, 2019

A great course for the beginner in Private Equity and Venture Capital World. Thanks a lot, Prof. Stefano!

By Christopher M

May 7, 2019

Some of the questions should be reviewed for their translation into English. A few were rather confusing.

By Hessam K

Feb 3, 2019

Great contents. I'm a startup CEO and it helped me to get a better perspective on PE/VC world. Thank you.

By Sudhir K

Oct 23, 2017

Well designed and extremely well delivered course for anyone who wishes to understand the PE/VC business.

By Jane B

Aug 30, 2021

I have no PE/VC background. I like the content. It's solid and informational. Thanks Professor Stefano!

By Deleted A

Jul 18, 2020

Very complete course for 5 weeks. Great professor with great explanation skills and examples. Recomended

By Emily R W

Jul 11, 2019

Great class, touched on everything I was looking for and especially helpful with valuation calculations.

By Abraham

Mar 24, 2019

I learnt a lot about the world of private equity and enjoyed the lecture format as well as the forums .

By Nana K J

Feb 24, 2020

Excellent class, great learning and good pace. Will be good to have a refresher test after a year or so

By CHOUKRANI N

Oct 12, 2019

Cours très clair qui nous donne une vision globale du Private Equity tout en rentrant dans les détails.

By Suyeon K

Oct 30, 2022

Basics of PE covered. Basic idea of. But some of the video kept on stopping. Good for quick overview.

By Anh T N T

Mar 7, 2022

I learned many fundamental information about PE and VCF and basic calculation related to this subject.

By Takudzwa K

Nov 11, 2020

Great course indeed. Opened my eyes to a new world of Private Equity that I had no exposure to before.

By Modisa M

Jun 23, 2019

Excellent Entry Level Course. The material is well presented and structured in a very logical format.

By Francesco P

Nov 2, 2018

Very useful and well-done course for everyone who wants to understand the basic knowledge of PE and VC

By Victoria B

Jun 3, 2018

The instructor was excellent. Interesting to listen to and made the concepts very easy to understand.

By Veselin P S

Aug 8, 2016

The course was very helpful, professionally done and giving all information which required. Thank you!

By Ruchan K

Dec 23, 2022

It is a great course for entrepreneurs that wants to learn more about the financing part of a startup

By dixith k

Jul 7, 2021

Very informative course, if you are working or studying related to Private equity and Venture capital

By Yannick M

Jul 23, 2020

Very good course that teaches the fundementals aswell as some in-depth skill essential for PE and VC!

By Gaurav S

Jun 5, 2020

It was an excellent learning experience. It gave me a chance to practical experience of the PE space.