Chevron Left
Back to Private Equity and Venture Capital

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Private Equity and Venture Capital by Università Bocconi

4.8
stars
6,656 ratings
1,546 reviews

About the Course

The course deals with the analysis of the private equity and venture capital business. Over the course, students will be provided with a deep understanding of the mechanism underpinning the creation and/or development of a firm and the financial support it can get from the financial system through venture capital investment. The course tries to discover how special financial intermediaries (called private equity investors) finance through equity companies belonging to different stages of their life-cycle, starting from the very beginning (startup and early stage) to a more mature phase (i.e. expansion, mature age, etc.) or also staying into crises and decline. Private equity (named venture capital when the company is in the first phases of its life cycle) deals with very different activities, such as scouting, advisory, deal-making, valuation, and financing as financial intermediaries see it. COURSE SYLLABUS The course is made up of four different modules: WEEK 1 - Introduction to Private Equity and Venture Capital WEEK 2 - Discovering Private Equity Investors: Legal Issues and Taxation WEEK 3 - Management of Private Equity and Venture Capital Funds WEEK 4 - Company Valuation And Deal Making In Private Equity Settings WEEK 5 - Final Test Throughout the course, guest speakers and practitioners will be interviewed to provide some examples of concrete applications of the contents presented. RECOMMENDED BACKGROUND An understanding of the basic concepts of corporate financing accounting principles is required, while prior knowledge of private equity and venture capital is not required however it is recommended, as this is a course designed to introduce you to the fundamental concepts in private equity and venture capital....

Top reviews

WO

Jul 14, 2019

The content of the course is really helpful and touches on the very important subjects in Private Equity and Venture Capital. The delivery by the Professor Stefano Caseli is also fantastic. Thank you!

TP

Oct 26, 2019

Excellent content, and superb slides.\n\nPlease check the quality of the English in the slides, and also in the quiz questions. Many quiz questions were difficult to understand because of the English.

Filter by:

401 - 425 of 1,559 Reviews for Private Equity and Venture Capital

By Edward E

Aug 28, 2020

Excellent overview. Very applicable crash course to whet the appetite. Enough to understand what's going on as an outsider

By Juan C B J

Aug 22, 2020

Amazing course, very interesting and very well thought out. I learned a lot about the PE world and I found it very useful.

By Majid D

Mar 22, 2019

This is a great start course for anyone with good financial knowledge who wants to understand the Private Equity industry.

By javad g

Feb 21, 2019

Presenting applicable subjects in a structured and ordered form

Comprehensive slides and complementary excel files

Thanks :)

By Veronika P

Aug 14, 2017

The course provides clear and understandable basic insights in the topic of PE&VC. A great one to start with these topics.

By Guilherme C

Jun 18, 2020

Excellent! I am just grateful for the University of Bocconi and the Coursera to make this possible! Many thanks, friends!

By Enrico M

Jul 30, 2018

Absolutely loved this course. Good explanations, good set of notes, spreadsheets, etc. Wish I would have found it sooner!

By Faris A

Feb 11, 2022

I love this course. The professor teachs us so clearly, and the curricullum is systemathic so it helps us to understand.

By boniface c

May 16, 2020

relevent information, combination of reading, practical exemples and video learning. I

t answered what i was looking for.

By Deleted A

Aug 16, 2019

One of the best courses on Coursera! Very well structured and easy to understand. Congratulations to Bocconi University.

By Yoan C

Nov 28, 2018

Very well made course that knows how to transmit knowledge regarding a complicated subject. I would recommend to anyone.

By harsh v

Apr 19, 2020

this is one of the interesting course as i have gained a lot of knowledge about the private equity and venture capital.

By Kishore C

Nov 24, 2018

I found the course very useful explaining beyond the fundamentals.

The lectures covering 'Valuation' were most valuable.

By MD M A

Aug 10, 2016

Nicely designed course for students who don't have any prior knowledge in this particular sector. Really appreciate it.

By Ben J M E

Nov 5, 2015

I learned a lot from this course. It gives me a basic understanding and structure of how private equity business works.

By Carl B

Jan 26, 2022

Very concise summary of all aspects of the topics. It's a true eye-opener for me. Good job on the curriculum design.

By Jean F

Aug 4, 2020

Excellent course with a relevant content. Cases help to understand. the professor is excellent ! I strongly recommand.

By Abhishek M

Jun 17, 2020

Very relevant content explained in a systematic manner. The discussion forums are really interesting. Found it useful.

By Francesco L

May 9, 2020

A special thanks to the Professor Stefano Caselli For have explained these topics in a clear and comprehensive manner.

By Flavio R

Mar 11, 2018

Amazing course and i really recommend for everyone who intend to learn more about Private Equity and Venture Capital.

By Marwan C

Oct 14, 2016

Just a perfect introduction to Private Equity. The course is well-structured and the teacher is amazing. Thanks a lot!

By Sebastian S

Jan 17, 2017

Excellent intro into Private Equity. Hands on approach and good working examples that come with Spreadsheets and PDFs

By CARLO S

Jan 30, 2016

I really like this lesson, the teacher gives very good explaination about how does work private in Europe, US and UK.

By Naga P T

Jan 22, 2016

I was waiting for a good Private Equity course long time. I find this course very well structured. I give it 5 Stars.