Chevron Left
Back to Private Equity and Venture Capital

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Private Equity and Venture Capital by Università Bocconi

4.8
stars
6,651 ratings
1,545 reviews

About the Course

The course deals with the analysis of the private equity and venture capital business. Over the course, students will be provided with a deep understanding of the mechanism underpinning the creation and/or development of a firm and the financial support it can get from the financial system through venture capital investment. The course tries to discover how special financial intermediaries (called private equity investors) finance through equity companies belonging to different stages of their life-cycle, starting from the very beginning (startup and early stage) to a more mature phase (i.e. expansion, mature age, etc.) or also staying into crises and decline. Private equity (named venture capital when the company is in the first phases of its life cycle) deals with very different activities, such as scouting, advisory, deal-making, valuation, and financing as financial intermediaries see it. COURSE SYLLABUS The course is made up of four different modules: WEEK 1 - Introduction to Private Equity and Venture Capital WEEK 2 - Discovering Private Equity Investors: Legal Issues and Taxation WEEK 3 - Management of Private Equity and Venture Capital Funds WEEK 4 - Company Valuation And Deal Making In Private Equity Settings WEEK 5 - Final Test Throughout the course, guest speakers and practitioners will be interviewed to provide some examples of concrete applications of the contents presented. RECOMMENDED BACKGROUND An understanding of the basic concepts of corporate financing accounting principles is required, while prior knowledge of private equity and venture capital is not required however it is recommended, as this is a course designed to introduce you to the fundamental concepts in private equity and venture capital....

Top reviews

TP

Oct 26, 2019

Excellent content, and superb slides.\n\nPlease check the quality of the English in the slides, and also in the quiz questions. Many quiz questions were difficult to understand because of the English.

AM

Dec 3, 2015

Amazing course! Thank you very much, Stefano Caselli, for a such wonderful content and perfect presenting. I took a lot of very useful and practical information from it.\n\nI do appreciate it. Thanks!

Filter by:

451 - 475 of 1,557 Reviews for Private Equity and Venture Capital

By Omphile N

Apr 6, 2022

Brilliant course to gain an understanding on the fundamentals of PE. User-friendly content and easy to learn.

By Lajuan A

Apr 6, 2022

E​xcellent, but the instructor could have spent time explaining the maths with the Excel Sheets in the video.

By Alexandra

Jan 9, 2022

Useful and concise to learn about private equity. e.g. I used it to apply for a position/in interview context

By Pranay S

Mar 30, 2021

It was a great learning experience!

Had a lot of fun with learning the concepts and calculations of valuation.

By Kunal L

Mar 21, 2021

Best course if you are interested in learning various aspects surrounding Private Equity and Venture Capital.

By Erik R

Nov 1, 2020

The course provides you with a very good theoretical and practical framework to underdestand the world of PE.

By Neysa A S M

May 14, 2020

It's a course with complet information if you what to get in to the private equity and venture capital world.

By Marcus S

May 28, 2021

​It was a fantastic experience learning from this course and I would definitely introduce this to my friends

By Federico E P

Sep 6, 2020

A very special thank to Professor Caselli, always able to explain technical concepts in a crystal clear way.

By Rahul G

Jul 27, 2020

Very Comprehensive course on Private Equity and Venture Capital Funding and Life Cycle of their Investments.

By Marc A A

Mar 12, 2020

Really good material, well explained, thought quizes, overall great course to get yourself introduced in PE.

By zulfiqar h

Oct 25, 2019

Overall good practical knowledge has been delivered, which is not otherwise easily available in study texts.

By Michele B

Dec 17, 2021

I've found it very insightful and clear! Thanks Bocconi to have shared such an amazing content on Coursera!

By Bibek S

Apr 26, 2021

It was a great learning. It will definitely help in my current job and future endeavor as well. Thanks lot.

By Maya I

Jun 4, 2020

course material provided in engaging format with the right density of content. engaging instructor as well.

By Rosendo G L

Apr 25, 2020

Extraordinary well designed, good methodology, good balance between videos and readings, excellent teacher.

By Lucas R

Apr 20, 2020

Good:

+ structure

+ slides

+ excels for calculations

Improve:

language in tests. Sometimes unclear what is meant

By Georgi P

Jan 4, 2021

Wonderful course and professor. Thank you for giving us the opportunity to learn about interesting topics.

By MAHADEVASWAMY C N

May 5, 2020

Done with it. Oh that too mentor's english keeps irritating me even now. Anyway materials help me to pass.

By Anusha H

Feb 28, 2022

Thankyou. It was a great experience to gain knowledge about Private Equity Investment and Venture Capital

By Maricruz Q C

Sep 6, 2020

I learned a lot about Private Equity and Venture Capital. I am very grateful for the teacher's teachings.

By Michelle Z

Jul 31, 2020

A very great course with an engaging lecturer to understand more about Private Equity and Venture Capital

By Raymond X

Jul 18, 2020

Great content for beginners for corporate finance and interested in topic of private equity in particular

By Bruno M

Jul 5, 2020

Excellent course!! The concepts are very well explained by the Professor Stefano Caselli. I do recommend.

By Jing Z

Jun 19, 2020

I loved how all the notes were downloadable as a PDF. Instructor was clear and engaging. I learned a lot!