Chevron Left
Back to Private Equity and Venture Capital

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Private Equity and Venture Capital by Università Bocconi

4.8
stars
6,094 ratings
1,429 reviews

About the Course

The course deals with the analysis of the private equity and venture capital business. Over the course, students will be provided with a deep understanding of the mechanism underpinning the creation and/or development of a firm and the financial support it can get from the financial system through venture capital investment. The course tries to discover how special financial intermediaries (called private equity investors) finance through equity companies belonging to different stages of their life-cycle, starting from the very beginning (startup and early stage) to a more mature phase (i.e. expansion, mature age, etc.) or also staying into crises and decline. Private equity (named venture capital when the company is in the first phases of its life cycle) deals with very different activities, such as scouting, advisory, deal-making, valuation, and financing as financial intermediaries see it. COURSE SYLLABUS The course is made up of four different modules: WEEK 1 - Introduction to Private Equity and Venture Capital WEEK 2 - Discovering Private Equity Investors: Legal Issues and Taxation WEEK 3 - Management of Private Equity and Venture Capital Funds WEEK 4 - Company Valuation And Deal Making In Private Equity Settings WEEK 5 - Final Test Throughout the course, guest speakers and practitioners will be interviewed to provide some examples of concrete applications of the contents presented. RECOMMENDED BACKGROUND An understanding of the basic concepts of corporate financing accounting principles is required, while prior knowledge of private equity and venture capital is not required however it is recommended, as this is a course designed to introduce you to the fundamental concepts in private equity and venture capital....

Top reviews

AM
Dec 3, 2015

Amazing course! Thank you very much, Stefano Caselli, for a such wonderful content and perfect presenting. I took a lot of very useful and practical information from it.\n\nI do appreciate it. Thanks!

TP
Oct 26, 2019

Excellent content, and superb slides.\n\nPlease check the quality of the English in the slides, and also in the quiz questions. Many quiz questions were difficult to understand because of the English.

Filter by:

1201 - 1225 of 1,430 Reviews for Private Equity and Venture Capital

By Piet H

Jul 2, 2017

Very well structured and succeeds fully in giving a clear overview of the PE and VC world. Concepts are well explained. Excellent as an introduction. Would require a lot more detail to be of practical use to persons directly involved with PE (Sconsidering PE or PE analysts).

By Franck C

Jun 11, 2017

Great overview of the PEVC world. Thank you all. The courses were very clear. One star less though as all calculation methods would have diserved some more lessons/time.

I am finally very positively impressed and thankfull for the course.

See you probably soon. Best regards.

By Luciano C

Oct 30, 2018

The course material (readings) and the video classes were very good. I believe the test questions could be improved and perhaps be a bit harder. Finally, I have participated of the forums but could not find my postings later (may be because I have not bought the course)

By Deleted A

Jan 10, 2018

Flow of the course was good. Concepts were explained in a simple manner. Field experts and PE investors were called for sharing their experiences and views was very much appreciated. However more practical examples and a case-study would have made the course better.

By Carlos M

Jul 28, 2020

Wealth of knowledge given was definitely comprehensive. Only improvement would be to guide students in the computation of Equity Value, etc. as it can be challenging understanding how certain figures were derived without the whole computing process being shown.

By Satyageet

Jul 8, 2020

The valuation part could have been taught better. The other sections were well explained. The accompanying slides are quite detailed. If one is interested in understanding the basic principles underlying Private Equity and Venture Capital, this is the course!

By Will M

Aug 17, 2021

Good course, with a lot of content and well presented. I think the forum questions are very tough and detailed compared to the course but it is a good learning environment for sure. Good to have some quantitative exercises in the course and tests also.

By Anoop D

Sep 29, 2019

good course provides a good understanding of PE & VC world with working examples and worksheets. Love to see some more real-life working examples and maybe add a capstone project to complete at week-5. Good work prof. for building and educating us.

By Hakim B

Oct 11, 2016

Professor Caselli is an amazing teacher, with a real expertise and a lot of experience in Private Equity and Venture Capital. The lessons are clear and well-structured. Nonetheless, I would have liked to work on modelling as well in these lessons.

By Robert M

Jun 26, 2016

Interesting and informative. A good entry-level course for those looking to get a clearer picture of the PE/VC space. I found the financial side of it a bit difficult to follow (though might just be me). Keep up the good work Universita Bocconi

By gongala v s s

Oct 10, 2019

Giving practical examples should be increased, rather than explaining the mechanisms directly some examples from past present should be used about the private equity market. professor Stefano Caselli has explained every part thoroughly.

By Victor C

May 31, 2020

Very good but a bit rushed. Could have taken more time to go over more details and give students a better grasp on the underlying parts. But overall does a good job on giving students an introductory general view of Private Equity.

By Aditya A

Jul 2, 2020

I found the course informative and interesting throughout , including the valuation part of it .

But the course should include more case studies of deals that have taken place to get a better understanding of the PE industry

By Yijuan J

Jun 1, 2018

this course provides a great structure and a good introduction of PE and VC, it will be much better if the course provides more details of the connotations and meaning of some formulas, instead of just listing the formulas.

By RICHARD M

Jul 23, 2017

Very interesting! Great professor! Well structured and useful information. Would be helpful and interesting to add a list of well known private equity funds and Venture capital players. Thanks a lot for this clear course!

By KONATHALA S P 2 B

Jun 28, 2020

The instructor seems quite informed and passionate about the subject but it was a little hard following the Italian accent at times. Some concepts were merely glazed over but other than that, the course is a good primer.

By Valerio M

Nov 6, 2015

Really enjoyed the course by Bocconi, clear, well organized, focused on important issues of PE&VC, a major theme in nowadays economic environment. I recommend this course, if you want to improve your knowledge on PE&VC.

By Friso B

Oct 11, 2020

A great course that cover most of the fundamentals of Private Equity and Venture Capital. There could have been more attention given to the quantitative valuation process, but the entire course is extremely worthwhile.

By Vinicio S

Apr 20, 2020

A very interesting course.

I suggest it for all those who wants to be introduced in this subject, but don't believe it is only an overview!

The teacher deepens taxation and managerial aspects and I appreciated this.

By Snehanshu

Apr 4, 2020

Great course - absolutely enjoyed it. i have no background in private equity or finance. the flow and structure is really great. the only thing missing is more real life examples/case studies during the lectures.

By Stéphane A

Apr 14, 2016

very interesting and useful course. I hope that many users will find it relevant. African market and models are absent on the présentation; I appreciate the professor and the slides exercises are quite clear

By Nicolas-Patience B

Dec 21, 2015

Brilliant course... Not too long or too short, just enough to give a decent understanding of the field and complement knowledge acquired elsewhere... I am even more inclined to learn more about PE and VC now.

By Jacob W

Sep 26, 2020

To make the course more realistic, include short papers / exercises and limit tests to ONE attempt. This will incentivize me to study more and not rely on the number of attempts to carry me to a great score.

By Lapo L

May 31, 2020

The course gives great theory and helps understanding various concepts of PE and VC, wish it had more case study practices and tests especially with all the data coming out from companies in the last months.

By Mindaugas

Mar 10, 2019

Great course! The only struggle was going through the formulas too fast (if you are not used to finance and abbreviations) - for some users it could be too advanced and confusing. Otherwise, great stuff!