Chevron Left
Back to Private Equity and Venture Capital

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Private Equity and Venture Capital by Università Bocconi

4.8
stars
6,656 ratings
1,546 reviews

About the Course

The course deals with the analysis of the private equity and venture capital business. Over the course, students will be provided with a deep understanding of the mechanism underpinning the creation and/or development of a firm and the financial support it can get from the financial system through venture capital investment. The course tries to discover how special financial intermediaries (called private equity investors) finance through equity companies belonging to different stages of their life-cycle, starting from the very beginning (startup and early stage) to a more mature phase (i.e. expansion, mature age, etc.) or also staying into crises and decline. Private equity (named venture capital when the company is in the first phases of its life cycle) deals with very different activities, such as scouting, advisory, deal-making, valuation, and financing as financial intermediaries see it. COURSE SYLLABUS The course is made up of four different modules: WEEK 1 - Introduction to Private Equity and Venture Capital WEEK 2 - Discovering Private Equity Investors: Legal Issues and Taxation WEEK 3 - Management of Private Equity and Venture Capital Funds WEEK 4 - Company Valuation And Deal Making In Private Equity Settings WEEK 5 - Final Test Throughout the course, guest speakers and practitioners will be interviewed to provide some examples of concrete applications of the contents presented. RECOMMENDED BACKGROUND An understanding of the basic concepts of corporate financing accounting principles is required, while prior knowledge of private equity and venture capital is not required however it is recommended, as this is a course designed to introduce you to the fundamental concepts in private equity and venture capital....

Top reviews

WO

Jul 14, 2019

The content of the course is really helpful and touches on the very important subjects in Private Equity and Venture Capital. The delivery by the Professor Stefano Caseli is also fantastic. Thank you!

TP

Oct 26, 2019

Excellent content, and superb slides.\n\nPlease check the quality of the English in the slides, and also in the quiz questions. Many quiz questions were difficult to understand because of the English.

Filter by:

1526 - 1550 of 1,559 Reviews for Private Equity and Venture Capital

By Joshua B

Nov 4, 2016

A good introductory course to the world of VC but fails to provide a deep enough dive into issues of internal VC/PE deal flow evaluation, processes. Not analytical enough.

By Rosco G

Mar 14, 2019

Good course. There are some typos on the quizzes in the translation to English that impact the questions and answers but the content is well thought out and informative.

By Foivos A T

May 9, 2020

Very interesting Course and detailed. I managed to gain knowledge regarding venture capital and private equity and successfully understood the terminology and logic.

By Michel B

Mar 29, 2021

Interesting topic and nice videos. Sadly the quality of slides was grammatically poorly structured. Overall, the experience was okay. Thus 3/5 stars.

By Chhote L Y

Mar 4, 2017

Great experience and basic knowledge of PE & VC but too much theory, and no descriptions given about the assumptions made while valuation.

By Thomas R

Jul 14, 2021

It's a pitty there is no class on LBO method. Also, please think to update the videos discussions. We are in 2021, not in 2015 any more!

By Olaf I

Jan 12, 2016

Very nice introduction in the private equity world, I like that the differences are explained between the anglosaxon an european systems

By Roubert L

Apr 8, 2018

I wish we could have some better explanations regarding some calculations for the quiz :( otherwise the class was very interesting

By Anju Y

May 22, 2020

This experience is so much hard...bcozz same more difficult to learn..but...this is good for mcq type questions.....thank you...

By Gursartaj N

Jun 28, 2020

I reside in India, and the course dealt with a lot of theoretical concepts that may not have been directly linked to my region.

By Gert B

Jul 6, 2021

a nice overview of the basics but a bit outdated, needs a 2021 revision and some of the abbreviations are not industry stand

By Lilia M U

Nov 2, 2020

Excellent course. Every concept was clearly explained. I wish we have learn more about real case scenarios :)

By BECHIKH N

Mar 10, 2021

I recommend this course if you are interested in understanding private equity and Investment world.

By Bhuvan T

Aug 13, 2020

It would be nice to have more real life case studies of EU VCs and US VCs and funded entrepreneurs

By Pradeep R

Feb 25, 2022

The concept taught here is crystal claer only this whic is little complicated is the formula

By Federico L B

Apr 3, 2020

Speaker with poor English pronunciation. So fast and not very clear in the valuation topic.

By BASIM A

May 10, 2022

The accent of the instructor was very heavy. It was defficult to understand and focus.

By Jay P

Aug 13, 2020

The course is too theoretical and lacks practical examples approach

By Will S

Dec 12, 2017

Good course, gives a better than average understanding of PE & VC

By Stefan Y

Apr 10, 2020

Challenging English form the videos. Too generic knowledge.

By Abhishek P

Feb 20, 2019

More practical examples on excel modeling would be better.

By Ivan S

Nov 27, 2016

There is not enough material. Course should be longer.

By Rob R

Dec 27, 2021

alot of info to take in but i liked it

By Konstantin B

Jan 27, 2019

I think there should be some homework

By MAYANK D

May 28, 2020

More Projects could have been added