Chevron Left
Back to Private Equity and Venture Capital

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Private Equity and Venture Capital by Università Bocconi

4.8
stars
5,924 ratings
1,400 reviews

About the Course

The course deals with the analysis of the private equity and venture capital business. Over the course, students will be provided with a deep understanding of the mechanism underpinning the creation and/or development of a firm and the financial support it can get from the financial system through venture capital investment. The course tries to discover how special financial intermediaries (called private equity investors) finance through equity companies belonging to different stages of their life-cycle, starting from the very beginning (startup and early stage) to a more mature phase (i.e. expansion, mature age, etc.) or also staying into crises and decline. Private equity (named venture capital when the company is in the first phases of its life cycle) deals with very different activities, such as scouting, advisory, deal-making, valuation, and financing as financial intermediaries see it. COURSE SYLLABUS The course is made up of four different modules: WEEK 1 - Introduction to Private Equity and Venture Capital WEEK 2 - Discovering Private Equity Investors: Legal Issues and Taxation WEEK 3 - Management of Private Equity and Venture Capital Funds WEEK 4 - Company Valuation And Deal Making In Private Equity Settings WEEK 5 - Final Test Throughout the course, guest speakers and practitioners will be interviewed to provide some examples of concrete applications of the contents presented. RECOMMENDED BACKGROUND An understanding of the basic concepts of corporate financing accounting principles is required, while prior knowledge of private equity and venture capital is not required however it is recommended, as this is a course designed to introduce you to the fundamental concepts in private equity and venture capital....

Top reviews

TP
Oct 26, 2019

Excellent content, and superb slides.\n\nPlease check the quality of the English in the slides, and also in the quiz questions. Many quiz questions were difficult to understand because of the English.

WO
Jul 14, 2019

The content of the course is really helpful and touches on the very important subjects in Private Equity and Venture Capital. The delivery by the Professor Stefano Caseli is also fantastic. Thank you!

Filter by:

151 - 175 of 1,401 Reviews for Private Equity and Venture Capital

By Marco A Q H

Oct 20, 2015

¡A great course!

Really easy to understand if you don't have any idea about the topic. It also opens your perspective about how you can obtain funding for your entrepreneur ideas or for your bussines.

I totally recommend.

By Marieme D

Aug 29, 2021

This class is o​ne of the most effective course I have taken on the subject matter. It is concise and gets to the point in a way that is accessible but without compromising the fundamentals. Thank you for a great course

By Sabrina S

Jul 27, 2020

This topic was totally new to me, but the course gave me a very good insight. The learning documents are very well prepared and it is great the have them available for the future. Thanks for this good preparation and

By Aakash N D

May 16, 2020

Great course! Very good foundational learning about PE/VC if anyone is looking to learn about it, especially young entrepreneurs who plan to raise VC so as to understand the science (and art!) behind PE/VC investing.

By David R M

May 15, 2020

Very Good course! it gave a great and clear image of how PE and VC works.

Professor Caselli explained in a very clear way and with the perfect combination of theory and practice with really interesting interventions.

By Jana R

Apr 6, 2020

Very well organised and interesting! My only 'wish' is that it would be even more detailed in terms of valuation (Week 4) and practice-oriented. I loved the main lecturer and the interviews at the end of each module.

By Kate C

Dec 20, 2018

Great course. SO useful that there are slides for every lecture, saves A LOT of time cause you don't have to take notes and istead can just study from slides and lectures. Great professor explains everything clearly!

By Harald P

Dec 2, 2016

Very good overview about the topic. The calculations could be explained a little more in detail. Some failures in the quiz. Very good movies with good learning material. Anyway, it's a 5 Star course !!! Thx a lot...

By Rina F

Nov 27, 2020

Excellent course. To get an idea of the wide world of PE&VC, this course is a very good choice. Correct coverage of the subject matter which gives a good understanding. Thank you Professor Stefano and Bocconi team!

By Williams P

Jul 19, 2020

It was a great course, with excellent slides and easy to follow. The translations have a couple of misspellings but considering Mr. Stefano's mother tongue isn't English, there's no further issue with it.

Excellent!

By Matteo M

Apr 29, 2020

Very special course with all the topics used for a perfect valuation, but my suggestion in to look forward more AIFMD regulation for Italy and also introduce sustainable finance especially for private equity funds.

By Shiva K

Jul 14, 2020

I enjoyed this course. The presenter was clear and engaging. The accompanying presentations were good. Sometimes, the quiz questions were ambiguous. Can be fixed easily. Thank you for the learning experience!

By ALEXANDRE G

Apr 6, 2020

I would like to thank Stefano Caselli that enables me to fully understand private equity. He teaches private equity with passion and in a very pedagogic way.

In a nutshell, I highly recommend to take this course !

By VICTOR M S N

Aug 16, 2020

I enjoyed the course, the very practical content and the very good methodology. Very relevant the forums, the guests and the length of the videos. The most important thing I learned and fulfilled my expectations.

By Divija R

Oct 4, 2020

It was a well planned course of PE. A great refresher on deal dynamics, valuation and objectives of PEI. I like the Week-2 content more where I learnt how the PE industry and multiple instruments are structured.

By Raffaele D G

Mar 18, 2016

This course is up to the Bocconi reputation. Is very useful for students who want to start to undestand the PE and VC world or for professional who want to understand better some mechanisms behind the PE and VC.

By vishesh a

Apr 19, 2020

This certainly is a course that amazingly introduces a learner to the world of PE and VC. The valuation methods, sample problems and multiple frameworks of how PEs operate across the world is extremely helpful.

By Nancy S

Dec 10, 2017

Course is very well organize via, Video clips and supporting material, including practical cases, and interviews with professionals. Gives many links to go further in-depth in some topics. Strongly recommended.

By Jason M

Feb 13, 2017

I really enjoyed taking this course. The content was very well thought through and covered all topics of PE. Add to that the charm of the professor and you have an engaging online experience. Thank you Bocconi!

By Indra U

Jan 10, 2021

The course is very well structured, systematic, and focuses on essential. The content material is very insightful and well developed by the expert on the field which balances the academic and practical aspects

By João P P d C

Mar 16, 2019

Complete, organized and nice course. For sure, one of the courses you will enjoy doing! There are experts in the foruns ready to give a complete explanation about what you need to know in the subject treated.

By Temitope B

Feb 1, 2019

This is a detailed and technical course. It covers the private equity industry in the United States, United Kingdom and European Union by providing the key points that practitioners in each region should know

By Leslie O

Oct 23, 2017

Great course both for people new to the industry and for people who already have an idea of what private equity is about. I'd definitely recommend it to anybody interested in knowing how Private Equity works.

By Olive T

Jul 14, 2018

Fantastic experience! Very professional, well explained, practical. Love the idea of interviewing industrial professionals. Could you please create modules for M&A, IPO, Restructuring and Turnaround as well?

By Aishwarya N

Oct 4, 2017

Good balance of verbal explanation, quizzes throughout the lecture to keep the student engaged, guest interviews and lectures to learn about application of core concepts and excellent study support material.