Chevron Left
Back to Natural Language Processing with Probabilistic Models

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Natural Language Processing with Probabilistic Models by DeepLearning.AI

4.7
stars
1,248 ratings
221 reviews

About the Course

In Course 2 of the Natural Language Processing Specialization, you will: a) Create a simple auto-correct algorithm using minimum edit distance and dynamic programming, b) Apply the Viterbi Algorithm for part-of-speech (POS) tagging, which is vital for computational linguistics, c) Write a better auto-complete algorithm using an N-gram language model, and d) Write your own Word2Vec model that uses a neural network to compute word embeddings using a continuous bag-of-words model. By the end of this Specialization, you will have designed NLP applications that perform question-answering and sentiment analysis, created tools to translate languages and summarize text, and even built a chatbot! This Specialization is designed and taught by two experts in NLP, machine learning, and deep learning. Younes Bensouda Mourri is an Instructor of AI at Stanford University who also helped build the Deep Learning Specialization. Łukasz Kaiser is a Staff Research Scientist at Google Brain and the co-author of Tensorflow, the Tensor2Tensor and Trax libraries, and the Transformer paper....

Top reviews

NM
Dec 12, 2020

A truly great course, focuses on the details you need, at a good pace, building up the foundations needed before relying more heavily on libraries an abstractions (which I assume will follow).

HS
Dec 2, 2020

A neatly organized course introducing the students to basics of Processing text data, learning word embedding and most importantly on how to interpret the word embedding. Great Job!!

Filter by:

176 - 200 of 220 Reviews for Natural Language Processing with Probabilistic Models

By MOURAD B

Apr 18, 2021

good

By D. R

Mar 22, 2021

I'm a master/graduate student who took an NLP course in Uni.

I think that overall this is a very a good introduction to the topic. Some concepts are really well explained - in a simple manner and with a lot of jupyter-lab code to experiment with.

In general in this specialization - the first 3 courses are good. There are some quirks (e.g. why Lukas is needed at all? He doesn't really teaches, just passes it on to Younes) but nevertheless I learned from it. And I think they have good value in them.

The 4th one, however, is completely disappointing. First 2 "weeks" are confusing, not really well explained, but somewhat "bearable". The last 2 weeks are complete sham. They claim to teach "BERT" and "T5" but don't really give any value. You're better off going elsewhere to learn these concepts.

If it wasn't for this, I would give the overall experience a 5 stars, but because of this, I think the overall is more like 3 or 4.

By Eloy S

Jun 29, 2021

Es bastante completo, y en general, claro; salvo un detalle: explica demasiado superficialmente PCA, pero luego para la tarea hay que implementarlo manualmente. También tiene algunos bugs desde hace meses a pesar de haber sido reportados con solución. Además, las lecturas posteriores a los videos a veces son escuetas y le hacen falta algunos diagramas que se ven en el video (conviene sacar capturas de los videos para tomar nota).

It is quite complete, and generally speaking very clear, except PCA: it's covered only superficially but it is required to implement by hand on the assignment. Also it has some unsolved bugs since several months ago, despite they were reported with solutions. Also, the readings after the videos are sometimes narrow and lack of some diagrams shown on the videos (it is useful to take screenshots to take notes).

By Nima M

Nov 6, 2020

The content of the course was really interesting an engaging. But the assignments mostly only helped in understanding the details of the algorithms and processes. It would have been nice to get to learn how to use state of the art libraries, which would've been more practical. Although, in fairness, anybody who completes this course should be able to make use of off-the-shelf libraries. Another point was that when the instructor was narrating the slides, his intonation was occasionally a bit off, making me lose track of the subject and having to re-listen few times.

By Yen S L

Sep 7, 2020

Good for the basics of NLP. Good mix of examples from classical NLP (e.g. n-grams) and neural nets (e.g. embeddings). As usual from deeplearning.ai, great motivating examples such as autocorrect and autocomplete to help us understand the materials. The neural net examples could do with more equations as in other deeplearning.ai courses.

By Mares B

Dec 2, 2020

Thank you for the Lecture. I enjoyed it a lot! One thing I did not like too much was reading aloud and fast complex equations. I got distracted a lot when that happened. Also the Grade of the programming assignment is very slow and some additional verification of the programming task would be helpful.

By Anatoly L

Dec 4, 2021

There is a confusion in week 1 practical quiz. It seems that this task from week 4. There are conusions in contests but in general this is good course, because we come through the program from simple to difficult tasks and make necessary computings and functions from libriaries from scratch.

By Kostyantyn B

Oct 18, 2020

A good course overall. I wish the assignments were a bit more challenging though. Still, we have covered a lot of ground. And for those who know nothing about the word embeddings, I think this would be a perfect first course to take. So all in all, time well spent.

By James P

Sep 17, 2020

I found the course really helped to reinforce my understanding about importants concepts like n-grams, HMMs and word embeddings. The labs are pretty well spread out, and by the time you get to the week-ending assignments, you have all the info you need to complete.

By Will H

Mar 31, 2021

The lectures on the Viterbi algorithm were a little wooden and there were no summary text (reading) tasks (as there often is in other deeplearning.ai courses), however this is a worthwile and informative course.

By Rafael C F d A

Jan 16, 2021

In the first and second week the exercices have some unecessery pranks in the data formatation just to make the exercice harded, but it take out the attention for what matter in the course that is NLP

By German C M

Dec 30, 2020

Very good to see how the "from scratch" concepts are presented; nevertheless, I have the feeling that a very little "real use case" problem has been presented, with tiny sentences being analyzed.

By Osama A O

Oct 7, 2020

Good course, but the lecture notes in week 2 can be much more improved. Understanding Viterbi algorithm without visuals and animations was very difficult. Apart from that, great course!

By Ramprakash V

Aug 19, 2020

The course is exceptional in its own way by bringing people to the understanding of probabilistic models. Crisp & Clear. But one need to explore & practise more to gain expertise.

By Cheng J

Sep 9, 2020

The Viterbi algorithm introduction is a bit hard for us to follow. Probably some writings may help guiding through each steps.

By Hernan J

Nov 4, 2020

Esta especialización junto con la de Deep Learning se complementan y es son más claros los conceptos y prácticas, gracias!

By Zoutao W

Mar 25, 2021

The tutor sometimes pass the slices too swiftly. I hope that he could wait 2-3 seconds after finishing speaking.

By Sandeep V

Oct 2, 2020

Sone Quiz should also be there. Assignments can be solved by python knowledge an following the instruction

By Gopal M

Sep 5, 2020

Assignments were incorrect.

Lot of content was squeezed in the last week. Even spread would be ideal

By Aung Z P

Jul 14, 2020

I love the way the instructor teach and the course design which is made to be simple but effective

By Mounir H

Dec 1, 2020

I didn't like weeks 1 and 2 too much but I liked week 3 and I really liked week 4.

By bdug

Apr 5, 2021

I liked the lecture, very well prepared. Only the part on metrics was a bit short

By Vladimir V

Jul 20, 2020

This is a good course but I would like to see more emphasis on the mathematics.

By Manuel V B

Apr 11, 2021

Great course, but the last week felt a bit messy with submission evaluation.

By Sophie Z

Jan 3, 2021

Not sure if it is on purpose, but W4 labs have repeating content.