Chevron Left
Back to Probability and Statistics: To p or not to p?

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Probability and Statistics: To p or not to p? by University of London

4.6
stars
1,065 ratings
371 reviews

About the Course

We live in an uncertain and complex world, yet we continually have to make decisions in the present with uncertain future outcomes. Indeed, we should be on the look-out for "black swans" - low-probability high-impact events. To study, or not to study? To invest, or not to invest? To marry, or not to marry? While uncertainty makes decision-making difficult, it does at least make life exciting! If the entire future was known in advance, there would never be an element of surprise. Whether a good future or a bad future, it would be a known future. In this course we consider many useful tools to deal with uncertainty and help us to make informed (and hence better) decisions - essential skills for a lifetime of good decision-making. Key topics include quantifying uncertainty with probability, descriptive statistics, point and interval estimation of means and proportions, the basics of hypothesis testing, and a selection of multivariate applications of key terms and concepts seen throughout the course....

Top reviews

TS
Apr 30, 2020

I would like to thank Dr. James Abdey for his wonderful explanation of probability and statistics in a short time. I definitely learnt many things which I can make use in my further courses. Thank you

SR
Jun 23, 2020

Excellent introductory course for probability and Statistics, Dr. Abdey made the course very lively with his approach of teaching. Hope to see many more online courses from you in the future.

Filter by:

301 - 325 of 368 Reviews for Probability and Statistics: To p or not to p?

By Lauren H

Sep 22, 2020

This is a good course, I like the format with short videos and written summaries that reiterate the same concepts and a bit more, it helps the learning sink in. Didn't give it 5 stars because there weren't quite enough practical exercises (just 2 throughout the 6 weeks).

By Olivera M

Jun 12, 2019

I really liked the course, I would just say that this is for complete and absolute beginners who haven't had any interactions with statistics and that it wont leave you with a lot of practical knowledge, more of a broad idea of what statistics could do for you.

By Josh V

Apr 13, 2020

For an "introductory" course on Probability and Statistics, this one's really good. It would have been better should this course contain at least one practical application per module so that at least the students can have a hands-on experience with Statistics.

By Latoya G

May 12, 2020

I thought the course was comprehensive and I thoroughly appreciated Dr Abney's eloquence. However, not simplistic enough for a student doing probability and statistics for the first time or for a student who is not mathematically savvy.

By Linh S

Feb 23, 2020

A pretty solid introductory course. The readings covered everything that the lectures covered, and sometimes more. One could get through the entire course by only doing the readings, and not bothering to watch the lectures.

By chajavi52

May 25, 2020

Lecturer discussed the materials well. Related abstract concepts to real world situations. However, there are some concepts I still cannot grasp well.One has to diligently learn the concepts or you'll get lost sometimes.

By Debroop S

Nov 22, 2020

Gained some good insights into probability and statistics. This can be a good starting point for people intending to brush up on this topic with the intention for future practical use. eg: predict stock price movements.

By Mathias A R G

May 27, 2020

It was a really nice course, very useful and recomended to people who wants to remember some statics concepts. Perhaps it it would be better, if the course has more practice and no so much theory. But this was great!

By Bill

Aug 15, 2020

Although the linear programming, and simulation sections were interesting, I would have rather delved a little more deeply into statistics. Perhaps a little more on regression analysis or analysis of variance.

By Sara F V

May 5, 2020

I confess that what got me into this course was the smart name.

I ended up liking the teacher and his way of teaching. He does a good and brief introduction to the topic in a simple and fun way

By MANDAR P

Jun 12, 2020

Very good course to understand the basics. It is better if a few more examples are added for solving by participants to have a clearer understanding of the concept.

By Digeesh J

Jun 6, 2020

The course was good, but there was a lack of examples taught. It was mostly a theoretical course as compared to other courses on Coursera teaching the same subject.

By Svenja L N

Jun 2, 2020

Very good explanations. Perfect for beginners in statistics. Also good if you want to refresh knowledge but not very sophisticated if you are not a beginner.

By Afe O

May 12, 2020

This course has really opened my eyes to the usefulness of probability methods in real-life situations and the methods of calculating the various scenarios.

By Sotirios S

Apr 26, 2020

A very good course for entry-level in probability and statistics. More pictures and audiovisual content will probably improve the course dramatically.

By Ranjitha C

May 10, 2020

The course is explained in a very simple and easy manner. Really nice material which has very good examples and makes it easier to understand.

By Iuri P B

Jun 18, 2020

Good introduction to probability and statistics, but it lacks exercises. Maybe I am being too hard on them as this course is for beginners!

By Alexandros P

Nov 29, 2020

It was a very well explained intro course made quite interesting by the presenter.

I wish it had more assignments with real-life examples.

By Shalini S

May 8, 2020

Good learning material for a beginner. Not for someone looking at an intermediate or advanced level course. Videos are crisp and clear.

By Weichi C

Jan 31, 2019

The concept is well presented with the assumption that further research and dedication needed is required to get to next level.

By Dane M

Apr 13, 2020

Leaps from what I consider easy to understand content to jargon quickly but overall killed time during quarantine.

By MD S I

Jun 1, 2020

More of a theoretical course. Should be more quantitative course. But I give my full marks to the presenter.

By Suyogya M B

Apr 20, 2020

Definitely you will know what is p or not p at the end of the course. Stay tuned Statistician

By Angelena M

Apr 12, 2020

It's a great and informative course, but it's not for people who don't like statistics.

By Avinash R

May 4, 2020

Good introductory sessions on ll the broader aspects of probability and statistics.