Chevron Left
Back to Probability and Statistics: To p or not to p?

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Probability and Statistics: To p or not to p? by University of London

4.6
stars
1,028 ratings
354 reviews

About the Course

We live in an uncertain and complex world, yet we continually have to make decisions in the present with uncertain future outcomes. Indeed, we should be on the look-out for "black swans" - low-probability high-impact events. To study, or not to study? To invest, or not to invest? To marry, or not to marry? While uncertainty makes decision-making difficult, it does at least make life exciting! If the entire future was known in advance, there would never be an element of surprise. Whether a good future or a bad future, it would be a known future. In this course we consider many useful tools to deal with uncertainty and help us to make informed (and hence better) decisions - essential skills for a lifetime of good decision-making. Key topics include quantifying uncertainty with probability, descriptive statistics, point and interval estimation of means and proportions, the basics of hypothesis testing, and a selection of multivariate applications of key terms and concepts seen throughout the course....

Top reviews

TS
Apr 30, 2020

I would like to thank Dr. James Abdey for his wonderful explanation of probability and statistics in a short time. I definitely learnt many things which I can make use in my further courses. Thank you

SR
Jun 23, 2020

Excellent introductory course for probability and Statistics, Dr. Abdey made the course very lively with his approach of teaching. Hope to see many more online courses from you in the future.

Filter by:

326 - 350 of 352 Reviews for Probability and Statistics: To p or not to p?

By KV N R

Apr 24, 2020

Informative and useful to start analytics

By SANDEEP G

Oct 1, 2020

excellent course with smooth conduction

By Eyob A

Nov 5, 2018

funny charming and full of numbers

By Ritesh R

Jun 9, 2019

God course for beginners level.

By Chaitanya K

May 19, 2020

very informative and helpfull.

By Ichcha R

Apr 29, 2020

The host is really good....

By Tanguy P

Apr 14, 2020

Very good beginner class

By Suramya S D

May 14, 2020

well presented course.

By Anamika S

May 6, 2020

I enjoyed this course.

By Mayur P K

Sep 10, 2018

Great Course.

By Kaushal S

May 24, 2020

Great course

By Ahmad H J M J A

Jun 19, 2020

Thanks!

By Aun A

May 22, 2020

In an introductory statistics course, there was no need of discussing the Monty Hall Problem, Decision Tree Analysis, Monte Carlo Simulation etc. Time saved by foregoing these could have been utilised for incorporating some mathematical rigour. Without math anyone's undertanding of statistics and its usability will always be restricted.

The PDF notes were a good thig to use in a MOOC.

By VIJAY N

Mar 27, 2020

The subject was interesting and he did brought new topics which i liked but it was a bit draggy at times which made me to loose attention. Overall i liked it - especially the Monty Hall problem formulation and Bayesian update. The topic on p-value is still muddy for me.

By yogita k

Jun 6, 2020

last week's content was too short. It will be great if one more week is added to the course where the students can learn more about decision trees, linear modeling, and regression.

By Irem K

May 23, 2020

The Professor can't get to the point easily and he's clicking his tongue all the time, it's unbearable for people with misophonia.

By Daniel D

May 9, 2019

Nice overall introduction to statistics, but suffers from bad grading mecanism when perofrming peer graded assignments.

By Yogendra C

May 19, 2020

the course is good but the first two week are boring and there I have lose my interest in this course

By Deepa N

Sep 28, 2020

Not as much hands on as I hoped

By PARDESHI R H

May 11, 2020

Easy to teach Probability

By Naing​Lin​Htut

Jun 2, 2020

I achieve new knowledge.

By Chryso H

May 7, 2020

It's good to have an intro to statistics course but the tutor makes the course difficult to stick to. I'm talking about his teaching style which is slow and painful. Following suggestions from other reviews increased the speed of the video so I can bear listen to him. He needs to drop the unnecessary jokes and focus on the teaching delivery. He also needs to include more visual aids as he talks. This is not abstract module about theorising. It is important to have the slides along what he's saying. Also, some of the material in his long lectures are not covered but then included in the reading. For an intro course this should be corrected. He needs to introduce all important concepts that will appear in the quiz. In his lectures he goes on and on and on and the substance of each lecture is like only 1/5 of the actual length of the lecture. Finally, there's a script issue with the formulae in the quizzes. You end up relying on other learners to find out what the problem is. The tutor needs to be responsible for this.

By Stacey J

May 25, 2020

This is my third Coursera course and the first which I did not enjoy. Many issues with being able to read the formulae in the quizzes and assignments. These were displayed bizarely and not the same as the video lectures nor the course notes. This is difficult information for many people to understand so consistency is key. In addition, I have not seen one response from a moderator (other courses had moderators responding to questions). In any type of math, stats courses it is imperative to have moderators helping students to ensure misinformation is not learned from student to student learning.

By grace e o

Apr 30, 2020

much lower level than expected. nice course for people who've not done alevel stats.