Chevron Left
Back to Probability and Statistics: To p or not to p?

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Probability and Statistics: To p or not to p? by University of London

4.6
stars
1,021 ratings
351 reviews

About the Course

We live in an uncertain and complex world, yet we continually have to make decisions in the present with uncertain future outcomes. Indeed, we should be on the look-out for "black swans" - low-probability high-impact events. To study, or not to study? To invest, or not to invest? To marry, or not to marry? While uncertainty makes decision-making difficult, it does at least make life exciting! If the entire future was known in advance, there would never be an element of surprise. Whether a good future or a bad future, it would be a known future. In this course we consider many useful tools to deal with uncertainty and help us to make informed (and hence better) decisions - essential skills for a lifetime of good decision-making. Key topics include quantifying uncertainty with probability, descriptive statistics, point and interval estimation of means and proportions, the basics of hypothesis testing, and a selection of multivariate applications of key terms and concepts seen throughout the course....

Top reviews

TS
Apr 30, 2020

I would like to thank Dr. James Abdey for his wonderful explanation of probability and statistics in a short time. I definitely learnt many things which I can make use in my further courses. Thank you

LP
Sep 21, 2020

Recommend way more than statistics for international business - that one is terrible. Everything is explained in a slow, fun way. Absolutely loved it. Better than the teachers at my University!

Filter by:

126 - 150 of 350 Reviews for Probability and Statistics: To p or not to p?

By Arvind R S

Apr 26, 2020

Concept of probability and statistics and hypothesis testing , confidence interval, Monte Carlo simulation.

By Vimukthi M

May 26, 2020

A good recall on basics!

Really inspired by the energy of Dr. Abdey.

Thanks Dr. Thanks UoL. Thanks Coursera.

By Nitiruk L

May 25, 2020

I love this course. Dr.James gave me an intuition of Statistics concept. Thank you for a very good course.

By Viktoriya N R

Nov 6, 2020

A very good course for beginners in statistics, well organized and well explained. Definitely recommend!

By Rana j a

Jun 13, 2020

Its an amazing course. i intend to study data science and it helped me a lot. impressive way of teaching

By vignaux

Jun 4, 2020

Great course. Step by step with example a very clever approach of the probability and Statistics.

Bravo !

By Dhulam G A

Apr 21, 2020

Well explained by the professor. I recommend to every finance and economics student to take this course.

By Ümit S Ö

Jun 9, 2020

Introduction level, slightly challenging, but the lecturer provides very nice guidance along the path.

By Lucas I

Apr 30, 2020

Excelent choice choosing this course! Excelent didatic and extra material. I do recommend this course.

By rajat g

Apr 15, 2020

Loved this course. The content was very engaging and this course helped me in refreshing my concepts.

By Ma L

Nov 12, 2020

Great for beginners, an introductory course that gives much insight on probability and statistics.

By Mykhailo Z

May 6, 2020

Wonderful course.Very well closes the gaps in university education. Gives confidence in knowledge

By Hasan W B

May 2, 2020

Excellent for beginners. Module leader explain things with real example.over all good experienc.

By Vishnu D K

Jun 9, 2020

Excellent beginning to probability & statistics. Crisp & clear content & very good course conte

By Saravanan S S

Apr 28, 2020

Great course for data science, Dr James Abdey conveyed key concepts in the most simplest terms.

By Yves G

Sep 3, 2018

T

h

i

s

i

s

a

v

e

r

y

intersting

c

o

u

r

s

e

,

v

e

r

y

w

e

l

l

t

a

u

g

h

t

a

n

d

g

i

v

i

n

g

y

ou

t

he

w

i

l

l

t

o

study

f

u

t

h

e

r

i

n

that

f

i

e

l

d

.

By Francis J

Oct 30, 2020

Excellent course - Dr James Abdey makes a wide range of statistical areas very understandable

By Gian C

Jun 4, 2020

Good for total beginners. It's a very basic introduction but can be completed rather quickly.

By Manu G

Sep 27, 2019

Great course to revise basic statistics concept or if you are new to the area of statistics

By Rajath R

Apr 18, 2020

Good start to understanding the basics and important topics of Statistics and Probability!

By Marcello P G d S

Aug 2, 2020

It was a great course. I hope more free courses in the future from University of London.

By Teddy D

Dec 26, 2019

A great inspiring course for starters. Thanks Dr James Abdey so much for excellent work.

By Tianyue P

Aug 27, 2020

This course really makes a solid base of my knowledge about probability and statistics.

By Sina S

Jun 27, 2020

Quite good as an introduction to the subject or for recalling the basics of statistics.

By yue

Dec 5, 2018

Very good introduction and overview, gives clear picture of probability and statistics.