Chevron Left
Back to Probability and Statistics: To p or not to p?

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Probability and Statistics: To p or not to p? by University of London

4.6
stars
1,169 ratings
407 reviews

About the Course

We live in an uncertain and complex world, yet we continually have to make decisions in the present with uncertain future outcomes. Indeed, we should be on the look-out for "black swans" - low-probability high-impact events. To study, or not to study? To invest, or not to invest? To marry, or not to marry? While uncertainty makes decision-making difficult, it does at least make life exciting! If the entire future was known in advance, there would never be an element of surprise. Whether a good future or a bad future, it would be a known future. In this course we consider many useful tools to deal with uncertainty and help us to make informed (and hence better) decisions - essential skills for a lifetime of good decision-making. Key topics include quantifying uncertainty with probability, descriptive statistics, point and interval estimation of means and proportions, the basics of hypothesis testing, and a selection of multivariate applications of key terms and concepts seen throughout the course....

Top reviews

TS
Apr 30, 2020

I would like to thank Dr. James Abdey for his wonderful explanation of probability and statistics in a short time. I definitely learnt many things which I can make use in my further courses. Thank you

NS
Apr 22, 2021

James Abdey is an excellent lecturer. He explains clearly while using a lot of examples from real life applications. I am considering to read his PhD thesis (even though I don't have insomnia :-))

Filter by:

126 - 150 of 403 Reviews for Probability and Statistics: To p or not to p?

By Mohamed K

Apr 29, 2021

This course was very important and I gained more knowledge about statistics. Thanks dear sir your well explanation and inspiration.

By Melisa M S

Sep 22, 2020

I really enjoyed this course. The concepts are clearly explained and the exercises are very useful to fully understand the lessons.

By Claudia M

Dec 9, 2020

I liked how it is presented, the examples used, and for sure the explanations. It is a good course to introduce you to statistics.

By Avinash

Apr 22, 2020

Great course to quickly give enough background to understand sample based estimations, confidence intervals and hypothesis testing

By Gerald S

May 17, 2020

Its really a good course that gives a good introduction to statistics in a way that inspires confidence and success in the course

By José D C

Apr 29, 2020

Great variaty of topics ranging from the simplest to more complicated ones. Also the instructor is great and really charismatic.

By Aditya M

Feb 3, 2020

A great course to learn statistics from the ground level up. However, doing more number of exercises will help you learn better.

By Aline L

Jun 29, 2020

This is a very interesting and useful course, the course design is good and easy to follow. The content is clear and precise.

By Kewei ( Y

Mar 11, 2021

Fun and engaging! I also really appreciate including the reading options. This has indeed made the course much more flexible!

By Deepa D A

Jun 8, 2020

it was one of the best course i have ever joined.vast explanation was given based on each and every topic.it was really good.

By Minhas K

Jul 23, 2020

Loved this course! I now have a better understanding and a better approach to statistical inference and probability.

By Ismael B

May 29, 2020

This is the best course ever. The professor is awesome, he explain the concepts so easily, I really loved this MOOC.

By A S

Jun 7, 2020

Brilliant course! Truly informative and I learned a lot with respect to data analysis and hypothesis testing.

100/10

By Ashen H

Apr 26, 2020

Really Enjoyed the way Dr. James explained concept in a more simpler way which is clear and easily understandable

By Krishnaraj M

May 4, 2020

Very good learning experience. The quantitative analysis helped me to understand the how to solve the problem.

By William B

Jun 2, 2020

I enjoyed Dr. Abney's enthusiasm and I am inspired to learn more about Probablilty and Statistics!

Thank you.

By Sophia B R

May 1, 2020

The professor was fantastic in making the course educational and interesting. I enjoyed this course very much!

By Pallavi R

Apr 5, 2020

I am very much thankful to my mentor for giving me great depths of knowledge about statistics and probability.

By Andy G

Jun 9, 2020

The course succeeds at what it aimed to do. Be a friendly introductory course to probability and statistics.

By Maria T C

May 14, 2020

The course gave an extensive overview of Statistics and Probability. I am inspired to learn more. Thank you!

By Oscar F

Sep 23, 2020

Me encantó. Perfecto para recordar los conceptos de probabilidad y estadística de manera rápida y efectiva.

By Arvind R S

Apr 26, 2020

Concept of probability and statistics and hypothesis testing , confidence interval, Monte Carlo simulation.

By Vimukthi M

May 26, 2020

A good recall on basics!

Really inspired by the energy of Dr. Abdey.

Thanks Dr. Thanks UoL. Thanks Coursera.

By Nitiruk L

May 25, 2020

I love this course. Dr.James gave me an intuition of Statistics concept. Thank you for a very good course.

By Viktoriya N R

Nov 6, 2020

A very good course for beginners in statistics, well organized and well explained. Definitely recommend!