Chevron Left
Back to Effective Problem-Solving and Decision-Making

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Effective Problem-Solving and Decision-Making by University of California, Irvine

4.5
stars
4,569 ratings
762 reviews

About the Course

Critical thinking – the application of scientific methods and logical reasoning to problems and decisions – is the foundation of effective problem solving and decision making. Critical thinking enables us to avoid common obstacles, test our beliefs and assumptions, and correct distortions in our thought processes. Gain confidence in assessing problems accurately, evaluating alternative solutions, and anticipating likely risks. Learn how to use analysis, synthesis, and positive inquiry to address individual and organizational problems and develop the critical thinking skills needed in today’s turbulent times. Using case studies and situations encountered by class members, explore successful models and proven methods that are readily transferable on-the-job. Upon completing this course, you will be able to: 1. Choose and apply appropriate problem solving and decision making processes and methods 2. Identify common obstacles to effective problem solving and decision making 3. Recognize the human variable in problem solving and decision making 4. Assess major conceptual blocks and significant situational challenges 5. Apply concepts to enhancing personal development and organizational performance 6. Explain the key elements of problem solving and decision making and the barriers associated with them...

Top reviews

KG
Sep 5, 2020

A very informative and easy course. I loved studying it, the professor was very well versed and delivered the lectures in a way so that students find it easy to understand the text and context.

S
Feb 5, 2021

A concise and informative course. The course consolidates my fundamental knowledge about the different components and concepts of problem-solving and decision-making. I really learned a lot.

Filter by:

526 - 550 of 756 Reviews for Effective Problem-Solving and Decision-Making

By Ana C P T

Jul 7, 2017

I really liked the opportunity and I will keep myself on track in this area. Great work from the teachers.

By Christian F A

Mar 7, 2020

Some questions in the third module quiz are ambiguous, please review. Presentations are a little boring.

By Stefan

Dec 3, 2015

A very good course, i liked very much the examples used, i do wish there where some practical exercises.

By Bikash B C

May 6, 2020

I recommend this course to those who want to confront and address the dynamics of the real-life issues.

By Nicolas d

Feb 18, 2020

Nice training. I would have appreciated to have more explanations about processes for problem solving.

By Rahman T

Nov 2, 2020

This helps us to understand the high level knowledge of effective Problem Solving and Decision making

By Sebastien H

Oct 23, 2017

Good introductory course (or refresher) on basic decision-making. Concise, clear and worth the time.

By Vy N

Aug 23, 2015

Easy to learn ^^

The professor explain by giving easy understanding examples. Not take time too much

By Sunil S S

Oct 14, 2020

It is very useful course, gained broader knowledge about Problem solving skill and Decision making

By JOSE R R S

Jun 8, 2016

Usefull but simple, would recommend to include a more in-depth content in future updates

By Midori

Nov 30, 2015

Mainly focus on tools, if adding more strategy or thinking model related will be better.

By Dakota K V

Jan 7, 2016

This course gives you better insights in Problem-solving and the tools to measure this.

By BENJAMIN W

Aug 8, 2018

Cursory, but common essential vocabulary and ontology of decision making re: business.

By SUPATSORN C

Nov 30, 2020

Good for learning. There are many tools for solving the problemsand making decisions.

By Zahid R P

Jun 18, 2020

Good Course but the teaching way of instructor can be improved it was not effective !

By KETAN A K

Jun 3, 2020

Was a good experience in learning the new concepts on Problem solving techniques.

By Cao H B T

Dec 2, 2015

Useful information, techniques.

Easily understood and applied in practical cases

By Subharnab M

Mar 11, 2016

Nice course ... easy to understand and complex concepts are well-simplified

By Ramil L

Jan 13, 2020

In general quite good. Very simple and basic, good for beginners/students.

By Arul M S V

Nov 10, 2020

The course was really useful and I have learned lots of new things fro

By Mohammed F I

Aug 10, 2020

The course was more theoritical,it could have been somewhat practical.

By RAMLATH K

Jul 21, 2020

EXCELLENT COURSE. LEARNT MANY TOOLS HOW TO SOLVE PROBLEMS EFFECTIVELY.

By JACOB G

May 30, 2020

The course was very much helpful in developing my skill and knowledge.

By Oluwatobi S

Dec 12, 2019

it requires a fundamental knowledge to understand the course content

By HIMANSHU K S

May 26, 2020

Really a good course for planning and help in the management courses