Chevron Left
Back to Effective Problem-Solving and Decision-Making

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Effective Problem-Solving and Decision-Making by University of California, Irvine

4.5
stars
4,554 ratings
759 reviews

About the Course

Critical thinking – the application of scientific methods and logical reasoning to problems and decisions – is the foundation of effective problem solving and decision making. Critical thinking enables us to avoid common obstacles, test our beliefs and assumptions, and correct distortions in our thought processes. Gain confidence in assessing problems accurately, evaluating alternative solutions, and anticipating likely risks. Learn how to use analysis, synthesis, and positive inquiry to address individual and organizational problems and develop the critical thinking skills needed in today’s turbulent times. Using case studies and situations encountered by class members, explore successful models and proven methods that are readily transferable on-the-job. Upon completing this course, you will be able to: 1. Choose and apply appropriate problem solving and decision making processes and methods 2. Identify common obstacles to effective problem solving and decision making 3. Recognize the human variable in problem solving and decision making 4. Assess major conceptual blocks and significant situational challenges 5. Apply concepts to enhancing personal development and organizational performance 6. Explain the key elements of problem solving and decision making and the barriers associated with them...

Top reviews

KG
Sep 5, 2020

A very informative and easy course. I loved studying it, the professor was very well versed and delivered the lectures in a way so that students find it easy to understand the text and context.

S
Feb 5, 2021

A concise and informative course. The course consolidates my fundamental knowledge about the different components and concepts of problem-solving and decision-making. I really learned a lot.

Filter by:

651 - 675 of 756 Reviews for Effective Problem-Solving and Decision-Making

By Pola G

Jul 11, 2020

the course is really very good ...but i think he miss apart ok more practice problems and issue in daily life and in a company ......and point that i have a very big problem is the instructor is speaking and talking very fast and i cant understand him but i repeat the video many times

By Alyssa L

Jun 1, 2016

Fast, efficient, not very time-consuming. However, the instructor was relatively boring and most of the material was common sense. I came out of the course learning almost nothing, but the certification looks good on my resume.

By Benjamin K

Apr 4, 2020

Very high-level intro course on methods and theory. Can better serve students with application through case studies and applying knowledge to scenarios. For example, asking "what would you do in this situation?"

By Johan J

Jan 31, 2016

Some interesting stuff in there.

A couple of lectures need video editing though. (There is one where the lecturer says "Let me start over" and then starts over. The less than optimal start could be trimmed off.)

By Johan C

Aug 22, 2016

A good overview of tools for juniors or university students just getting into things. Easy to understand.

It might not have the depth satisfy more senior professionals, but could be a good refresher if not.

By H.S.Wang

Jun 13, 2016

Mostly common sense, but it is a good reinforcement. I like listening to the stories/examples but they could have been shorter and the course would have felt like a more efficient use of time.

By John M

Jun 7, 2019

Decent course with a personable instructor. Thank you for the opportunity to acquire knowledge through a course that flows well with a relatively simple interface/interaction.

By Jennifer F

Jun 20, 2019

Rob has some strange ideas and opinions. I'm not sure he likes his family (brother in law or parents), or slow runners. He tells stories but they are hard to follow.

By Britta N

Aug 20, 2015

Nice course, but a little "light" at times.

What's great though is that there are no deadlines, which really enabled learning at my own pace whenever I had free time :)

By PANAGIOTIS S

Mar 11, 2016

Many points are just a presentation of bulletins with a very brief description. Could use a little more depth or at least some pointers for further study.

By Mahesh G

May 23, 2020

This course must include some project case studies of corporate to understand usability of each concept included in this course.

Rest everything is good.

By Hasan M K

Nov 12, 2017

Course was basic. Structure was not robust. Video editing was poor, in some areas the sound was out of sync and the video zoom was out of proportion.

By Jorge V D

Jan 22, 2020

I think that is a usefuk course, however it could be better for the students including homeworks of problem sollving using the different methods.

By Arvil d V

Aug 18, 2015

It could be better if there were more working/practice examples, but it lays down a good overview of the techniques and decision making process.

By Lisa R

Feb 18, 2020

Material covered seemed far too simplistic to warrant a full course - could easily have been included in another course as a single module.

By Paolo C

Jan 26, 2021

I like the choice of the topics and the organization of the course. The course content should be more rich and articulated.

By Jason M

Oct 9, 2015

This lecture just gave some fundamental ideals rather than details. Luckly I have not enrolled the certification.

By gai a

Sep 11, 2015

Helpful and clear.

I would like it more if it had more elaboration and practice on the presented tools.

Thanks!

By Maria B

Nov 5, 2019

The whole course is an introduction to the topic. Some easy things are explained too much.

By Lauren R G

Mar 27, 2020

While he delivered good content, the manner in which it was presented could be improved.

By N T P

Jun 7, 2020

It's general theory, but not so many applied exercises to solve problem individually.

By Carine R L

Jul 19, 2020

Nice way of learning a lot of concepts quickly. Missing exercises and more examples

By Reyes A J B

Aug 15, 2020

I would like to go deeper into the problem solving tools described in the lectures.

By Kulveer S

Jul 9, 2020

Not very well structured and moreover instructor's speaking style was very boring.

By Jolanta K

Aug 19, 2015

It's a good course but not great. Something is missing and I can't pinpoint what.