Chevron Left
Back to Effective Problem-Solving and Decision-Making

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Effective Problem-Solving and Decision-Making by University of California, Irvine

4.5
stars
5,654 ratings

About the Course

Problem-solving and effective decision-making are essential skills in today’s fast-paced and ever-changing workplace. Both require a systematic yet creative approach to address today’s business concerns. This course will teach an overarching process of how to identify problems to generate potential solutions and how to apply decision-making styles in order to implement and assess those solutions. Through this process, you will gain confidence in assessing problems accurately, selecting the appropriate decision-making approaches for the situation at hand, making team decisions, and measuring the success of the solution’s implementation. Using case studies and situations encountered by class members, you will explore proven, successful problem-solving and decision-making models and methods that can be readily transferred to workplace projects. Upon completing this course, you will be able to: 1. Identify key terms, styles, and approaches to effective problem-solving and decision-making 2. Explain both the affordances and limitations associated with problem-solving and decision-making 3. Reflect on how mindset and personal bias influence your ability to solve problems and make decisions 4. Explain and discuss how organizational decisions or non-decisions impact personal development, team dynamics, and company-wide performance 5. Articulate how both good and bad team decisions can benefit your professional growth...

Top reviews

KG

Sep 5, 2020

A very informative and easy course. I loved studying it, the professor was very well versed and delivered the lectures in a way so that students find it easy to understand the text and context.

S

Feb 5, 2021

A concise and informative course. The course consolidates my fundamental knowledge about the different components and concepts of problem-solving and decision-making. I really learned a lot.

Filter by:

851 - 875 of 923 Reviews for Effective Problem-Solving and Decision-Making

By Laveesha J

Feb 1, 2022

examples to make a decision are missing

By Helen R

Jan 10, 2022

I found some of the questions confusing

By Garima M

Oct 12, 2015

Good course with well explained topics.

By Tassyo D P

Feb 23, 2017

O curso é meio sem foco e muito básico

By Abdelmohimen H

Nov 2, 2018

the material of course is so amazin

By Marc A B

Sep 17, 2016

This is good for new born managers

By Davide M

Feb 23, 2016

Interesting overview on the topic.

By Monika R

May 9, 2022

Some theory was not very usefull

By Supreet T

May 1, 2020

nice ppt to understanding easy

By Srinivas K

Jun 9, 2017

Good content - dry presenter

By Ms. F K

Jul 30, 2020

It was of very basic level

By Khaled J A

Dec 28, 2017

good course for beginners

By Ahsan R

Aug 23, 2020

A good course overall.

By Hala H

Oct 15, 2021

Basic information

By Marei S H A a

Sep 5, 2021

Thanks

By سلطان ح س ا

Aug 24, 2021

thanks

By Doris W

Feb 28, 2017

Very b

By Hamouda

Aug 24, 2021

Tanks

By Rayhanul H R

Jul 2, 2020

Great

By Francis X

Jul 19, 2017

G

By Dominik B

Jul 27, 2018

This course is only an overview into the topic. I was looking forward to boosting my decision-making skills but learning about some basic techniques and types of graphs is not enough for me. This course is scratching only the surface of the topic.

What I appreciate are the real-life situation examples and their solutions. These were the most positive aspects of the course.

Professor isn't as boring as the most reviewers state, but occasionally I had an impression that he hadn't had the speech prepared and made examples or statements by his own. Or he was just reading the slides sometimes, which seems like a waste of time to me.

The assignments were too easy, only theoretical stuff. It would be really great if any real life situations were stated in the assignment and the task of the student would be to select the best action to take.

As someone already mentioned, this course probably didn't affect my skills much, but it will look fine in any resumé.

By Alan

Aug 24, 2015

Doesn't go much further then common sense. Introduces terms for concepts you probably know, just didn't know it's a concept. The lecturer is terrible. His stories, or i guess metaphors that are supposed to help you understand and remember things are aweful. He takes way too long to get the point across.

Some helpful things are mentioned. Gives you the ability to distiguish problem solving methods, so you may use them as required.

Nonetheless, mostly wasted my time watching this.

By Paulo J M d S

Aug 28, 2015

In my point of view the course overall is a bit superficial (even though the decision-making part was very interesting indeed). More importantly, the course lacks one of the richest tools in MOOCS: peer interactions - people voicing their opinions and sharing experiences.

Besides that: some of the questions in the quiz looked very ambiguous and there are some editing mistakes in the videos.

By Stephen R

Oct 14, 2015

The course really isn't that useful for day to day management decision making. It might be more useful for those who look solely at long term data and make choices "at a distance" so to speak. Very heavy focus on charts and graphs....so there's a lot to it but very little you can sink your teeth into unless you have a very specific type of management in mind.

By Donata G

Nov 10, 2015

The course material was quite boring. I have gained some theoretical knowledge about problem solving and decision making techniques, but we weren't given enough practical examples on how we should apply these techniques at work. I wish the lecturer had t suggested additional material on the topic.