Chevron Left
Back to Effective Problem-Solving and Decision-Making

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Effective Problem-Solving and Decision-Making by University of California, Irvine

4.5
stars
4,644 ratings
770 reviews

About the Course

Critical thinking – the application of scientific methods and logical reasoning to problems and decisions – is the foundation of effective problem solving and decision making. Critical thinking enables us to avoid common obstacles, test our beliefs and assumptions, and correct distortions in our thought processes. Gain confidence in assessing problems accurately, evaluating alternative solutions, and anticipating likely risks. Learn how to use analysis, synthesis, and positive inquiry to address individual and organizational problems and develop the critical thinking skills needed in today’s turbulent times. Using case studies and situations encountered by class members, explore successful models and proven methods that are readily transferable on-the-job. Upon completing this course, you will be able to: 1. Choose and apply appropriate problem solving and decision making processes and methods 2. Identify common obstacles to effective problem solving and decision making 3. Recognize the human variable in problem solving and decision making 4. Assess major conceptual blocks and significant situational challenges 5. Apply concepts to enhancing personal development and organizational performance 6. Explain the key elements of problem solving and decision making and the barriers associated with them...

Top reviews

KG
Sep 5, 2020

A very informative and easy course. I loved studying it, the professor was very well versed and delivered the lectures in a way so that students find it easy to understand the text and context.

S
Feb 5, 2021

A concise and informative course. The course consolidates my fundamental knowledge about the different components and concepts of problem-solving and decision-making. I really learned a lot.

Filter by:

751 - 773 of 773 Reviews for Effective Problem-Solving and Decision-Making

By Vamsi Y

Mar 15, 2021

Theres very little about problem solving. Not worth one's time

By Kareem M O

Nov 7, 2015

Very brief , some points are leaved without explanation

By nicolas b

Oct 20, 2020

It's a really superficial course, I expected more.

By Tim L

Aug 24, 2015

Great first starter but poorly done

By Jani S

Oct 5, 2015

Somehow simple presentations.

By Jessica T

Jun 12, 2020

vague and boring, sorry.

By Irfan

Aug 24, 2020

Very limited in scope

By Augusto U

Mar 9, 2016

introductory course

By Michael C

Jan 9, 2016

Boring

By Victor O C d O

Sep 13, 2016

The course has a very important content. But I believe that it could improve it's quality, develop better slides, the teacher could be more dynamic.

Other features like innovative assignments based on real life, partnerships with companies to provide content, and everything that could be a differential to the course will be awesome.

By Amber E

Dec 29, 2020

Terrible delivery. The course content looks super useful. However, I could not get past the poor oral presentation by the instructor. Please update this course with a new oral presentation! Looks awesome, I am sure he knows what he is talking about. But his poor speaking skills are not worth my time.

By soruji80@gmail.com

Mar 31, 2020

-The material is too simple.

-Presentation is too boring, old, not interesting.

-i could not compete the first assessment as i had to enroll in another course !

-i do not think i will ever take any other course with coursera

By A. F M M H B

Jun 17, 2020

It's not an useful course as I expected. The instructor's lecture is very boring , unclear. He just discuss some theory but not explained them properly. I just waste my time maybe.

By Kyle W

May 1, 2018

I can't deal with Rob Stone. He talks a lot of hypatheticles and I have struggled through all of the courses here that he has taught. He spends way too much time on each slide.

By Luiz A d L N

Aug 23, 2017

Very basic mook with superficial classes about problem-solving techniques. A deeper presentation about Pareto and root causes analysis would be more valueble.

By rajinder s s

Nov 12, 2020

Did not cover insights of decision making. Just run through the bookish knowledge. I was expecting some experiential insights into decision making.

By Khoi N

Dec 11, 2015

The course is not very useful due to its lacking of practical examples and assignments.

By AASTHA G

May 9, 2020

Not a good course , examples taught were not really helpful in learning.

By Alex M

Jun 28, 2016

Lack of insights and practical information

By Triboulet P

May 21, 2016

ne correspond pas au niveau

By Dimitri V

Aug 9, 2016

Not essential

By Tamara E

Jun 18, 2020

very basic

By Michael Z

Jul 6, 2017

simplistic