Chevron Left
Back to Effective Problem-Solving and Decision-Making

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Effective Problem-Solving and Decision-Making by University of California, Irvine

4.5
stars
4,817 ratings
803 reviews

About the Course

Critical thinking – the application of scientific methods and logical reasoning to problems and decisions – is the foundation of effective problem solving and decision making. Critical thinking enables us to avoid common obstacles, test our beliefs and assumptions, and correct distortions in our thought processes. Gain confidence in assessing problems accurately, evaluating alternative solutions, and anticipating likely risks. Learn how to use analysis, synthesis, and positive inquiry to address individual and organizational problems and develop the critical thinking skills needed in today’s turbulent times. Using case studies and situations encountered by class members, explore successful models and proven methods that are readily transferable on-the-job. Upon completing this course, you will be able to: 1. Choose and apply appropriate problem solving and decision making processes and methods 2. Identify common obstacles to effective problem solving and decision making 3. Recognize the human variable in problem solving and decision making 4. Assess major conceptual blocks and significant situational challenges 5. Apply concepts to enhancing personal development and organizational performance 6. Explain the key elements of problem solving and decision making and the barriers associated with them...

Top reviews

KG
Sep 5, 2020

A very informative and easy course. I loved studying it, the professor was very well versed and delivered the lectures in a way so that students find it easy to understand the text and context.

S
Feb 5, 2021

A concise and informative course. The course consolidates my fundamental knowledge about the different components and concepts of problem-solving and decision-making. I really learned a lot.

Filter by:

776 - 800 of 811 Reviews for Effective Problem-Solving and Decision-Making

By Jose A N

Mar 28, 2017

very basic, tool based solutions, no real content behind.

Usually these courses are about learning and being mentally challenged not getting a toolbox.

By Rafael J G

Jul 30, 2020

superficial, covering only a few topics, with simple and long explanition. It has everything to be good, but at the end is a kind of wasting time

By Shubham M b 1

Jun 22, 2020

This course wasn't up to the standard I expected it to be after attending other high-quality courses on the same platform I'm disappointed.

By Sandeep

Apr 11, 2020

Some of the material and case-studies were very basic.

More real-life examples would help in strengthening the points presented

By Frederic B

Apr 17, 2020

I would recommend it for a first introduction to problem solving. But not for experienced professional. It is very theoretic.

By Mangesh L

Oct 6, 2015

Theoretically good course, could have been made more interesting by including more examples or cae studies.

By Mohannad A H

Jan 28, 2021

Material is less than expected, Quiz is difficult comparing to what has been given in the course

By Nikita P

Sep 30, 2017

Too simplistic. Just provides a few common sense methods of making decision, nothing more.

By Layal I

Feb 25, 2017

this course needs much more evidences and examples to support the valuable information.

By Ahmed M R

Jan 9, 2017

the course is theoretical, it would be better with more examples and case studies.

By Mohamed Y

Feb 16, 2016

The course is well organized but I don't think it covered all the basics.

By Vamsi Y

Mar 15, 2021

Theres very little about problem solving. Not worth one's time

By Kareem M O

Nov 7, 2015

Very brief , some points are leaved without explanation

By nicolas b

Oct 20, 2020

It's a really superficial course, I expected more.

By Tim L

Aug 24, 2015

Great first starter but poorly done

By Jani S

Oct 5, 2015

Somehow simple presentations.

By Jessica T

Jun 12, 2020

vague and boring, sorry.

By Irfan

Aug 24, 2020

Very limited in scope

By Augusto U

Mar 9, 2016

introductory course

By Ahmed M A

Aug 24, 2021

thanks

By Sulaiman M A

Aug 22, 2021

thanks

By Michael C

Jan 9, 2016

Boring

By Victor O C d O

Sep 13, 2016

The course has a very important content. But I believe that it could improve it's quality, develop better slides, the teacher could be more dynamic.

Other features like innovative assignments based on real life, partnerships with companies to provide content, and everything that could be a differential to the course will be awesome.

By Amber E

Dec 29, 2020

Terrible delivery. The course content looks super useful. However, I could not get past the poor oral presentation by the instructor. Please update this course with a new oral presentation! Looks awesome, I am sure he knows what he is talking about. But his poor speaking skills are not worth my time.

By soruji80@gmail.com

Mar 31, 2020

-The material is too simple.

-Presentation is too boring, old, not interesting.

-i could not compete the first assessment as i had to enroll in another course !

-i do not think i will ever take any other course with coursera