Chevron Left
Back to Write Professional Emails in English

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Write Professional Emails in English by Georgia Institute of Technology

4.8
stars
13,746 ratings
4,294 reviews

About the Course

This is a course to help you write effective business emails in English. This course is unique because each module will provide tips on writing more professional emails as well as lessons to improve your overall English writing skills. Therefore, you will improve your grammar and vocabulary skills for email writing and also improve your cross cultural knowledge to make you more powerful and successful in your business communication. You will look at different email formats to analyze tone, formality levels, and various organizational styles. You will be able to improve your emails of introduction, announcements, requests and emails that apologize or revise a request. In this course you will write and revise 4–5 emails, complete several comprehension quizzes and review the emails of other participants. By the end of this course, you will be able to • Improve your overall written English skills • See differences and similarities among the different email formats • Write more effective subject lines and email text • Apply various key language to different types of emails • Correct common errors such as punctuation and capitalization • Study tone and level of formality in emails • Understand how culture affects what is appropriate in a business emails • Write powerful business emails for professional needs...

Top reviews

SM
May 24, 2020

I am glad to participate in this course. I really appreciate it and thankful for the coursera team. I also thanks to the professor Mr. Landers who provides wonderful speech and explanation. Thank you.

MT
Jul 26, 2020

I am glad to participate in this course. I really appreciate it and thankful for the coursera team. I also thanks to the professor Mr. Landers who provides wonderful speech and explanation. Thank you.

Filter by:

4201 - 4225 of 4,299 Reviews for Write Professional Emails in English

By Olesya K

Feb 20, 2018

Thank you very much for helpful tips during this course. It is a very good course for people, who is fluent in English. Most of the people enrolled in course didn't speak English, and didn't understand assignments. In description it says learners should be intermediate level in English, but people do not realize what intermediate level is in different countries. It would be helpful to include pretest for people who wants to enroll, so they don't waste their time. Most of the people need to learn basic English grammar first, then do this course.

By Cynthia L

Aug 12, 2020

Sometimes you don't know when the next lesson starts and I feel you don't also notice the feedback section to review others. I thought I was finished to find out I was still waiting on reviews. The flow could be much better and not dependant on others scoring you.

By Gosia S

Jun 16, 2021

It seems to be a Pre-Intermediate General English course. The content is very basic. If you are a more advanced learner who wants to improve their professional writing skills or business communication skills, this course is not worth your time and money.  

By Detlef B

Jul 22, 2019

The curs give a good overview, how to write official emails. Somtimes the evaluator are not so friendly and gave bad votes without a reason. It will be apassably vocabulary assumed. All in all, it is a good curs, to bringing back the asics.

By Kiama M

Sep 29, 2020

Writing Professional Emails in English course is very helpful it teach you how to write professionally learn you the basic emails also learn you to write announcements emails and apologize emails.

By Aleksandar C

Jul 19, 2020

Course material is fine for the subject, the more problematic part is the way its graded, with 5 peer reviewed assignments. Especially the first one which is quite tedious for the participants.

By Cesar S

Dec 23, 2020

The course is good specially for non-native speakers, but the peers review really really sucks. I had to upload some task three or four times to be approved, that was a big waste of time.

By Alonso S A

Jun 20, 2016

Professional communication should be clear, correct, and effective. The course has helped me to improve these skills. Congratulations to everyone who took this challenge.

By Vincent N

Oct 17, 2020

Not bad for a basic course. It really depends on how much effort you put into the assignment and the people willing to critique your assignments.

By Nokubonga N P K

Nov 9, 2020

Warm greetings, I am attempting to un-enrol from the course, how does one proceed to do that on the system, your guidance would be appreciated.

By Onur D

Feb 13, 2021

It is really a simple course. If you're a professional who know how to speak English, I don't think you'll get anything from this course :(

By Анастасия Х

Oct 26, 2017

Course 1: I believe it was oversimplified. There is very limited information provided by the instructor in a very slow manner.

By Vijay S

Jan 12, 2021

Low text context ,high text Context (maybe week4) topic I felt un relevant. Apart from that topic everything is excellent.

By Daniel B

Jul 26, 2017

A little more geared towards speakers whose English is an additional language. Some useful pointers throughout though!

By Maria U

Jun 12, 2016

Great teacher, although I would rather need more examples of elaborate emails, that I could use at work.

Thank you!

By Frances R

Jan 13, 2021

Thanking my Tutor for the teaching how tonwrite professional emails. I have learnt more on how to write emails

By Shobika.S

Nov 7, 2020

This course is very useful for me to form mail to myself in anywhere thanks for this wonderful opportunity.

By Shubham J

Aug 18, 2020

THE ASSIGNMENTS SHOULDN'T BE PEER-GRADED. IT SHOULD RATHER BE MENTOR GRADED AND THAT WOULD SAVE TIME A LOT.

By DING H

Apr 24, 2020

It's completed, right? Otherwise, how can I rate it?

But why the status still shows in-progress?

By Jin C

Feb 21, 2020

It's a simple but useful course, however, it's really hard to get your assignment peer-graded.

By Gomes F

Mar 29, 2016

Unfortunately we can not submit our tasks with do Un upgrade in our account.

By Yitzchak d

Feb 22, 2021

It's a good course though it can't replicate experience in the real world.

By Basnayka M C N p

May 22, 2020

Good course.Get basic idea about email writing.Thankyou

By A B

Aug 23, 2020

The course is good, but there no slides in Power Point

By Jumana

Aug 31, 2021

The structure of quizzes and assignments is not clear