Chevron Left
Back to Functional Programming Principles in Scala

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Functional Programming Principles in Scala by École Polytechnique Fédérale de Lausanne

4.8
stars
7,599 ratings
1,532 reviews

About the Course

Functional programming is becoming increasingly widespread in industry. This trend is driven by the adoption of Scala as the main programming language for many applications. Scala fuses functional and object-oriented programming in a practical package. It interoperates seamlessly with both Java and Javascript. Scala is the implementation language of many important frameworks, including Apache Spark, Kafka, and Akka. It provides the core infrastructure for sites such as Twitter, Tumblr and also Coursera. In this course you will discover the elements of the functional programming style and learn how to apply them usefully in your daily programming tasks. You will also develop a solid foundation for reasoning about functional programs, by touching upon proofs of invariants and the tracing of execution symbolically. The course is hands on; most units introduce short programs that serve as illustrations of important concepts and invite you to play with them, modifying and improving them. The course is complemented by a series programming projects as homework assignments. Recommended background: You should have at least one year programming experience. Proficiency with Java or C# is ideal, but experience with other languages such as C/C++, Python, Javascript or Ruby is also sufficient. You should have some familiarity using the command line....

Top reviews

RS
Oct 8, 2016

Really good explanation by the instructor. Good assignments. The assignments gave a good insights into functional programming. I loved the way the problems were decomposed into neat smaller functions.

AJ
Sep 23, 2019

As expected Martin is awesome in explaining principle of functional programming. I have started reading the book as well to make sure I keep up with the knowledge which I have gained from this course.

Filter by:

251 - 275 of 1,469 Reviews for Functional Programming Principles in Scala

By Arun J

Aug 17, 2017

Very nice to learn the language from the designer himself.

Coming from a non-programming background had to watch almost all sessions multiple times.

Feels good to enter the functional paradigm.

Thank you

By Emanuele P

Aug 2, 2017

Tough course which is a perfect introduction to functional programming and Scala. It is a complete overview of the language. Try to do the exercises with the teacher too in order to get the most of it.

By Carlos D

Nov 24, 2016

Excellent Course !!! The contents of the course are very well presented and allow you to get familiar with the different way of thinking that functional programming provides. I totally recommend it !!!

By Sergey S

Jun 13, 2016

This course is the best You can find on functional programming with Scala. It's a rare opportunity to take a course from the creator of the language and learn all the important parts of the language.

By Shreyansh G

Sep 22, 2020

Nice Course, worth taking if you want to learn Scala from a pure functional programming perspective.

Score:

Lectures/Videos: 10/10

Content: 10/10

Assignments: 10/10

Forum Support: 7/10

Overall Score: 9/10

By Ronaldo L R C

Sep 21, 2020

Great course! Covers all the basic principles of functional programming, with examples and exercises that helps you to think more in a "functional" way instead of the traditional "for-while-if-else"

By Ishan

Jun 10, 2019

The course develops the concepts of functional programming from scratch. With fun and challenging programming assignments, it gives ample opportunity to wrap your head around the alternate paradigm.

By Graham B

Aug 13, 2017

An excellent introduction to the concepts of functional programming that had the "side-effect" of getting me hooked on the language! (Even though the hipster in me really wanted to prefer Clojure.)

By Tom H

Jul 2, 2016

I found it to be a good introduction to functional programming and/or scala, and the assignments are challenging enough to be interesting to those who are not complete beginners in those subjects.

By Amey J

Jun 13, 2019

This is a remarkable course in which the creator of the Scala programming language not only teaches the language but also offers deep insights into the theory of programming and computer science.

By Edouard C

Jun 5, 2019

It was a good introduction to Scala for me. The video are precise and concise. The assignment are made for you to apply the concepts seen in the videos, but they remain challenging and fun to do!

By Mert

Jan 15, 2017

Content and the lecturing is super. All the assignments makes you think about the subjects. If you want to learn about functional programming and something about scala this is the course for you.

By Andrew W

Jan 10, 2021

I thought the course was fantastic. The exercises were just the right difficulty, and the lectures were very clear. Martin explains the concepts in a very understandable and approachable manner.

By Levi K

Jul 13, 2016

The course is very good and labs are sometimes difficult but useful. However some material was not covered, and it is always like that, but still it can include iterators and some other chapters

By Ricardo A M R

Apr 12, 2020

Amazin course. Many mathematics concepts have to be in mind to be easy to understand. I think the week 5 would be really useful to solve section 4. I enjoyed the couse and the challenges in it.

By RajeshPednekar

Apr 21, 2017

Great course on Functional programming with Scala! The course and concepts may be a bit challenging depending on the prior programming experience but good course to understand the core concepts

By Michael M

Jul 21, 2020

What an amazing course. The intensity required for the contents and exercises increases every week. I must say, I am more comfortable using and talking about Scala than I was a few weeks back.

By Didrik F

Sep 27, 2018

Excellent place to start learning Scala, presuming you have some familiarity with programming. The material is probably a bit too challenging for people who have never worked with code before.

By Guanghua S

Feb 27, 2018

Great course on introducing functional programming. I am new to FP, but I feel I can think in a "functional" after about half of the course. It is a very instructive introduction course on FP.

By Jeff R

Jul 2, 2017

Very good course with some challenging exercises. It served more as a refresher and practice tool for me as I was already deep into Scala before taking this. Nevertheless, very happy I did it.

By nobody

Jan 9, 2017

A really great introduction to Scala, grounded in a solid and time-tested functional curriculum. As someone with a fair amount of experience, this helped me come up to speed in Scala quickly.

By Russell W

Apr 12, 2019

Amazing. Very useful how it started off throwing you into the deep end with recursion, to help jar your mind, opening it to functional.... for those of us who coded imperative for many years

By Laurent S

Nov 19, 2016

Great work, great pedagogy. I really enjoyed learning Scala principles. The proposed exercices are really challenging, and very well constructed. Thanks a lot for this MOOC. Thank you Martin.

By Agraj M

Oct 20, 2016

The best part is the assignments, which make you think in a more pragmatic and functional manner, something that is not really straightforward for people coming from an object-oriented world.

By Emre T

Aug 9, 2016

Pace of progression of concepts was just right. You may need to spend more time with the course than what is suggested. I found myself spending more than 3hrs on the assignments consistently.