Chevron Left
Back to Learn to Program: Crafting Quality Code

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Learn to Program: Crafting Quality Code by University of Toronto

4.6
stars
594 ratings
143 reviews

About the Course

Not all programs are created equal.  In this course, we'll focus on writing quality code that runs correctly and efficiently.  We'll design, code and validate our programs and learn how to compare programs that are addressing the same task....

Top reviews

NS

Jul 13, 2020

Solid course that dives deeper into the fundamentals of CS. Great instruction, attention to detail and the excercises are adequately challenging for beginners and lower-intermediate programmers.

DB

May 22, 2020

Great instructors, liked the way they reinforced concepts through quizzes during lecture. Also appreciated and enjoyed the content of the lectures as well as the project assignments.

Filter by:

101 - 125 of 142 Reviews for Learn to Program: Crafting Quality Code

By Dang V

May 06, 2017

Good Course

By Thuan M

Oct 26, 2017

As a follow-up course to The University of Toronto's Fundamentals of Programming, this course is a natural progression. As a second-level course, more is expected of the learner. The challenges offered by the instructors are more rigorous than an intro course. The quizzes can be tricky as well, so for someone seeing the material for the first time, these questions will require insight and thought to come up with the solution. Jennifer Campbell and Paul Gries are good instructors who try to emphasis the importance of the process of a programmer. The course structure itself does not seem to follow one another week to week and seems to be extra topics in programming not covered in Fundamentals. The course covers doctest and unittest, classes, search and sorting algorithms, object-oriented programming, and exceptions. The topics on classes and object-oriented programming are excellent and recommended to truly have a grasp of Python.

By Abhishek S

Jul 02, 2017

This course primarily focuses on best practices for writing programs(in python). One also gets to learn basic sorting and searching algorithms. It briefly touches upon the concepts of classes, exceptions etc. Along the journey you'll also learn some tricks with python. Overall it was a fantastic experience. I hope UofT comes out with a third course in this series - Learn to Program which will go into much more detail especially in concepts such as object oriented programming, exception handling etc.

By Ron B

Aug 19, 2020

Thank you for the course. I thoroughly enjoyed it. I was (and am) a novice at Python but felt I learned lots from the course. Highlights for me were use of the testing frameworks and the assignment in week 5. I also liked the idea of the 'design contract' used in each function created in the course and I will continue to do that with any Python code I write in the future. Thank you once again for the course. I sincerley hope there will be other courses forthcoming in the future.

All the best - Ron

By Ard S

Mar 15, 2019

This strengths of this course were also it weaknesses; while I enjoyed this course more than the first one due to the introduction of a wider variety of topics (basic algorithms, OOP, etcetera) it also felt less coherent in its approach in the sense that I missed an overarching concept or arc that tied all the modules together, which IMO is where the first module shined. Interesting and educative nevertheless.

By Oliver F

Sep 20, 2017

It's a nice course with good videos. Since it's very basic, anyone with little programming experience should be able to pass this course. Even without any knowledge of Python, the course is manageable.

To improve the videos, I'd recommend to adjust the audio levels, since some parts are spoken louder than others. Nevertheless, I've been able to understand everything.

By Ikseon K

Feb 01, 2018

Thanks to lecturer's clear and easy explanation, I completed this coursework after LTP1, Learn to Program: Fundamentals. I really appreciate it for two great teachers' enthusiasm and kindness. Throughout this coursework, I can find the big picture of Python programming world. Thanks! Also, hope anybody else will enjoy the programming through this great coursework!

By Zzm S

Sep 28, 2018

Topics are well chosen. I think the content is practical and not superficial for work. I appreciate the instructors' work. They are very clear and logic is easy to follow. I would suggest there to be more code assignment for practice. I personally think the content is good but not enough. This course is more like a 3 -week course.

By Alberto P

Sep 09, 2018

The course was great, I enjoyed it less than the first part though. I feel there was way more support from the mentors and the forums in the first part, whereas in this edition there was almost nobody posting around and helping. Still, as the other one great teaching from both professors and great content. Thank you!

By Irina K

Mar 24, 2017

Quite simple course for those, who has already learned some python, but has some drawbacks in knowledge of unit testing, exceptions and classes. All examples are understandable and simple.

Although expected more about quality code crafting, some hints and best practices, that could help in real life of the developer.

By Li H Y

Jun 27, 2017

Overall it is a very great course. The material is well-structured and worth to learn.

This course worth 4 stars but not 5 because the instructors seldom answer questions in the forum. Fellow students need to help each other and sometimes there is no help from everyone.

By Greg D

Jul 01, 2020

Mostly accurate per overview.

Using versions of Python no longer supported to auto-mark submissions, should be updated.

Otherwise, rigorous detail for the quality of crafting code.

By Branimir L

Apr 09, 2017

It does not fulfills completely its title 'Crafting Quality Code'. Nevertheless, it does pay attention to unit testing and taking care of the design via design recipes.

By Kseniia S

Sep 30, 2020

Generally good, but a bit worse than the first part. There were some inconsistencies in the tests and tasks and instructors didn't answer questions in the forum.

By Christian B M

Mar 20, 2017

Good course, especially the doc and unit testing parts. I had hoped for a more advanced implementations, but thank you for mentioning the exec function.

By Alejandro G Z

May 27, 2020

Very helpful concepts, clearly and thoroughly explained. I found the Testing chapter especially useful. Thanks!

By David A G

Jul 21, 2020

Si completaste Learn to Program: The Fundamentals, recomiendo que sigas aprendiendo con este curso.

By vlady N

Jun 16, 2020

The end Assignment has been lacking instructions for an end-to-end testing and local implementation

By Emil L

Jul 17, 2020

Very well structured. Good quiz and assignments. Builds a solid foundation.

By Tyson C

Jun 13, 2017

Look like not many people around, no one do peer review for my assignment

By jbene m

Aug 21, 2019

Very practical. I have learned a lot from this course.

By Ashwani k G

Apr 28, 2017

Wonderful course. Got to learn many things.

By Benoit I

Mar 26, 2017

Very interresting course for Python lovers.

By HU X

Jun 12, 2017

very basic stuff and very easy.

By Daya_Jin

Sep 29, 2018

内容有干货,但讲的太枯燥,听得想睡觉