Chevron Left
Back to Programming Fundamentals

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Programming Fundamentals by Duke University

4.7
stars
6,084 ratings
1,588 reviews

About the Course

Programming is an increasingly important skill, whether you aspire to a career in software development, or in other fields. This course is the first in the specialization Introduction to Programming in C, but its lessons extend to any language you might want to learn. This is because programming is fundamentally about figuring out how to solve a class of problems and writing the algorithm, a clear set of steps to solve any problem in its class. This course will introduce you to a powerful problem-solving process—the Seven Steps—which you can use to solve any programming problem. In this course, you will learn how to develop an algorithm, then progress to reading code and understanding how programming concepts relate to algorithms....

Top reviews

EE
Aug 13, 2020

The instruction provided in this course are very clear and anyone who can learn coding by this course. But the course has more readable content for you to take notes and reading it may take more time.

M
Jan 27, 2021

It's a very good as a beginning with programing language. It helped me to think like a compiler and how it exactly works. I've finally understood the saying "Everything in computer works in logic".♥

Filter by:

1201 - 1225 of 1,587 Reviews for Programming Fundamentals

By DR. M E

May 2, 2020

good

By KALLU L P

Apr 25, 2020

Good

By SELVAM E

Apr 20, 2020

good

By SAMPRIT D

Apr 12, 2020

nice

By Debolina K

Mar 22, 2020

good

By Yiqing L

Feb 20, 2020

good

By Praneel M

May 14, 2019

Nice

By Tarun y

Mar 3, 2019

best

By midathana s

Mar 1, 2019

good

By CHANGZHI C

Jan 5, 2019

GOOD

By AejiJeon

Oct 14, 2020

해ㅐㅇ

By Ria

May 27, 2020

OSM

By AVHAD A B

Jul 19, 2020

Ok

By sonika s

May 28, 2020

Hi

By Prathamesh J

Jan 7, 2022

.

By REDDY S P

Jun 21, 2021

By Uttam D

Jul 9, 2020

.

By Rachana P

May 18, 2020

.

By FAHAD A

Apr 10, 2020

.

By Bruce N T

Nov 28, 2018

The peer review process was frustrating. Once the assignment was submitted, you needed to "rely on the kindness of strangers" to provide feedback on your assignment in a timely manner. In my case, I needed Coursera to correct an error with the course in order to reset the deadline in order to submit my corrected assignment. Also I needed to cajole my peers via the discussion board to review my submission. I understand that improvements are on the way and I hope that it will make the peer review process smoother, quicker and more responsive

By Christa C

Jun 30, 2020

The first 2 weeks of content were a great introduction to programming, I think. The third week was harder for me to follow, mostly because writing things in binary / hex code was pretty far outside of what I needed and what I was interested in - plus there were less videos that accompanied the content, so it was heavier in the reading areas. I think the videos and reading for each week were pretty straightforward and helpful. The quizzes were challenging but not impossible. I feel like I learned / refreshed some basics.

By ASHISH B

Jun 12, 2020

I'm glad that i could understand how to just not initiate to solve any question with by typing on ide,instead to abstract the main point of the question and distribute into various mini problems and figure out with concept into it then gradually change into computer's conceptual way and if more i go pictorial it helps me more to understand so corner cases on the problem and more the merrier when comes to flow chart..xD. In all i was like satisfied in a calm manner.

By Romain G

Sep 21, 2020

In general, the explanations are very good and clear. I was not a beginner so difficult to know if this course is appropriate. The only downside would some quizzes which are, from my point of view, a bit disconnected from the video and lectures and require some additional materials. Moreover, it is sometimes difficult to understand what is expected in a question. It would fruitful to enrich the questions in order to make them more precised. Thank you

By Stephanie S

May 21, 2019

Generally good, but I thought there were some holes in explanation, especially in how to convert from Binary, to Hex to Decimal and back all by hand. I had to look up methods outside of the course of how to calculate this. A lot of the assignments are also pure tedium and making sure you're counting spaces in graphs correctly. Assignments could have been less frustrating if the spacing in the grids were labeled (0, 1, 2, 3, etc).

By shumpei_kikuta

Nov 29, 2018

This course is not only great for novice programmers but also for intermediate programmers. There are multiple things I've learned in this course, so I highly recommend the programmer in all levels.

However, this course are mostly consist of reading materials and I had hard time reading through them all time since I am not an English native person.

It would be greater if more videos are available to understand in this course.