Chevron Left
Back to Programming Fundamentals

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Programming Fundamentals by Duke University

4.7
stars
5,580 ratings
1,459 reviews

About the Course

Programming is an increasingly important skill, whether you aspire to a career in software development, or in other fields. This course is the first in the specialization Introduction to Programming in C, but its lessons extend to any language you might want to learn. This is because programming is fundamentally about figuring out how to solve a class of problems and writing the algorithm, a clear set of steps to solve any problem in its class. This course will introduce you to a powerful problem-solving process—the Seven Steps—which you can use to solve any programming problem. In this course, you will learn how to develop an algorithm, then progress to reading code and understanding how programming concepts relate to algorithms....

Top reviews

EE
Aug 13, 2020

The instruction provided in this course are very clear and anyone who can learn coding by this course. But the course has more readable content for you to take notes and reading it may take more time.

DL
Aug 30, 2020

I had no background in programming before attending this course and I had my own doubts on learning a new language online. But trust me, this course is very well-built and it was a cake walk for me.

Filter by:

1426 - 1450 of 1,450 Reviews for Programming Fundamentals

By Elizabeth F

Feb 17, 2020

No help at point of questions. No option but to re-take modules which are no help if you have taken them multiple times and still don't know the answer.

By SIDDHARTH S

Feb 14, 2021

courses must be in different languages as well other than english , like English+Hindi or in Hindi as it takes less time to understand and learn.

By Sayam K

Oct 20, 2020

More videos should be there instead of the written content. Less clarity of me understanding your courses videos.

By Ami J

Jun 25, 2020

the course could be made giving less complex examples.explanation part was very poor.

By Nai Z M

Jun 5, 2020

Need more videos instead of paragraphs of texts. Very difficult to digest the words.

By Vishwambhara B

Jul 14, 2020

More info is in text form than video

By Sparsh G

Apr 5, 2020

wont recommend waste of time

By Lukas W

May 28, 2020

boring and dry

By Simon W T C

Dec 5, 2020

There are better courses to learn about programing basics around Coursera. The manner of teaching is more of a read all these notes I gave you and understanding it well and very minimal lecture to elaborate on the topic. Some of the topic would have been easier to teach in video form rather than reading a note but nope.... For those who takes this course with the hope of completing the specialization, just go away... the programming environment and grader is not working 95% of the time ( I tried to get into it 10x already) which prevents you to complete the next few courses.

By Büsra G S

Jun 25, 2020

first of all, this course is NOT for beginners, you definitely need some kind of background, and even then it is hard. when you're stuck in a quiz, you don't get any tips on how to solve the questions, nor an answer at the end, instead you are left with nothing but more questions on the topic. secondly, the "teaching" process of the course doesn't help at all. you might as well buy a book and read that, the videos are literally that unimportant. not worth it, waste of money and time.

By Justin M

Mar 7, 2021

So disappointed in this class/specialization. The tools (programming environment) is buggy, slow, and a pain to use. Instruction is lacking in content and clarity. Had to waste massive amounts of time googling and looking up explanations on discussion boards.

I've taken over 50 Coursera courses, and this is the first specialization I quit because I just couldn't keep putting more effort into taking the course than the instructors put into making it.

By Zachary G

Oct 1, 2020

I took the algorithms example and could already tell this course was pathetic. It makes 0 sense to start counting occupation of a graph at 0. Will never take another course at Puke University.

By Kumar R R

Aug 31, 2020

very complicated nothing explained clearly

we had so much to read rather than video explanations i could have got that that even in a book

it didnt started from basics as promised

By SHRINIKET D

Apr 4, 2020

sir at least give us some idea why our answer to given question is wrong. it only show incorrect.

By Jaemyong C

Jun 14, 2020

I dropped the course due to technical issues on Duke's side. Can't complete the assignments.

By Kuldeep m

Apr 4, 2020

I am not geeting my certificate after completing the course ehat can i do

By Shivansh Y

Sep 28, 2020

the teacher are very uninteresting and totally kill the desire to learn

By BISWAJIT G

Jul 22, 2020

sorry but i failed to understand the course may be i am lagging .

By Md M I K I

Sep 7, 2020

not very interesting. Need more improvement on course material.

By S C R

Oct 26, 2020

in the certificate the full name of university is not their

By PRIYANK D

Aug 29, 2020

poorly explained

By Mukul

May 24, 2020

Not really good

By CHAVAN M U

Jun 23, 2020

Very bad

By RicK Z

Dec 13, 2020

Useless

By Bibhushan J S

May 28, 2020

/