Chevron Left
Back to Programming Fundamentals

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Programming Fundamentals by Duke University

4.7
stars
5,501 ratings
1,443 reviews

About the Course

Programming is an increasingly important skill, whether you aspire to a career in software development, or in other fields. This course is the first in the specialization Introduction to Programming in C, but its lessons extend to any language you might want to learn. This is because programming is fundamentally about figuring out how to solve a class of problems and writing the algorithm, a clear set of steps to solve any problem in its class. This course will introduce you to a powerful problem-solving process—the Seven Steps—which you can use to solve any programming problem. In this course, you will learn how to develop an algorithm, then progress to reading code and understanding how programming concepts relate to algorithms....

Top reviews

EE
Aug 13, 2020

The instruction provided in this course are very clear and anyone who can learn coding by this course. But the course has more readable content for you to take notes and reading it may take more time.

DL
Aug 30, 2020

I had no background in programming before attending this course and I had my own doubts on learning a new language online. But trust me, this course is very well-built and it was a cake walk for me.

Filter by:

201 - 225 of 1,432 Reviews for Programming Fundamentals

By Diego J R R

Mar 6, 2020

It was a great experience. Amazing course, I had learned powerful base skills for programming. I am looking forward to continue to the next level language C programming course

By 안재은

Sep 12, 2020

This class was very helpful in understanding the C language. It consists of easy explanations and examples, so it is a very good class for those who are new to C Programming.

By ROLAKANTI N R

Apr 6, 2021

The coursera is ultimately superb and by this we can know the programming language very well..It helps a lot to the student one who doesn't know the basics about the subject

By Tanmaya M

Jul 18, 2020

This course is very easy to understand and engaging. It mainly focuses on getting a clear idea about the problem and planning precisely to solve rather than jumping to code.

By TEJAL B

Jun 1, 2020

It was a wonderful experience . The course is very helpful and informative and i love the segments they have divide it in and also the professors are very clear and helpful.

By Yue Y

Feb 24, 2019

Really good introductory class of C#. Clear lectures with reading materials to supply. Hope to finish the course series with deep understanding of C# and programming skills.

By Deleted A

Nov 27, 2017

it help be to remember C ,and understand what happen with code by hand which is a great step to me =D it will help you to keep tracking your code every step by your hand...

By Sehyun P

Jul 31, 2018

I had so much fun while studying your lecture! As a beginner who wants to take one more closer step to get a software engineering job, I'd highly recommend taking this one!

By VIKAS B

Aug 22, 2020

I get a good understanding of how to write algorithm and test our program. Excellent course and ofcourse I recommended everyone take this course and explore your knowledge

By Shantanu C

Aug 21, 2020

the 7 steps are really helping me a lot in designing an algorithm.

It was the best start for learning basics of algorithm and learning C Programming language along with it

By SHAIK A

Jun 4, 2020

It was a fantastic experience.they taught me that they just provide us best ingredients(domain knowledge)

it is our responsibility to make a good dish (success).thank you.

By ghoshof11

Aug 11, 2020

All the materials were explained lucidly and with great care. The tests were initially trying, but once I got the hang of them, they were far easier to grasp and answer.

By Hassan K

Oct 25, 2020

The best resource online. They teach and explain every bit of programming in C. I have given it five stars because there is no option for a million. thank you Coursera.

By vikas v

Jan 25, 2020

I like to complete this course which helps me to improve my pattern recognition techniques and also help to create an algorithm of solving problem based on that pattern

By abhishek c

May 16, 2019

made me clear my basics. the method of teaching was effective, rather than focusing on memorizing the syntax of c programming, i got an indepth knowledge. very helpful.

By Roussel K

May 17, 2018

This course is just amazing. Compare to other courses on Coursera that relied heavily on time consuming videos, this one prefers short and easy to understand readings.

By Nirvik M A

Sep 10, 2018

It is really a worthy course with some of the best faculties.It really help you to understand how a program really works and builds a strong foundation in this field.

By Eshaan A

Aug 6, 2020

Really good. I did get confused sometimes and angry but that only happened once. The course is pretty easy to understand as long as you read it carefully and slowly.

By Probal B D

Jul 20, 2020

This course is very important for the beginners or who wants to start C programming. The teachers have taken the classes very well and I really appreciate their job.

By tanmay n

Jun 22, 2020

NO DOUBT! It is an excellent course it will teach you the main core of programming about how to solve the real life problems through software i.e. through algorithms

By Rajan G

Apr 4, 2020

Really nice course but I suggest if you want to do this course it is better to have some knowledge of programming a little bit.

Overal course if good. Rating 5 stars.

By PARAM R

Aug 28, 2020

From this course i learned a lot new things. And instructors of Duke University are very friendly and also share good knowledge in simple way.

Thanks to instructor.

By Muhammad E A

Jul 19, 2020

I am so grateful for opportunity in this course, cause it was open my mind to new insight from programming course. It`s pleasure to complete this course. Thank you.

By Dattasai

Jun 29, 2019

The course explains each and every concept very clearly neatly and bit by bit. The videos explaining the concepts do it visually in a way that's easy to understand.

By AKSHAY K V B

May 6, 2020

it was a nice opportunity to learn the introduction of programing . The video lectures where the perfect one. More video lectures can be used instead of readings .