Chevron Left
Back to Programming Fundamentals

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Programming Fundamentals by Duke University

4.7
stars
5,929 ratings
1,552 reviews

About the Course

Programming is an increasingly important skill, whether you aspire to a career in software development, or in other fields. This course is the first in the specialization Introduction to Programming in C, but its lessons extend to any language you might want to learn. This is because programming is fundamentally about figuring out how to solve a class of problems and writing the algorithm, a clear set of steps to solve any problem in its class. This course will introduce you to a powerful problem-solving process—the Seven Steps—which you can use to solve any programming problem. In this course, you will learn how to develop an algorithm, then progress to reading code and understanding how programming concepts relate to algorithms....

Top reviews

EE
Aug 13, 2020

The instruction provided in this course are very clear and anyone who can learn coding by this course. But the course has more readable content for you to take notes and reading it may take more time.

TL
Aug 30, 2020

I had no background in programming before attending this course and I had my own doubts on learning a new language online. But trust me, this course is very well-built and it was a cake walk for me.

Filter by:

1201 - 1225 of 1,547 Reviews for Programming Fundamentals

By Antonio V

May 1, 2019

Requires more background knowledge than advertisement for the course suggests (e.g., you'd best remember your high school algebra decently well). Concepts are explained straightforwardly but with no hand-holding and no attempt to avoid jargon. Great course if you're willing to put in the work.

By Mateo W

Jul 26, 2019

I would have preferred that the course include programming at some point. I appreciate the emphasis on planning and the structured approach to coming up with algorithms but I also think it builds confidence to write even simple pieces of code rather than just reading it.

By Tejodhay B

Aug 10, 2020

The course consists of lots of " reading by ourselves" modules ,which sometimes drives away the excitement and interest. Also sometimes , difficult to understand .There can be more videos regarding the same, which i thought could be far more helpful . Rest was awesome.

By Rutuj R

May 18, 2020

The programming fundamentals course was great.The course contents were professionally curated and helped in gaining a wonderful insight into the programming world.I recommend to everyone who wants to kick-start their programming career and dive deep into algorithms 👍

By Andras B

Dec 8, 2018

Good material. I had some previuos background in programming from engineering, and there wasn't much new to me, so it is hard to judge how useful is this course for a complete beginner.

For me it gave a good overview on C syntax and some very basic programmer approach.

By Aadarsh M

Jul 15, 2020

Awesome course! took less time to complete. Instructors were amazing. I would have liked few more video tutorials and little more actual code writing but this is satisfactory and the depth of simple topics as these is really good. I feel confident! Thank You!

By Asfand Y A

Jan 1, 2021

This is a very great course for beginners as it starts them from basics which many other fail to do so. However, I was not satisfied with the order they taught various subject. Moreover, some parts were a bit difficult for complete beginners to understand.

By Mohit J

Dec 17, 2019

course is good but this course is not for beginners(who dont't see programming before) . This course is for those who know little bit about programming . Overall course is good . I'm satisfied with this course . It will help me alot to impove my skills .

By Harsh K

May 1, 2020

Clears all the basics. Suitable even for programmers who wanna refresh their basics. Never knew basics like Algorithms were so important. The first week itself teaches you the most important stuff which will act as a base of the career...Quite Satisfied

By Eran T

Jan 26, 2018

Most of the course is very well tought - it's interesting and clear. But there are a few parts which should be more rigoureuse and a few videos that should be a little slower. I think more practice will also be great.

All in all, very recommended.

By Ayush P G

May 28, 2020

It was a really good, rather impressive course, and I could have given it 5 star but I faced a few problems in the time of explanation and the way of explaining the topics through videos, some of my friends cannot understand the video properly.

By Siddhant K

Apr 19, 2020

"Programing Fundamentals" is a course where basic fundamentals such as types,steps, and how to execute is explained. Duke University and Coursera have given very smooth learning experience and good knowledge to start programming for beginers.

By Shejan N V

Jun 12, 2020

The Last Assignment in every course is very tricky and helpful to upgrade yourself if you follow it honestly without cheating. Overall The Course is awesome The level of english might seem a bit high but is necessarily important further.

By Trinity R

Sep 19, 2021

This one was really hard for me. It was made harder by the fact that you have to wait so long to get answers on questions. It seems like there is only 1 person trying to answer everyone's questions. Maybe there should be more staff.

By 1BY19CS048 G D

Jun 9, 2020

There are assignments consisting of 4 or less questions and we are expected to score more than 80% in it. This means that you can proceed ahead only if you solve all questions right, not one single question should have a wrong answer.

By PRASHANT K

Nov 21, 2019

you should add more practice question in quiz so that learner build their confidence and if learner solve that question 3 time wrong then you should provide solution of that question. and take again test of that question.

thank you.

By Avigarg

Jun 26, 2020

Overall the basics taught in algorithms were good. But in week 3, very few doubts got cleared by teachers, what I feel. The course helped me to be patient during algorithm writing and to think critically and to find different ways.

By nisha b

Jan 2, 2021

The structure of course was very well designed to make students aware of what algorithm really means and teach the basics of C programming specially that funny video of making bread thing(i don't remember the name of that).

By Adil b

Nov 7, 2020

In this course reading is more than the videos that`s make little bit hard to understand by reading the things we didn`t understand some concept therefore we move on to other platform for understanding the thing clearly.

By Pratiksha

Mar 1, 2020

i found it very easy and the actually taught me the basic fundamentals of C in such a easy manner . And, the example which i will never forget is that how to write a algorithum

(by the example how to apply jam bread)

By Saksham 1

May 27, 2020

Great course for beginning programming. Unlike other common courses, which directly start by printing Hello World in C. This course starts from ground level, making the foundation for good and efficient programming.

By Andreas M

Sep 25, 2019

A little bit heavy on the reading side, which is why I deduct one star. More videos would make the course more lively. Apart from that I enjoyed the ideas of the teachers and am happy that I learned until the end.

By Bernd D

Jul 5, 2020

Very good first introduction to C and programming. The initial focus on logic and problem solving made a lot of sense. Weekly reviews and tests keep you motivated. Really liked part 1, now continuing with part 2.

By Jessenia

Apr 29, 2021

4.5* This course is great to introduce you to the programming world, it helps you understand better how to think, organice, code clearly and the importance of this habit into you day to day work as a programmer.

By david b

Mar 21, 2019

I really enjoyed the readings and the video examples. The class was a good intro that has helped me think like a programmer. The 7 step method is something I hope to master as I continue the specialized courses.