Chevron Left
Back to Programming Fundamentals

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Programming Fundamentals by Duke University

4.7
stars
6,239 ratings
1,632 reviews

About the Course

Programming is an increasingly important skill, whether you aspire to a career in software development, or in other fields. This course is the first in the specialization Introduction to Programming in C, but its lessons extend to any language you might want to learn. This is because programming is fundamentally about figuring out how to solve a class of problems and writing the algorithm, a clear set of steps to solve any problem in its class. This course will introduce you to a powerful problem-solving process—the Seven Steps—which you can use to solve any programming problem. In this course, you will learn how to develop an algorithm, then progress to reading code and understanding how programming concepts relate to algorithms....

Top reviews

EE

Aug 13, 2020

The instruction provided in this course are very clear and anyone who can learn coding by this course. But the course has more readable content for you to take notes and reading it may take more time.

SP

Apr 23, 2020

Whether you are new to programming or an experienced guy, you should absolutely opt for this course because it helps to build a strong base with the basic but most important concepts in programming.

Filter by:

1576 - 1600 of 1,631 Reviews for Programming Fundamentals

By Dhairya B

May 14, 2020

Wayyy too much reading for an online course.,Overall very well done

By Aleksey S

Apr 2, 2021

A decent explanation of the C types system, but dumb assignments

By Gerardo E J C

Aug 16, 2020

It was a little complicated to understannd but very complete.

By Sashwath S

May 4, 2020

You guys are going to fast for other people to understand

By Cristian D S

Jun 9, 2020

Is so tired lose time with de hex and binary sistems

By Sagar B

Jul 18, 2019

Good Course

Need some more videos of illustration

By Abhishek K R

May 17, 2020

Assignment date should have flexibility

By Ayesha S

May 30, 2021

no help for wrong questions in quiz

By Hanxi W

Jan 11, 2019

kind of easy. very introductional

By MOHAN K R

May 23, 2020

reading time is more than videos

By Mohamed s

Jun 16, 2020

the course is to conceptual

By Ashritha K

Jul 12, 2020

i want to drop this course

By Leila A

Feb 18, 2021

not quite useful

By DURBA G

Nov 3, 2020

Good Content.

By Pushpendra H

Aug 12, 2020

Complex.

By Sabit H M

May 22, 2020

helpful

By Weerachai Y

Aug 13, 2020

thanks

By ANGULURI R

May 19, 2020

good

By Aman K S

May 17, 2020

fair

By VIGNESHKUMAR R

Apr 12, 2020

Good

By roushan k

Jan 6, 2020

good

By Nikhil A

May 18, 2020

.

By Edgar V D

Apr 7, 2022

The course is extremely theoretical and academic, which I do not have a problem with, however it does make it difficult to understand and achieve following adherence througout the course. It would have been more beneficial and excellent if the course was explained more beginner-friendly, pragmatic, simplistic and more focus on describing and explaining programming fundamentals and crucial concepts. I appreciate the course and the individuals who participated and formulated to the design of the course, but I found the course to be highly difficult, hard to follow, unclear or ambigious in certain instances and frustrating as I felt disheartned and dissapointed in my own ability to grasp the course's material. I do not think blaming it on my own cognitive abilities is 100% fair, I do think it's a two way relationship and if the teacher or lecturer is great or good, then they are, but this was not how I experienced this course. It needs to be broken down into understanable detail that anyone can follow. Nevertheless, I am grateful to have received the oppertunity and luxury of finishing this course contents. Thank you Duke University for all your time, dedication, resources, effort and energy.

By Damien T

Sep 10, 2021

T​he presentation of this course is very good. The content for me is however very bad. The formula presented here for writing code is presented as the only correct way to write code. As you can imagine this is not really true and I expected a bit more nuance from such a well rated university. The worst thing for me were the tests, they just fellt like hard puzzles that had nothing really to do with programming but were just a way to show off how smart you have to be to pass this test.

A​ll in all I would not recommend this course as the main thing that I learned was that I did not like the course and not much else.

By SHIVANK R

Jun 15, 2020

All the teachers were fabulous and their teaching methodology was excellent but there should be more video lecture than the reading materials because nobody wants to just read and read cause these thing can also be found on Youtube. And yes, what the hell was that last quiz ? Shouldn't be it a peer graded assignment ? Well I hate peer graded assignment system but still that thing can be done by randomly typing anything, algorithm is not even needed.