Chevron Left
Back to Programming Fundamentals

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Programming Fundamentals by Duke University

4.7
stars
6,544 ratings

About the Course

Programming is an increasingly important skill, whether you aspire to a career in software development, or in other fields. This course is the first in the specialization Introduction to Programming in C, but its lessons extend to any language you might want to learn. This is because programming is fundamentally about figuring out how to solve a class of problems and writing the algorithm, a clear set of steps to solve any problem in its class. This course will introduce you to a powerful problem-solving process—the Seven Steps—which you can use to solve any programming problem. In this course, you will learn how to develop an algorithm, then progress to reading code and understanding how programming concepts relate to algorithms....

Top reviews

EE

Aug 13, 2020

The instruction provided in this course are very clear and anyone who can learn coding by this course. But the course has more readable content for you to take notes and reading it may take more time.

ME

Jan 27, 2021

It's a very good as a beginning with programing language. It helped me to think like a compiler and how it exactly works. I've finally understood the saying "Everything in computer works in logic".♥

Filter by:

1601 - 1625 of 1,686 Reviews for Programming Fundamentals

By ADDANKI M

Sep 20, 2020

Good

By A G

Sep 10, 2020

good

By ROBIN C P

Sep 3, 2020

Good

By Manjegowda H

Jul 1, 2020

Nice

By Sneha S

Jun 11, 2020

nice

By Sivaranjani K

Jun 6, 2020

Good

By WIJESOORIYA H

May 25, 2020

good

By Rachit G

May 22, 2020

one

By CHILUVERU N

May 20, 2020

4.5

By Koyyalamudi Y

Apr 12, 2022

ok

By Paulo M

Dec 17, 2020

Although the course really takes care that the students gain a good fundamentals knowledge of programming, it bets too much on theory only.

My suggestion is to rethink the course in order to allow the students to do some pratical and simple programming that can also helps them to assimilate the Fundamentals.

My a way to do it is to mix this course with the second one for that purpose.

Best Regards

Paulo

By Sean S

Dec 16, 2021

The content is useful but the explanations are verbose, the videos and reading material are often redundant, and I was not aware of any way to receive help with specific questions for which I was unable to determine the algorithm used to generate a sequence of numbers. Maybe I was overthinking it, but I was completely stumped.

By Rishabh N

Dec 4, 2019

The course consist of too much of theoretical portion.the written content is quiet boring.test should be taken through some interactive programming to develop the programming skills.athe information provided was deep and covered all the content.

By Nishith

Jun 12, 2020

Could have been more explanations in videos rather than manually reading from the reading material. Quiz was good.

By Ankit K

May 29, 2020

Great explanation and content. The syllabus can be more wide and more exercises should be there for practice.

By Nemin S

May 2, 2019

The reading material needs to be more concise and exhaustive, other than that everything is top notch.

By RANJANI

Oct 4, 2020

It was good... But was little high level for beginners.... Otherwise the course was knowledgeable.

By SNEHAL K

Jun 7, 2021

I agree that my feedback may be viewed by the Coursera community, in compliance with the Coursera

By Cory S

Jan 25, 2021

This wasn't what I was looking for in a C# programming course, but I did learn some things.

By Praveen B

Aug 8, 2020

i think the course was a bit complex for begeinners as it had algorithms and complex quiz

By KOTA K

Jun 17, 2020

The course is good.but i have a lot of confusion in types,conversion and enumerated types

By Chen Z

Jul 1, 2022

A little bit hard to understand the concepts in details without any relevant background

By Jannatul F A

Apr 16, 2020

Many Topic is not included like pointers. It should be added. Lectures were Good.

By Mohnish D

Aug 4, 2020

The course was pretty basic. Some of the questions in the quizes had no context.