Chevron Left
Back to Programming Fundamentals

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Programming Fundamentals by Duke University

4.7
stars
6,304 ratings

About the Course

Programming is an increasingly important skill, whether you aspire to a career in software development, or in other fields. This course is the first in the specialization Introduction to Programming in C, but its lessons extend to any language you might want to learn. This is because programming is fundamentally about figuring out how to solve a class of problems and writing the algorithm, a clear set of steps to solve any problem in its class. This course will introduce you to a powerful problem-solving process—the Seven Steps—which you can use to solve any programming problem. In this course, you will learn how to develop an algorithm, then progress to reading code and understanding how programming concepts relate to algorithms....

Top reviews

EE

Aug 13, 2020

The instruction provided in this course are very clear and anyone who can learn coding by this course. But the course has more readable content for you to take notes and reading it may take more time.

SP

Apr 23, 2020

Whether you are new to programming or an experienced guy, you should absolutely opt for this course because it helps to build a strong base with the basic but most important concepts in programming.

Filter by:

1601 - 1625 of 1,646 Reviews for Programming Fundamentals

By Mohamed s

Jun 16, 2020

the course is to conceptual

By Ashritha K

Jul 12, 2020

i want to drop this course

By Leila A

Feb 18, 2021

not quite useful

By DURBA G

Nov 3, 2020

Good Content.

By Pushpendra H

Aug 12, 2020

Complex.

By Sabit H M

May 22, 2020

helpful

By Weerachai Y

Aug 13, 2020

thanks

By ANGULURI R

May 19, 2020

good

By Aman K S

May 17, 2020

fair

By VIGNESHKUMAR R

Apr 12, 2020

Good

By roushan k

Jan 6, 2020

good

By Nikhil A

May 18, 2020

.

By Edgar V D

Apr 7, 2022

The course is extremely theoretical and academic, which I do not have a problem with, however it does make it difficult to understand and achieve following adherence througout the course. It would have been more beneficial and excellent if the course was explained more beginner-friendly, pragmatic, simplistic and more focus on describing and explaining programming fundamentals and crucial concepts. I appreciate the course and the individuals who participated and formulated to the design of the course, but I found the course to be highly difficult, hard to follow, unclear or ambigious in certain instances and frustrating as I felt disheartned and dissapointed in my own ability to grasp the course's material. I do not think blaming it on my own cognitive abilities is 100% fair, I do think it's a two way relationship and if the teacher or lecturer is great or good, then they are, but this was not how I experienced this course. It needs to be broken down into understanable detail that anyone can follow. Nevertheless, I am grateful to have received the oppertunity and luxury of finishing this course contents. Thank you Duke University for all your time, dedication, resources, effort and energy.

By Damien T

Sep 10, 2021

T​he presentation of this course is very good. The content for me is however very bad. The formula presented here for writing code is presented as the only correct way to write code. As you can imagine this is not really true and I expected a bit more nuance from such a well rated university. The worst thing for me were the tests, they just fellt like hard puzzles that had nothing really to do with programming but were just a way to show off how smart you have to be to pass this test.

A​ll in all I would not recommend this course as the main thing that I learned was that I did not like the course and not much else.

By SHIVANK R

Jun 15, 2020

All the teachers were fabulous and their teaching methodology was excellent but there should be more video lecture than the reading materials because nobody wants to just read and read cause these thing can also be found on Youtube. And yes, what the hell was that last quiz ? Shouldn't be it a peer graded assignment ? Well I hate peer graded assignment system but still that thing can be done by randomly typing anything, algorithm is not even needed.

By DIXIE D

Jun 9, 2021

S​tarting out, the material was easy to grasp. I will warn that once you get towards the end of the first week, it gets ridiculously challenging. It is very discouraging for a student that is completely new to this area of study to feel overwhelmed due to being rushed through point A to point B without having a gradual approach.

By Jeremy V K

Jul 4, 2020

Took the course to brush up on C as it had been a couple of years since I touched it. Too many unimportant points take the center stage in this course rather than the actual programming part. Also the title, to say i took an introduction to c course, I'd have to complete the entire specialization.

By Mihra P T

Jun 11, 2020

Although the course was taught well, I seemed to struggle with the quizzes and assignments as they were much more difficult than what was taught in the lectures. I did have to do a lot of external research as well. I am a beginner and so I did struggle quite a bit.

By Vijayarangan P

Aug 23, 2020

I get a headache in doing this course.

Basically an online course must need to contain more video lectures and some readings but hear it's totally opposite.

If there is an option to update the course mean try to include more video lectures.

By Pritistha S

Jun 25, 2020

would have been better if the enumerated type and struct would have been explained better. Also videos on binary, decimal, hex and octal would have been better.

By Elizabeth F

Feb 17, 2020

No help at point of questions. No option but to re-take modules which are no help if you have taken them multiple times and still don't know the answer.

By SIDDHARTH S

Feb 14, 2021

courses must be in different languages as well other than english , like English+Hindi or in Hindi as it takes less time to understand and learn.

By Sayam K

Oct 20, 2020

More videos should be there instead of the written content. Less clarity of me understanding your courses videos.

By Ami J

Jun 25, 2020

the course could be made giving less complex examples.explanation part was very poor.

By Nai Z M

Jun 5, 2020

Need more videos instead of paragraphs of texts. Very difficult to digest the words.