Chevron Left
Back to Programming Languages, Part A

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Programming Languages, Part A by University of Washington

4.9
stars
1,459 ratings
430 reviews

About the Course

This course is an introduction to the basic concepts of programming languages, with a strong emphasis on functional programming. The course uses the languages ML, Racket, and Ruby as vehicles for teaching the concepts, but the real intent is to teach enough about how any language “fits together” to make you more effective programming in any language -- and in learning new ones. This course is neither particularly theoretical nor just about programming specifics -- it will give you a framework for understanding how to use language constructs effectively and how to design correct and elegant programs. By using different languages, you will learn to think more deeply than in terms of the particular syntax of one language. The emphasis on functional programming is essential for learning how to write robust, reusable, composable, and elegant programs. Indeed, many of the most important ideas in modern languages have their roots in functional programming. Get ready to learn a fresh and beautiful way to look at software and how to have fun building it. The course assumes some prior experience with programming, as described in more detail in the first module. The course is divided into three Coursera courses: Part A, Part B, and Part C. As explained in more detail in the first module of Part A, the overall course is a substantial amount of challenging material, so the three-part format provides two intermediate milestones and opportunities for a pause before continuing. The three parts are designed to be completed in order and set up to motivate you to continue through to the end of Part C. The three parts are not quite equal in length: Part A is almost as substantial as Part B and Part C combined. Week 1 of Part A has a more detailed list of topics for all three parts of the course, but it is expected that most course participants will not (yet!) know what all these topics mean....

Top reviews

YZ
Dec 2, 2016

I'm just a beginner for CS or SE classes, and find this course really concise and challenging. It opens a door for me to get deeper into programming language. No wonder it got so high average score.

AL
Mar 21, 2017

Great course!\n\nI think this course has just the right balance of theoretical background, formal definitions, and actual examples to make "just right".\n\nThanks Dan, and everybody else involved!

Filter by:

151 - 175 of 425 Reviews for Programming Languages, Part A

By Aaron

Oct 30, 2017

Wonderful course. Highly recommend for anyone who hasn't made any study of programming languages before, whether you are a student or professional.

By Hristo I

Oct 16, 2020

The course is actually very useful and well structured. Don't be scared by the use of a programming language (Standard ML) that might seem obscure.

By Tejas P B

Sep 10, 2017

Exceptional experience, learnt a lot! Will recommend whole heartedly to others. I am onto part B now! Excited to see how racket contrasts with ML.

By Kevin S

Jan 12, 2021

Really clear teaching and well prepared material. In this part the course focuses on functional programming, which is really elegant and consice.

By Nitin L

Apr 5, 2017

I really appreciate the content of this course and will like to thank prof. Grossman and Coursera team for providing me an opportunity to learn.

By Alexei B

Feb 26, 2018

excellent, i couldn`t take it few years ago - due to my bad english, today i really enjoy it.

Many things that seemed difficult for me are not.

By Oladapo F

May 14, 2017

Great course for whoever is interested in understanding more about how programming languages works (statically typed in part A of the course)

By Tang H T

Jan 6, 2019

Very good instructor, challenging but doable homework for week 3 and 4. Exam is too easy though. I would like the exam to be more difficult.

By Paul G

Jul 9, 2020

Great course. Lectures are clear and homework really helps understand the abstract concepts. Thank you for making this available for free!

By Feiyu L

Apr 14, 2018

such a clear introduction to Functional Programing. My fear of 'academic functional style' is totally gone, and really like recursion now.

By Anthony J

Jul 17, 2020

Instructor is clear and interesting. Course material builds in a way that helps you learn it. Great class, thanks for making it online.

By Oskar M G A

May 18, 2019

Great course, if you want to learn the foundations of functional programming in a purely functional language this is the course for you!

By ChristopherKing

Nov 10, 2017

This is absolutely a challenge course for those people who are not familiar with functional programming. Nice course material and teach.

By Jesse T

Nov 25, 2017

Covers essential functional idioms, and explores ways of computation different than the usual imperative, object-oriented patterns.

By Yu Z

Jul 29, 2017

This course is fantastic. Taking this course is a very rewarding experience. A great investment for sure! Thank Dan and his team!

By gaapill

Sep 28, 2020

Thank you, professor Dan Grossman!

I've learned a lot amoung this course, and had inspired a lot from those concepts you taught.

By Mikhail D

Dec 29, 2019

One of my favourite courses on Coursera, first took it in 2013 and had much fun taking it again in 2019 to refresh my knowledge

By Philip S S

Jan 2, 2017

This course is strongly recommended for those who wants to learn functional programming and programming languages in general.

By Dennis E H

Sep 5, 2017

The lectures in this course are extraordinary, especially the ones that explain motivations and how the material was chosen.

By dynasty919

Feb 21, 2018

i can't believe i have learnt so much about PL. prof. Dan knows exactly what kind of concept a beginner should grasp most.

By ZHENG Z

Jun 4, 2020

Great course! It taught me how to think in a functional way, as well as some funtamental truth about programming. Thanks!

By Zhong X 钟

Oct 8, 2016

Very rewarding, worth taking. It enhanced my understanding of what is programming. I learned some principles of coding.

By John S

Aug 17, 2016

Great quality teaching and challenging homework. Much appreciated. Hoping for the Part B, and C to be on coursera soon.

By Randy H

Oct 5, 2016

Excellent instruction. I feel my programming ninja powers have definitely increased. Can't wait to do parts B and C.

By 蔡嘉文

Sep 20, 2019

good introduction to functional programming . sml is a fun language with type checking system and beautiful syntax.