Chevron Left
Back to Project Initiation: Starting a Successful Project

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Project Initiation: Starting a Successful Project by Google

4.8
stars
13,764 ratings

About the Course

This is the second course in the Google Project Management Certificate program. This course will show you how to set a project up for success in the first phase of the project life cycle: the project initiation phase. In exploring the key components of this phase, you’ll learn how to define and manage project goals, deliverables, scope, and success criteria. You’ll discover how to use tools and templates like stakeholder analysis grids and project charters to help you set project expectations and communicate roles and responsibilities. Current Google project managers will continue to instruct and provide you with hands-on approaches for accomplishing these tasks while showing you the best project management tools and resources for the job at hand. Learners who complete this program should be equipped to apply for introductory-level jobs as project managers. No previous experience is necessary. By the end of this course, you will be able to: - Understand the significance of the project initiation phase of the project life cycle. - Describe the key components of the project initiation phase. - Determine a project’s benefits and costs. - Define and create measurable project goals and deliverables. - Define project scope and differentiate among tasks that are in-scope and out-of-scope. - Understand how to manage scope creep to avoid impacting project goals. - Define and measure a project’s success criteria. - Complete a stakeholder analysis and explain its significance. - Utilize RACI charts to define and communicate project team member responsibilities. - Understand the key components of project charters and develop a project charter for project initiation. - Evaluate various project management tools to meet project needs....

Top reviews

MG

Feb 7, 2022

everything is excellent. but i am facing the problem that says 'upgrade to submit' when i traied to submit the peer graded assignment. and it is been 3 weeks i stucked on this module. please help me.

AA

Feb 14, 2022

This has been a good learning experience. I now know the different project management tools available. I have a good understanding of project initiation and how to determine the success of a project.

Filter by:

151 - 175 of 3,037 Reviews for Project Initiation: Starting a Successful Project

By Berfan H

Mar 1, 2022

I really liked how this course talks about disabilities in a refreshing manner, and tries to teach future managers talent management: it's okay that different employees are motivated differently, that employees can be introverted or extraverted, that disabilities can be invisible, that skills can be gained.

By nagesh m

Oct 2, 2022

Very good step-by-step concepts explained about influence of stakeholders, stakeholder analysis and how to manage them. Very well explained on RACI chart and Project charter when and how to use. This course details on how to set SMART goals. Hands on approach is very nice to understand the topic clearly.

By Christine M

Mar 30, 2021

I have learnt so much about project management. The learning format is perfect with the real life example and the combination of videos and reading. The presenter is extremely upbeat and makes it easy to follow. The information is very detailed and gives me such a more in-depth view of project management.

By Funda T ( T

Apr 17, 2022

It was excellent course that I feel so luck to have opportunity to this course, I wish we had more hands on experience on the project management tools. Learning how to conceptualize projects in Asana, Smartsheet, ClickUp, and other similar tools would be a fantastic value as feedback inside the course.

By Luigi F

Jun 11, 2022

This course provides you with the framework you need to perform the initiation phase of a project in a structured and systematic way. The content is excellent and comes in various formats, which makes the course more engaging. Besides the exercises are well designed to help you validate your learning.

By S J

May 20, 2022

I really enjoyed this course. I loved the break down of all the steps needed to kick off a project. I also appreciated how the course talked about different tools, managing resources, and documentation. this is my second Google Certificate program, and I will be happy to take more of their courses.

By Nikolaos K

Aug 22, 2022

This chapter was really great and informative. I was an in-depth look in starting a new project, introduction and use o RACI charts and a good amount of working tools (management, collaboration etc).

Everyone who begin the introduction the Foundations of Project Management needs to continue with this.

By Darwin P

Dec 4, 2021

It was a bit more involved than the first course but, I was surprised by how much retention I achieved! Some more examples of the topics in their typical use that I could print would be nice to have. I wish that all the reading materials were in an easily printable and downloadable format like PDF.

By Angela F

Jul 5, 2022

Clearly laid out modules led by engaging instructors make this an excellent course. The coursework covers a broad amount of information and includes additional resources for students to dive deeper. I'm excited to go on to the next course in the Google Project Management: Professional Certificate!

By Vinicio P

Oct 28, 2021

Excellent course. I learned more about the types of tools available to you, including work management and scheduling software, productivity tools, and collaboration tools. As a project manager, it is important to be open to implementing new tools that can be beneficial to the outcome of a project.

By Daniel B S S

Dec 15, 2022

This course is really useful for me as a beginner in Project Management. I learned the steps of initiating a project. Like defining project goals, team roles, analyzing stakeholders, and choosing the right tools for my project team! Really grateful for having the opportunity to learn this course!

By Isaac C

Jul 18, 2022

The course is great, but the learner could be very frustrated by the peer-grading assignment. Some graders just assigned zeros to all items and provided no feedback at all; to a point, I wonder if the grader fully understands English. I had to resubmit again to get rid of the inresponsible grade.

By Samantha D

Apr 25, 2022

This course was thorough and allowed lots of opportunities to practice the concepts demonstrated. I liked having the opportunity to review the work of my peers as well as having my work reviewed by them. It allowed me to see that I was on the right track and also see areas where I could improve.

By Jose S

Sep 28, 2021

Excellent course, very friendly, its content quite complete and easy to understand, the practical exercises complete the training a lot. The instructions are all excellent. Congratulations, it is perceived that they are excellent professionals and are 100% identified and committed to the company

By Reuben C

Apr 1, 2022

Excellent course...!!

I really enjoyed it, despite having more than five years experience as Project Manager, this course gave me the opportunity, not just to fill the gaps, but to look at project management from totally different perspectives as presented in the course.

Thank you Google.

By Dumitru E

Feb 19, 2022

This couse was amazing. I liked this course because the theoretical notions had a vast portfolio of examples and for me learning by example was important, also the multitude of quiz tests contributed enormously to the solidification of the knowledge acquired through the course. Great job!

By Edgars P

Feb 14, 2022

Very well structured course with clear strategic approach, by linking it's content to the next courses under the Project Management Certificate program. Provides very good explanation about how to initiate a project successfully. The course is delivered in an interactive and engaging way.

By Prabhat S

Dec 16, 2022

This course is fantastic and top-notch. I understood well just because everything has been explained so well that there was no doubt while learning the concept. Guided projects are also very much helpful to understand the concept in detail. Thank you so much dear Instructor and Coursera.

By parita w

Nov 27, 2022

This course is really incredible . special thanks to the course instructor her style of explanation is ingenious. the course covers all the necessary info for project initiation. i would like to leave one suggestion to the course developer to add one tutorial over work management tools.

By MEHUL V P

Dec 30, 2022

Overall I really like this class because all lectures, assignments, and tests are straight forward. I thought it was well planned and layed out, easy for me to follow. I believe that I have more knowledge about ocean, weather, and marine lives and hopefully, I can use them in real life.

By Mehmet H Ç

May 1, 2021

Google keeps giving their best on this Project Management Program with the second course. I like their easy and notable way of presenting the application behind this topics. I am sure to become a young "expert" in Project Management with gaining the right skills through this course! :)

By Mostafa B

Mar 15, 2022

its great on a professional level even for experienced experts that refreshes fundementals and definitions and explains the methods in an exceelent way

really made a differece in seeing things in an improved ways and of course headhunters are more eager to hire me now and more notices

By Chin L H

Oct 3, 2022

Did not know until I have taken this module that initiation of a project is not simple. There are very important steps like stakeholder analysis, setting SMART goals, in-scope & out-of-scope, drawing up a project charter etc & emphasis on documentation is very good practical advice.

By Temitope K

Aug 18, 2022

This is a highly recommended course. Teaches and trains you on real life project management application. Gives you all the coaching, tools, templates and resources to succeed on the job. After this course, you will feel you have indeed gathered real life experience. Totally worth it!

By Daniela D N

Jun 13, 2021

I am in love with this Certificate Program, offered by Google and Coursera! It is very well planned and organised, packed with relevant content and information. It is also very much didactic, full of practical real life examples and exercises, which means: great teaching methodology.