Chevron Left
Back to Project Management: The Basics for Success

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Project Management: The Basics for Success by University of California, Irvine

4.6
stars
10,919 ratings

About the Course

This course combines the essential elements of Project Management and Team Leadership into one course. Through class engagement and reflection, you will acquire further understanding of the responsibilities of leadership and become better prepared to apply this knowledge to the project environment. Upon completing this course, you will be able to: 1. Learn about the role of high performance teams and leadership in project management 2. Learn about the tools and techniques for developing and strengthening high performance teams and team members 3. Learn about the stages in project cycle 4. Apply best practices to develop competencies and skills in planning and controlling projects to ensure successful outcomes 5. Learn how to monitor project activities and assess progress 6. Learn to communicate proficiently to report project status and performance to stakeholders and contribute to organizational knowledge base...

Top reviews

JA

Invalid date

Highly educative course for anyone seeking basic foundational expertise and knowledge in Project Management. The Instructor truly made the course interesting with his deep level of knowledge.

CW

Invalid date

Super overview of project management from start to finish and how to deliver successful project on time, on budget, and with desired quality along with ways to deal with technical and member issues a

Filter by:

76 - 100 of 2,095 Reviews for Project Management: The Basics for Success

By Glenn M G

Mar 5, 2020

Excellent as a methodology to study the fundamentals online. We ordinarily use differing project management tools in an adhoc fashion, this course helps identify and prioritize the essential elements of managing any project thereby adding value in our project management skills.

By Sarath K

Oct 19, 2016

“The method of teaching was fantastic. The assignments were well made and portioned appropriately. The instructor was knowledgeable. The class material was splendid and made the class enjoyable overall. I would strongly recommend this instructor & Course to any other student.”

By Elena L

Mar 6, 2016

Thank you very much for the great course! Very useful information not only in the PM area, but also in the management in general. Also very good flexible approach with moving deadlines, as sometimes it is very difficult to find time among busy schedule to listen to the course.

By Cynthia S

Aug 14, 2023

The curriculum and the professor provided clear and concise instruction on a topic I am starting to use in my job. I found it to be very helpful in managing the internal audits I conduct. I liked it enough to take other courses in this series, which I hadn't planned to do.

By Asia d H

Nov 13, 2020

during the causer i do not meet any obstacles, and course in happiness and interested I

finished to project management, and i learned planning WBS and planning human resource.

Two key factors in determine the human resource needs for the project are

work or effort

duration.

By Judith M

May 11, 2020

I truly enjoyed learning about this course, which not only applies to Project management at work but in business and life, in general. The instructor was also great and knowledgeable. I will recommend this course to anyone interested in taking their career to a higher level.

By Bilal H

Mar 7, 2020

I am very glad that I have taken this course and I also wanted to say thanks to the whole team and specially to Rob Stone.

The content of the course is excellent, the pace was good and I didn't face any difficulty understanding the concepts presented in the course.

Thumbs up!

By Khaled A

May 19, 2020

A very well-structured course with great delivery by the instructor. The amount and value of information offered in this course are immense. Highly recommend it for anyone who is looking to go over the basics of project management specifically or just management in general

By Laura C

Jul 21, 2017

This course is very helpful and educational. If I could change one things it would be week 4. That week is way to long. In my opinion, it should be broken down into 2 separate weeks. Other than that, the course is great. I would definitely recommend this course to others!

By Jennifer R

Nov 30, 2016

I really liked this course and it covered a range of topics for Project Success and basic principles. The instructor did an excellent job making the concepts down to earth and with real world applicable scenarios. It helped me identify the concept and process it better.

By Tom R

Jun 28, 2020

This was an excellent overview of the project management process. The instructor used relevant real world examples to illustrate points and provide additional information. I would recommend this course for someone looking for a great introduction into project management.

By Arunabh B

May 11, 2018

Great in-depth course on the fundamental of the Project Management course. Would definitely recommend anyone starting off with the PM role to go through this course. Obviously, being a good project manager is an ongoing-process, and requires time, effort and experience!

By Umair A

Jul 2, 2017

This course helped me to understand the basics of Project Management and focuses on why the knowledge of Project Management helps in getting projects done efficiently, and economically ! Its a definite must for anyone trying to tap into the project management realm !!

By Huelvedra F

Nov 24, 2016

Excelente curso, parabéns a todos os envolvidos. Parabéns ao professor que muita sabedoria soube explanar um conteúdo tão enriquecedor.

Excellent course, congratulations to all involved. Congratulations to the teacher who knew how to explain such enriching content.

By Hermelinda P

Jan 12, 2017

The course was an interesting experience for me because I adquired primary and new knowledg about the projects, its principles and the correct way to approach them from the beginning.

The teacher, the material, the pace at which the course was conducted were great

By Bilal A K

Jul 20, 2021

As a university Student, I feel this course is highly helpful for the university project and final Assignments. This course enables and develop skills to understand the dynamics of team development stages. After the learnings, I began to make effective decisions.

By Hadrian H

Sep 28, 2019

I enjoyed the course very much. It has a lot of information I need for my next projects. The challenge will be to use these items in practical life. However, I think with the given introdcution it is possible. Many thanks to Rob Stone for the good performance.

By Alla S

Jul 19, 2016

Very well developed and structured course. Thank you. I was taking other courses related to PM but this one is the best due to its reliance on PMI requirements and definitions. This course helped me a lot during my preparation on obtaining a PM certification.

By Mohammed A F

Jul 23, 2017

Learned essential things towards managing a project. I could visualize each and every thing the instructor was telling, as I have some experience in working with different teams and various projects. Verily, the course title suits the content of it.

By Dante L C C

Jan 31, 2016

Great course, presented in a clear an professional manner. Good examples and pointing to proper additional material.

I just do not understand why the work load in the last week is very large compared to the three previous weeks. Still, I enjoyed it.

By Md A R K

Jul 12, 2022

This beginner course in project management helps to understand the core study in the project management areas. I learned how a project management process fulfills stakeholders' demands to the team to the particular projects that achieved the goals.

By gizem g

Nov 20, 2020

Bu kurs ileriki hayatımda seçeçeğim bölüm ile ilgili ve bende bu konuda eğitim almak istedim . Böyle değerler profösörden ve değerli bir okuldan sertifika aldıgım için çok mutluyum. bana çok şey kattığını düşünüyorum. hersey için teşekkür ederim.

By Sabina D

Jun 18, 2020

Good insightful course with great content and well-thought-out presentation by instructor Rob Stone. it very useful for everyone at all levels of organization for a successful project or task management and execution. Thank you Rob, UCI & Coursera!

By Chukwuemeka O

Nov 17, 2016

I indeed acquired a detailed set of structured knowledge from a very practical perspective, this has given me a different perception and better approach to translate actions and activities around me especially in projects.

Special thanks to Coursera

By Maria G

May 17, 2020

I can apply the knowledge from this course not only in my Professional life but also in my daily activities like planning family activities or house projects. Also, the course gives a clear understanding of what Project Management is really about.