Chevron Left
Back to Project Management: The Basics for Success

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Project Management: The Basics for Success by University of California, Irvine

4.6
stars
7,363 ratings
1,479 reviews

About the Course

This course combines the essential elements of Project Management and Team Leadership into one course. Through class engagement and reflection, you will acquire further understanding of the responsibilities of leadership and become better prepared to apply this knowledge to the project environment. Upon completing this course, you will be able to: 1. Learn about the role of high performance teams and leadership in project management 2. Learn about the tools and techniques for developing and strengthening high performance teams and team members 3. Learn about the stages in project cycle 4. Apply best practices to develop competencies and skills in planning and controlling projects to ensure successful outcomes 5. Learn how to monitor project activities and assess progress 6. Learn to communicate proficiently to report project status and performance to stakeholders and contribute to organizational knowledge base...

Top reviews

A

May 20, 2020

Thank you to Coursera for such a great platform to improve our skills and literacy.The learning environment offered here is completely a learn at your own pace environment,making it flexible to learn.

JG

Mar 28, 2018

Very informative and interesting. Lots of useful tools. What I liked in this course was that there were lots of examples given on how to act when something does not go as planned or if issues arrise.

Filter by:

1026 - 1050 of 1,460 Reviews for Project Management: The Basics for Success

By Edward H J

Oct 13, 2015

G

By LYSINDER A B

May 27, 2020

As I enroll in this course, I have little information or idea about project management. Three years ago, I became one of the project leaders of one of the research and development projects of the government. Past forward, there's a lot of question that came to my mind at the end of the project because, although we deliver it as what the S, Q, C, T but there's still a portion of longingness of what is project management all about (the whole concept). Because of this it gives me more confidence to work on a project again and the knowledge and strategies that this course taught me are boundless. Thank you so much!

By Ajay S

Apr 17, 2016

I have just finished the course. The course professor has used real life cases to link up with the course material which helps students to connect well with the concepts being used. Very useful for those who are getting into project management but have not done any specific certification around project management.

In fact, I would recommend this course to all those getting into jobs as a bit of project managements does impact all of us even if we are not driving any project. Knowledge about project managements basics will enable us to contribute better towards successful completion of projects.

By Muhammad A Z

May 04, 2020

This is the compilation of my third course on coursera, and second on Project Management. I can tell by experience that Tutor have a lot a knowledge in the subject. I learned a lot from the course, But I don't support his way of teaching. Yes, he has virtual audience but he doesn't seem to engage the student. I feel like he is just showering knowledge on the audience. That works really good if audience/students have background knowledge, but one such as me, who don't have much previous knowledge in the subject, teaching method can be a little difficult to adopt.

By Pururaj S S

Aug 18, 2015

The basics and overview of project planning and management has been highlighted properly. It helped me get a clearer perspective on how things are being planned and what methodologies are in use at present times. I would love to attend another program on similar lines though I wish next time the cousrse is more rigorous and detailed. Small projects based on the application of some planning software would really add more value to this offereing by the University iof California, Irvine.

Thank you Professor Rob Stone

By Nicole S

May 14, 2016

This course gives a concise intro to the basics of project management, largely based on PMI PMBOK guide. The course is useful to get acquainted with or refresh knowledge on project management principles. It would be nice if auditing students could also do the quizzes (even if without marks) to self-check and complete the course. As is, I was unable to find a way to "complete" in a way that would move the course from enrolled to completed on my profile.

By Manon D

May 26, 2020

This course would need to be modernised to be more engaging and interactive. I did appreciate the different practical examples given though, and found Weeks 3 & 4 the most useful, especially the advice on dealing with difficult people.

Weeks 1 & 2 could be combined and shortened, and a WBS exercise could be proposed to the student for practice.

Overall 4 stars as I learned something new, the course was well organised and basics are indeed laid out.

By Ann M H

Aug 29, 2016

This was a difficult course for me. I don't have a background in a field that required me to have been involved in projects of the scope that was commonly discussed. I will definitely be reviewing what I learned and look into the resources in more detail. I do think that many of the community service projects that I am often involved in will benefit from a bit more planning and team management. This will give me a solid foundation to work from.

By Lawrence G

Jan 01, 2018

Good course overall, the knowledge presented was useful and I can see myself applying it to work situations where I am part of a project team rather than a project leader. The only criticism I could give would be that the delivery of the course was very corporate in nature. With a little bit more of an energetic delivery (maybe the lecturer diagramming concepts on a whiteboard) I'd have given this course a full five stars.

By Nguyen M C

Dec 03, 2015

Thanks University of California - Irvine to create a great program with a lot of necessary knowledge in project management. But I wish that I will can reach and have more in-depth knowledge related to project manager. But I think that when we get and can apply it to my jobs in nature will be it better than. Thank Profession Rob Stone very much.

Minh Cuong ( a student come from Viet Nam)

By Kristen D G

Nov 20, 2019

Clear and comprehensive overview of project management. This course gave me a foundation in project management vocabulary and techniques which I now feel I can build on with my own research and reading. However, there were no practice assignments. I would have liked some assignments on applying the information from the lectures, such as making my own WBS or stakeholder analysis.

By Michelle L P

Oct 31, 2015

Great beginner course for someone that knows nothing about business. I took the course because it has been years since I've been in college and I'm was looking for something to help me remember how to study for going back for my MBA. Great outline, easy to follow, wonderful professor! Highly recommend but would look somewhere else if you are looking for a challenge.

By Marta C

Aug 09, 2020

Overall I found this a very informative course, especially for someone who might act as a project manager at some point in their career but to whom project management is not their profession. I believe it would be benign if the topics were better distributed through the weeks. Weeks 1 to 3 take up a lot less time than week 4, so be prepared for that.

By Andrey L

Sep 11, 2015

Hi. Thanks for the course - it's well structured and explained by professor Rob Stone, but there is one issue I faced - I've created a ticket for this -https://learner.coursera.help/hc/en-us/community/posts/205772865-How-can-I-open-the-Discussions-section-

Please have a look and take action if possible to make the course fantastic :)

By Vassiliki K

Oct 06, 2016

A good overall module with interesting Information that can be applied to every-day work routine. Also the PDFs that accompany each week's module are very good and you can prin out and keep them for future reference. If I have to make a negative comment is that I have found the tests too easy to pass, however, the important is that w

By Sk. M I I

Apr 30, 2020

This is a great experience to learn from Rob Stone, the course teacher. I like the way in which he gives practical examples related to the topic. After completing this project I'm much more confident than the past in case of project handling. In a nutshell, there was much information to enrich your personal skill awesomely.

By Sneha A

Oct 26, 2015

Course was great for helping me understand the various elements of the project I'm currently involved in. I do think the course could benefit from providing handouts that elaborate on what the instructor says and for the instructor to elaborate a bit more (he mostly seems to read or skim through slides...).

By Juanita G

Sep 24, 2018

I have a better appreciation of what Project management duties entailed. Before it was rubric and to me irrelevant to be constantly making documentation of our progress as the SME. With more knowledge there is clarity that explains the need to manage, control and plan the project for success.

By Yassin

Mar 25, 2019

Great course for those who don't have enough knowledge of project management. Great material and instructor. Simple, Fun ,And not boring at all. Highly recommended but you have to keep digging for additional material to enrich your knowledge and widen your understanding of project management.

By Rachelle S

Sep 06, 2015

Good material and strong overview of project management. The only improvement I'd suggest is the instructor needed to slow down the delivery of his presentations. His quickly moved through the slides at numerous points (especially with the clicker). Other than that, it was a good course.

By Tiffany F

Sep 18, 2015

Awesome, I've learn so much and understand more from this course. But the only problem; is that I cannot get verify certificates. Because my webcam not working and this course must have your photo taking to get the course certificates and no other option. that was disappointing .

By Muhammad A I

Apr 29, 2020

At the beginning the prof. wasn't really into it, but in the end, he started to be more active. One more thing is that the last lecture (Week 4.11)is repeated, it's the same recommended video from Youtube (Week 4.5) However, it's a great course, I really enjoyed learning from.

By Ankur B

Feb 19, 2018

This was an enjoyable experience going through the online course content which included lecture videos. The content was easy to understand and I could relate to situations with my work. This course will help structure my thought process which will help in making robust plans.

By Alan C

Feb 02, 2016

It has very good content, specially if you are looking for basic concepts, you can find those here, although it doesn't go deeply on them, gives you what you need to get started, it's a fast pace so you have to keep up, and use of side materials/web to complement the course.

By Eva K

Apr 07, 2020

I think the basics were touched upon. The division of the work was done well, and the professor was pretty engaging. I wish that there had been a bit more depth and a more clear overview of how the topics were divided at the very beginning of the course.