Chevron Left
Back to Project Management: The Basics for Success

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Project Management: The Basics for Success by University of California, Irvine

4.6
stars
7,425 ratings
1,490 reviews

About the Course

This course combines the essential elements of Project Management and Team Leadership into one course. Through class engagement and reflection, you will acquire further understanding of the responsibilities of leadership and become better prepared to apply this knowledge to the project environment. Upon completing this course, you will be able to: 1. Learn about the role of high performance teams and leadership in project management 2. Learn about the tools and techniques for developing and strengthening high performance teams and team members 3. Learn about the stages in project cycle 4. Apply best practices to develop competencies and skills in planning and controlling projects to ensure successful outcomes 5. Learn how to monitor project activities and assess progress 6. Learn to communicate proficiently to report project status and performance to stakeholders and contribute to organizational knowledge base...

Top reviews

A

May 20, 2020

Thank you to Coursera for such a great platform to improve our skills and literacy.The learning environment offered here is completely a learn at your own pace environment,making it flexible to learn.

CW

Nov 20, 2016

Super overview of project management from start to finish and how to deliver successful project on time, on budget, and with desired quality along with ways to deal with technical and member issues a

Filter by:

1076 - 1100 of 1,473 Reviews for Project Management: The Basics for Success

By Sameeran J

Dec 14, 2015

Course covers the basics and key terminologies related to PMP.

It will be useful to have a few numericals/assignments to calculate Duration/Time using different methods and the associated impact of cost.

By Ashish S

Feb 02, 2019

Stakeholder Analysis Matrix, tips on working with difficult people, and the motivating factors for team - these are some of the concepts in this course that gave me a new perspective/tool to do my work.

By Roberta C R

May 29, 2017

Por se tratar de um curso básico, achei que atende bem ao que se propõe.

Apenas acho que poderia haver um pouco mais de dinamismo nas aulas (slide mais dinâmicos), pois no final se torna cansativo.

By Luisa S

Aug 02, 2020

The course offers great basic tools for project management but I feel it should better distribute the weekly time for the course in the 4 weeks, week 4 takes way longer than the 3 previous weeks

By Arvid U

Oct 21, 2019

I liked it, although it sometimes felt quite fast paced and a little bit difficult to understand the information in due time. To mitigate this I think adding a week or so, could be beneficial...

By Zohair A S

Sep 26, 2015

The course is a nice introduction to those new to the field. However, if more examples are given through the way, and a good project is included in the course, I would have given it 5 stars.

By Oleg S

Aug 11, 2015

Constructive and well put together! And actually interesting to listen to. Though I wished it had at least one in-depth, detailed example on how to adjust the plan when things happen.

Thanks!

By Paawni

Apr 19, 2020

The course content was stellar, covering every minute details supported by real life examples. Each concept was explained in a simple manner. Quizes at the end of modules also gave clarity.

By Jeff S

Dec 13, 2015

Excellent beginner course as many tasks in life are mini projects...some not so mini... Time-bound, unique deliverables organized in a way to keep all stakeholders informed along the way.

By Rick Y

May 23, 2018

Instruction videos were clear and concise, concepts and diagrams were explained well, instructor/presenter did not "drone on" and supported information with anecdotes and other examples

By anitha

Mar 06, 2020

This course is very informative for a person who is new to project management. Just a suggestion if they could share some templates or tools if any. Samples will give understand better

By Aamir H K

Apr 05, 2020

The content was good specially how to deal with difficulty people. The trainer was talking bit quickly so a person from Asia have moderate English face problem in catching the teacher

By Tyas W P

Sep 23, 2018

This course has helped me understand the basics of Project Management, and I enjoyed the courses because Dr. Rob Stone provided example stories and case studies along the way. :)

By Simon B

Apr 07, 2020

As the title suggests this is a good introduction of the basic tools required to deliver a project, so good for those students starting out in there Project Management career.

By Simon B

Oct 08, 2015

Very good material, gave me a better understanding of not only project management but also how to join into a project and having the final goal and the larger picture in mind.

By Andre D

Sep 04, 2015

Well presented and informative.

it would have been nice to get a little more in depth training / information

Overall I am VERY satisfied and glad that I enrolled in this course

By Biswapati B

Dec 26, 2017

This is nice course to get quick overview on all aspects of project management. The professor explained the concepts simple enough and kept the discussions short and sweet.

By Caroline J

Jan 12, 2017

Very interesting course that gave me an excellent overview of the project management process. But, I would have liked more practice with a capstone project for example!

By aslam m

Mar 03, 2017

Very useful course if you translate in other languages then more people take benefit from the course.i would like to recommend this course must be translated in urdu

By Aravind R

Jan 30, 2018

Course material is very useful and simple, for anyone with some experience. The instructor can be a little more engaging, but hey, that's a very subjective opinion.

By Daniel G B

Feb 07, 2016

Me parece un curso muy bien elaborado y con un buen profesor, sin embargo, las dos últimas partes del Módulo 4 no contienen subtítulos en español (el resto sí).

By Alex K

Jan 14, 2019

good foundational course in the basics of project management. don't expect anything groundbreaking or innovative. there is no mention or discussion of Agile.

By Gabriele B

Jan 23, 2016

It has been a good overview about how to manage projects. At this level it could be useful also for personal projects and not necessarily for professional ones

By Veronica B

Feb 04, 2018

Nice course, a good introduction on project management. I really appreciated the delivery of the classes but a bit more structure and depth would be helpful

By Jaimee M

May 23, 2017

It was a little harder to find some of the answers in the Quizes as "What is MORE right?" was often what I was asking myself, but overall, very interesting.