Chevron Left
Back to Project Management: The Basics for Success

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Project Management: The Basics for Success by University of California, Irvine

4.6
stars
7,898 ratings
1,591 reviews

About the Course

This course combines the essential elements of Project Management and Team Leadership into one course. Through class engagement and reflection, you will acquire further understanding of the responsibilities of leadership and become better prepared to apply this knowledge to the project environment. Upon completing this course, you will be able to: 1. Learn about the role of high performance teams and leadership in project management 2. Learn about the tools and techniques for developing and strengthening high performance teams and team members 3. Learn about the stages in project cycle 4. Apply best practices to develop competencies and skills in planning and controlling projects to ensure successful outcomes 5. Learn how to monitor project activities and assess progress 6. Learn to communicate proficiently to report project status and performance to stakeholders and contribute to organizational knowledge base...

Top reviews

A

May 20, 2020

Thank you to Coursera for such a great platform to improve our skills and literacy.The learning environment offered here is completely a learn at your own pace environment,making it flexible to learn.

JG

Mar 28, 2018

Very informative and interesting. Lots of useful tools. What I liked in this course was that there were lots of examples given on how to act when something does not go as planned or if issues arrise.

Filter by:

1426 - 1450 of 1,568 Reviews for Project Management: The Basics for Success

By Sandeep K

Jul 25, 2019

Thanks!

By عادل م ا

Jul 20, 2019

كورسيرا

By Mohammed J I

Dec 25, 2019

thanks

By Luis F C Z

Jan 05, 2016

Muy Bu

By Md. S I

Jul 20, 2020

Great

By Rashwan M H

Apr 25, 2020

great

By Banmeet S

Mar 11, 2019

Great

By Jorge D

Jul 24, 2017

great

By Châu Q V

Mar 23, 2017

great

By Jorge L D G

Jan 29, 2017

Good!

By Bhongade S N

Aug 03, 2020

good

By Sudipta R

Jul 29, 2020

nice

By aithagoni m

Jul 28, 2020

GOOD

By Nidhisshree K

Jul 20, 2020

Good

By Yahya H

May 16, 2020

nice

By AMAN T

Apr 17, 2020

good

By A K N

May 07, 2018

good

By Trangntm6

Sep 28, 2016

Good

By chenshaojia

Feb 21, 2016

Good

By Andreas C

Sep 19, 2015

good

By Adrián F B P

Sep 03, 2020

N/A

By Emilly K S d S

Jan 20, 2020

bom

By Andrew K

Sep 28, 2015

Go

By Miguel A T

Mar 23, 2016

c

By Basil S

Sep 29, 2015

The course had many information provided and thanks for that. But there are some things I disliked and I guess by fixing them the course would become much much better.

1. The information refers to the PMBOK very often. That is good, as the PMBOK worth (must?) reading for any PM, but it is a bit difficult to understand anything while a teacher just retranslates something, from any book — especially not written by the one — with poor examples. The much better way for lecturer is to explain it by oneself, not by just staying there and repeating what I can read from my display.

2. I dislike fixating to any software. Maybe Microsoft Project is a good example, but I am sure not the only one at first, and as I am a Mac person who has personal Macbook and Mac Pro at work I am not going to use Windows only for one application. There are plenty of them these days, the same or just similar. The key is not a software itself but the methodology using in the one. The methodology is worth understanding, for sure.

3. Grammar mistakes and misprints. It looks a little strange that no one reviewed the materials: neither on Coursera (I am sure it is not so easy to review every course) nor the creators. I am highly puzzled about how it could be possible: if it is a free course for someone there are also many of those who are paying for the courses, and the courses also represent the University. How the University cannot find someone to check the mistakes before publications? (To be precise there are tiny mistakes related to headers and graphics which make the materials looks untidy).

4. Materials production is very poor in details, even for the key ones: typography, colours, thickness of the fonts and lines. There are no contrasts, no highlighting — that looks as a draft, not as a final course worth spending the time, effort and money. If there are no people available to help with producing the materials of a good quality you can ask people from trueowl inc. (the website is trueowl.com and the working email is trueowl@trueowl.com) to help with it. They — we, as I am member of the team — are highly concerned about educational materials and motivated to enhance the quality of the materials, even for free of charge.

Anyway I am glad I finished this course, as it gave me understanding which way should I continue with diving deeper into the theme.

Thank you!