Chevron Left
Back to Initiating and Planning Projects

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Initiating and Planning Projects by University of California, Irvine

4.7
stars
19,567 ratings
3,719 reviews

About the Course

The courses in the Introduction to Project Management Principles and Practices Specialization are a recommended precursor to UCI's Applied Project Management Certificate. Successful projects require careful upfront planning. In this course, you’ll learn the key roles and responsibilities of the project manager and project team. You’ll also learn to answer some key questions upfront to help you meet project objectives: What will this project accomplish? Why is this project important? Who benefits from this project? How will we plan for successful outcomes? Upon completing this course, you will be able to: 1. Identify the key characteristics of a project 2. Identify primary project constraints 3. Define the role and responsibilities of the project manager 4. Identify Project Organizational Structures 5. Understand the definition of a Project Stakeholder 6. Identify project stakeholders 7. Identify information needs of the project stakeholders 8. Define responsibility for managing stakeholder and controlling stakeholder engagement 9. Define the purpose of using a project charter 10. Summarize the key elements of a project plan 11. Identify common sources of conflict within a project environment 12. Describe the difference between authority and influence...
Highlights
foundational knowledge
(842 Reviews)
introductory course
(675 Reviews)

Top reviews

PD
Jan 28, 2020

Thank you to Coursera for such a great platform to improve our skills and literacy.The learning environment offered here is completely a learn at your own pace environment,making it flexible to learn.

DS
Nov 19, 2017

It was very helpful for me to understand what the project management is. I am just thinking about starting this new career path and i was feeling comfortable in this field during the learning process.

Filter by:

3026 - 3050 of 3,670 Reviews for Initiating and Planning Projects

By Francisco P B

Oct 9, 2016

No me gusta que el curso dependa de tencología flash, por que hace que la integración con sea mala y necesites estar cambiando entre plataformas constantemente.

By Arthur E F

Oct 19, 2017

Interesting course with a good business and scientific approach to Project Planning - the course lacks of real life examples, but again the content is clear.

By Bob M M

Aug 4, 2017

Serait intéressant de l'avoir en version française (même sous-titrée). Très intéressante, mais on ne s'assure pas du partage d'expériences entre étudiants.

By Mystica A

Jun 1, 2020

I love attending courses in coursera. The lecturers explain every details along with examples, real instances. This helps to get a good idea on the topic.

By Mauricio C F

Aug 6, 2019

Great information for beginners. Having more cases and practical examples to apply what we learned would be very interesting. Overall, a very good course.

By Mariel Q C

May 11, 2017

Buen curso, sería, bueno permitir abrir las unidades siguientes apenas se terminar las actuales así lo que avanzamos rápido no tenemos que esperar tanto.

By Peppino P

Feb 28, 2017

Nice basic course of project management, with basic to medium level information. Good introduction to the subject if you follow the whole specialization.

By KAGGA S

May 22, 2016

the course was nice and clear in all ways through to the end and the videos really give you a clearer picture of what is to be covered.

I was so grateful.

By Martin K

Jan 10, 2021

As basic introduction to Initiating and planning projects it is unreplaceable. I highly recommended, after this course you will know if it's your way.

By Moncef S

Oct 31, 2016

lack of organization, most of the course is readings, lack of case studies, acceptable in general, one of the rare courses in project management anyway

By hannah h

Oct 23, 2020

I wish the lectures were longer and more comprehensive and the reading was less of the bulk of the course. Still - learned a lot and love the lessons.

By Dan B

May 30, 2018

I would give it 5 stars but I had an issue with the final exam and had to take it 5 times before it stopped throwing errors. Otherwise a great course.

By Luisa F G H

Sep 25, 2020

The lesson are very helpful and the course is full of interesting knowledge at project planning, however the teacher is kind of passive to explain.

By Patricia S O

Apr 12, 2020

Good as a touchbase course on Project management. Too much time spend on conflicto resolution vs other skills Sucha as managing costs or deliveravles

By Aline P T G

Oct 6, 2019

The only comment I have is regarding the week 4. I've got confused sometimes. I read, read again but I think need more examples to understand better.

By Shaun C

Apr 17, 2020

the power point slide buttons are slightly off so you have to pay attention to when clicking the interactive lessons. Otherwise a great intro course

By Aren G

Jul 11, 2020

Overall, a great course backed up strongly be doing the optional background reading. Would recommend to new and experienced project managers alike.

By Amit Y

Apr 7, 2018

Loved the learning and tools described and clear definitions of the scenarios arising and their respective handling. Very helpful for any manager.

By Matthew K

Jun 1, 2016

Naturally, I found this section more difficult than the previous courses. I still suggested this to other coworkers, subordinates and supervisors.

By Hasan K

May 27, 2016

I like this coruse and I hope to allow downloading the lessons "PDF" for the students to get more benefits and to save these lessons as References

By Jose R L

May 16, 2016

Very interesting approach to the Project Manager world. Even if you have already some experience this course allows you to have a different view.

By marco f

Mar 25, 2021

Curso excelente con muy buena didáctica e integración del conocimiento. Sólo falta que actualicen sus diapositivas a la sexta edición del PMBOK.

By CHANDRA P

Apr 2, 2020

Easy to understand concepts on PROJECT MANAGEMENT. Best for all LEVEL of professionals who wish to enhance their knowledge on Project Management

By Bismark A A

Oct 16, 2020

A very interesting and challenging course. It has broaden my understanding of how to plan and initiate projects. Am glad I took this course.

By Guinel M G

Oct 7, 2020

While this course delivers satisfactorily the basics for project management, the content could be updated by including more expert interviews.