Chevron Left
Back to Initiating and Planning Projects

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Initiating and Planning Projects by University of California, Irvine

4.7
stars
20,266 ratings
3,835 reviews

About the Course

The courses in the Introduction to Project Management Principles and Practices Specialization are a recommended precursor to UCI's Applied Project Management Certificate. Successful projects require careful upfront planning. In this course, you’ll learn the key roles and responsibilities of the project manager and project team. You’ll also learn to answer some key questions upfront to help you meet project objectives: What will this project accomplish? Why is this project important? Who benefits from this project? How will we plan for successful outcomes? Upon completing this course, you will be able to: 1. Identify the key characteristics of a project 2. Identify primary project constraints 3. Define the role and responsibilities of the project manager 4. Identify Project Organizational Structures 5. Understand the definition of a Project Stakeholder 6. Identify project stakeholders 7. Identify information needs of the project stakeholders 8. Define responsibility for managing stakeholder and controlling stakeholder engagement 9. Define the purpose of using a project charter 10. Summarize the key elements of a project plan 11. Identify common sources of conflict within a project environment 12. Describe the difference between authority and influence...
Highlights
foundational knowledge
(842 Reviews)
introductory course
(675 Reviews)

Top reviews

OU
Mar 26, 2018

This is absolutely worth everything that I invested into this course. And I do not mind studying it all over again! I recommend it for anyone who wants to learn project management. Thank you Margaret.

BS
Jul 5, 2020

Excelent course! It gives you the principles of project management for the early phases, initianing and planning, it has very good dynamic and share examples, it's a good option if you're newbie in PM

Filter by:

3051 - 3075 of 3,799 Reviews for Initiating and Planning Projects

By Kondratiuk A O

Aug 6, 2020

this is a useful course, the only thing that is very upset is the lack of ability to translate text materials using Google Translate or other means, although the text can not be copied, which means that to master the course if you are not a native speaker is very difficult

By Rakibul H

Aug 22, 2020

It is a very good course who want to know about project management skills.

It is introductory do not expect to learn many things. The course is very easy and introductory level.

Before deciding a career or paid course doing this course can help in your decision making.

By Leung K W S

Nov 15, 2020

Overall, the course is enriching laying a good fundamental understanding of project management. Somewhere could be improved;

1) Provide a visual mapping understanding of the deliverables and the WBS.

2) Deliver the flash lesson to be in a form of lecture delivery.

By Mohammed J D

May 31, 2020

The course is very flexible and easy to understand. The instructor was amazing, but she should have contributed more to the course. The lessons are helpful, but the instructor excluded most of the topics from her lectures. The quizzes were easy but thoughtful.

By Roger T

Feb 6, 2016

Very good high-level intro to PMBOK-based project management. The UC Irvine classes are not particularly demanding, and won't by themselves prepare you to take the PMP exam, but they will give you a decent grounding in the terminology and principles involved.

By Erin R

Nov 6, 2017

I thought this was an excellent overview of project management. It didn't overwhelm with all the nuts and bolts of how to do this, but instead gave a general idea of what needs to be considered. I've already started using some of the tools presented at work.

By Carmina L

Feb 25, 2021

This course is very engaging and informative. I have learned a lot. The video lectures are so good it retains in your memory easily. One thing I would like to be improved is the difficulty of the quizzes. Overall this is a recommended course for beginners.

By Ieva M

Nov 3, 2020

It was very interesting to watch videos, I think they are very well-made. Though, it was a little bit boring to read "Flash lessons" and they took me much longer than indicated 10 min. In general, I am happy with the course, I learned a lot, THANK YOU!

By Rachel H

Oct 25, 2016

Excellent introduction to Project Management. This course give definition to the field and provides foundational context for any level of practice. I especially appreciate the clean visual presentations and valuable bonuses provided by UCIrvine.

By Yisy G

Oct 5, 2020

This course really covers the basics and the videos help organize and summarize a lot of the information. The readings and slides help provide even more information and they guide you to sites and other readings to learn even more on your own.

By Kendra O

Apr 10, 2020

The lectures of the course are concise and well thought out. The provided text gives a lot of detail and examples of the concepts. The real-world practice sections could really use some work, but otherwise, I really enjoyed this first Course.

By Nabanita S

Jan 27, 2021

Have enjoyed the lessons from the Professor so much .. readings appear less attractive compared to the sessions of hers. Would like to see more lessons and less readings. Could relate all the contents to real life projects and situations.

By karan V

Oct 2, 2020

The course was so easy to understand and the way it was taught was smoothing.

Audio frequency needs to be little more audible.

The quiz were so relevant to the questions studied under the course.

Thanks for this Course and this Opportunity.

By Hardik D

Feb 5, 2017

The Course is good for a beginner as it is easy to understand. The final test should be a little difficult. If possible the videos could be more elaborate.

Instead of slides, Videos could be added to make it more interactive to learn

By Donnaphat T

Jun 19, 2021

I think this course is a fundamental for person who want to study about planning to start a project. They teach about how to create a plan, mange you team, and understanding and solve problem that may occur in the real world work.

By Paul B

Sep 16, 2015

The course was very helpful for undersatnding basic concepts in project management, with interesting and insightful use cases. The pacing is excellent, lectures are just the right length to not get you overfluded with information.

By Meghan P

Jul 19, 2020

Great, high-level overview of the project management process. The slideshows were easy to access and provided condensed and highly relevant information. The platform was well used, and I appreciated the flexibility of the format.

By Meng G L

May 11, 2020

I loved that the course was short and sweet and provided a quick overview to PMP, PMBOK and how to initiate and plan projects. The practical tips provided by the instructor and panel discussion were very informative and useful.

By Randall G

Nov 30, 2017

Very good introductory course if you are new to Project Management. I also liked the fact that the course is designed to help you build your project management knowledge and provides a clear pathway for more advanced training

By Anne-Charlotte M

May 7, 2020

This course is definitely aimed mainly at professionals who want to work for big organisations, but the content was explained very clearly and the panelist videos are very interesting for aspiring project managers. Thank you!

By Alin C F

Jul 17, 2016

The course is a little bit hard to follow for the people who are just starting in the Project Management Area. It would be nice to have more video lessons and less additional material to consult.

I liked the weekly exercises.

By Yash V

Aug 9, 2018

The course offers an inside into Project Management and what are the various parameters that project managers need to do and how to make decision to run a project smoothly and efficiently with cross domain functionalities.

By Debora B

Sep 29, 2018

Very useful information and a good start. My suggestion would be to have more interesting videos. There are more creative ways of presenting information that helps the student stay engaged. Perhaps a less formal approach.

By Johann J C

Jun 18, 2020

A comprehensive introduction to good practices and approaches provided by the PMBOK framework, emphasizing the importance of criteria over methodologies, and establishing a fresh perspective towards conflict management.

By Thakur R V

May 4, 2020

the course is good and it gives basic ideas about planning project the video lecture are very easy to understand i like the last video where expert panelist shared their experience and the flash reading material is good