Chevron Left
Back to Initiating and Planning Projects

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Initiating and Planning Projects by University of California, Irvine

4.7
stars
19,532 ratings
3,713 reviews

About the Course

The courses in the Introduction to Project Management Principles and Practices Specialization are a recommended precursor to UCI's Applied Project Management Certificate. Successful projects require careful upfront planning. In this course, you’ll learn the key roles and responsibilities of the project manager and project team. You’ll also learn to answer some key questions upfront to help you meet project objectives: What will this project accomplish? Why is this project important? Who benefits from this project? How will we plan for successful outcomes? Upon completing this course, you will be able to: 1. Identify the key characteristics of a project 2. Identify primary project constraints 3. Define the role and responsibilities of the project manager 4. Identify Project Organizational Structures 5. Understand the definition of a Project Stakeholder 6. Identify project stakeholders 7. Identify information needs of the project stakeholders 8. Define responsibility for managing stakeholder and controlling stakeholder engagement 9. Define the purpose of using a project charter 10. Summarize the key elements of a project plan 11. Identify common sources of conflict within a project environment 12. Describe the difference between authority and influence...
Highlights
foundational knowledge
(842 Reviews)
introductory course
(675 Reviews)

Top reviews

PI
Nov 25, 2020

Por error en la encuesta presione very dissatisfied, pero en realidad estoy muy satisfecho y contento con el curso, aprendí bastante aunque me tomó un poco más de tiempo por cuestiones externas, 10/10

OU
Mar 26, 2018

This is absolutely worth everything that I invested into this course. And I do not mind studying it all over again! I recommend it for anyone who wants to learn project management. Thank you Margaret.

Filter by:

3126 - 3150 of 3,664 Reviews for Initiating and Planning Projects

By Mohamed I A

Jan 4, 2021

A very good well rounded course abut project management. i had learned some good information and skills.

By OJEWOYE S

Apr 18, 2020

it my first course on this platform and it was a great moment with the Tutor and the reading was lovely

By Ayanda N

Dec 12, 2017

Very informative, with precise information, important and practical bonus presentations are invaluable.

By ANURAG P

Jul 31, 2020

Many examples in this course helps a project manager to become accountable and responsible for his job

By Eduardo A P

Jun 25, 2020

The pillars to planning a project are well described, but I would like to have more practical sections

By nguyễn n p

Jun 17, 2020

it is ok for the first beginner like me, and this is suitable for busy people to learn the main ideas.

By محمد ا

Dec 7, 2017

It is a good start but not for engineers .if you are engineer i think you should go to the next course

By Eren Y

Jul 7, 2020

Short introductionary course with some pointed directions how you can follow further into this topic.

By Aafaq A

Jul 30, 2017

Its really a quick learning program in busy schedules and specially a perfect place for new learners.

By Emma S

Oct 30, 2020

Practical examples and great high level introduction to some key concepts around project management.

By kezang N

Oct 30, 2020

It was indeed an excellent classroom with more references to get us more understand about the topic.

By Jose L A C

Apr 17, 2020

Very good summary of the material. The only bad thing Is perhaps the long presentations for reading.

By Shivani J

Dec 1, 2016

Great course and very comprehensive . It comes with additional videos to help you understand better.

By Muhammad N

Dec 19, 2020

need to have some practical example that elaborate things clearly and understandable to every one .

By Daniel N

Jun 29, 2020

Loved it! It exposed me to a lot of insights into project management that I will surely put to use.

By Timothy P J

Sep 10, 2016

Great class. Very practical knowledge. I wish I would have taken this class earlier in my career.

By Catherine M

Apr 14, 2016

Presenter was easy to listen to and having the additional exercises helped understand the material.

By Christopher H

Oct 28, 2020

I greatly enjoyed the Week 6 panelists' comments. I hope to see similar content in future modules.

By Beatriz M

Oct 20, 2020

I enjoyed it! But it would have been nice to get feeback from exercises or have access to examples

By Arben K

Sep 13, 2016

The course is very good but they should not promote that much the PMBOK. It is extremely annoying.

By Ahmed M G A

Nov 11, 2019

Very simple and to the point and very suitable for understanding the basics of Project management

By Tyree K

Nov 15, 2016

A good intro to project management, does not dig deep on concepts, focuses more on familiarizing.

By Jitendra p

Nov 29, 2020

The course is designed in a very simple and lucid way which makes it easy to learn and complete.

By Fernando N

Oct 4, 2020

Very good course for introduction in project management. Maybe more real examples would be grat.

By Santosh R

Jun 14, 2020

This course really help me to understand different process involved in initial phase of project.