Chevron Left
Back to Initiating and Planning Projects

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Initiating and Planning Projects by University of California, Irvine

4.7
stars
19,936 ratings
3,792 reviews

About the Course

The courses in the Introduction to Project Management Principles and Practices Specialization are a recommended precursor to UCI's Applied Project Management Certificate. Successful projects require careful upfront planning. In this course, you’ll learn the key roles and responsibilities of the project manager and project team. You’ll also learn to answer some key questions upfront to help you meet project objectives: What will this project accomplish? Why is this project important? Who benefits from this project? How will we plan for successful outcomes? Upon completing this course, you will be able to: 1. Identify the key characteristics of a project 2. Identify primary project constraints 3. Define the role and responsibilities of the project manager 4. Identify Project Organizational Structures 5. Understand the definition of a Project Stakeholder 6. Identify project stakeholders 7. Identify information needs of the project stakeholders 8. Define responsibility for managing stakeholder and controlling stakeholder engagement 9. Define the purpose of using a project charter 10. Summarize the key elements of a project plan 11. Identify common sources of conflict within a project environment 12. Describe the difference between authority and influence...
Highlights
foundational knowledge
(842 Reviews)
introductory course
(675 Reviews)

Top reviews

MH
Jun 24, 2020

This course provides some practical situation which enriches my acknowledgment about being a responsible in any project and it also helps me to understand the planning process management proficiently!

OU
Mar 26, 2018

This is absolutely worth everything that I invested into this course. And I do not mind studying it all over again! I recommend it for anyone who wants to learn project management. Thank you Margaret.

Filter by:

3176 - 3200 of 3,756 Reviews for Initiating and Planning Projects

By Dr. C L

May 9, 2020

Very good and simple to understand, the instructor was very clear and uses simple example as well simple language

By clara p

Nov 2, 2020

Thank you, UCI and Coursera, for this!! Learned a lot and looking forward to using what I've learned in my work.

By Miguel L Y

Oct 7, 2020

They cover the basics of initiation really well. I just think that the lecture videos are delivered too quickly.

By Usman A

May 15, 2020

many things are useful in my professional life which i learn from this course but content of course is too short

By Wilma W

Aug 3, 2017

This course provide a overview of project management. Also it leads me to think the PM problem in real business.

By Refaat E

Feb 15, 2016

It is most usefull course here i have joined I got a lot of infomation from, with high Efficiency!

thanks at all!

By David R

Feb 13, 2021

Clear structured, but some modules too many reading materials (less suitable for people who don't like reading)

By fiorenzo c

Nov 18, 2018

Overall a good course, but I would have loved to have more realistic study cases. I loved the final interviews!

By Kisha

Apr 3, 2018

The resources are helpful and the Professor has a wonderful demeanor making it easy to understand the content.

By Joe B

Jul 11, 2016

Useful and interesting, but seemed a bit easy; I completed the whole course in only a few hours worth of work.

By Mafalda F

Sep 17, 2020

I appreciated the course I think that could have given more tools for project managers to apply their skills.

By Abdelhak B

Jul 8, 2020

multiple abstract cancepts in this course that need some concrete case study examples to apply and understand

By Sanjeet R

Jul 6, 2020

I liked the course very much but at the same time, I felt the need for more case studies and video lectures.

By Amro H

Apr 17, 2016

Great course and material! It kept me disciplined and following up on class requirements to ensure learning.

By Moeti M

Aug 18, 2020

Great course, would highly recommend. Only critique would be the lack of diversity in assessment questions.

By Ingrid A G C

Nov 1, 2020

Very informative and helped me review project management. I hope it will help me in the professional field

By Rodolfo E B

Mar 28, 2016

O curso é ótimo, a única que coisa que faz falta é não poder ver as lições em slides no dispositivo móvel.

By Cesar I

Mar 26, 2016

It is a very good course because introduce in a simple way to the main concepts used in project management

By Kellye G [ a D E D

Jul 12, 2021

This class was very informative and clear. It has greatly increased my knowledge regarding business mgmt.

By 17ec016 S R

Sep 14, 2020

Sarisfied with the course! But a download option for the flash material would enhance the course better.

By Yonique F

Aug 26, 2020

Very detailed and informative. Very easy to follow along with. Extremely satisfied and highly recommended

By Alejandra A M

Jun 1, 2020

Buen Curso, es una iniciación y acercamiento a los conceptos claves para ser un buen Gerente de Proyectos

By Yannick L M

Dec 27, 2018

Good presentation and lesson presentation.

The questions are thought well and the videos very interesting

By Sophie L

Oct 4, 2018

I would like to have more free learning material to down load for free since I could not afford the books

By Mohamed I A

Jan 4, 2021

A very good well rounded course abut project management. i had learned some good information and skills.