Chevron Left
Back to Initiating and Planning Projects

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Initiating and Planning Projects by University of California, Irvine

4.7
stars
21,665 ratings

About the Course

The courses in the Introduction to Project Management Principles and Practices Specialization are a recommended precursor to UCI's Applied Project Management Certificate. Successful projects require careful upfront planning. In this course, you’ll learn the key roles and responsibilities of the project manager and project team. You’ll also learn to answer some key questions upfront to help you meet project objectives: What will this project accomplish? Why is this project important? Who benefits from this project? How will we plan for successful outcomes? Upon completing this course, you will be able to: 1. Identify the key characteristics of a project 2. Identify primary project constraints 3. Define the role and responsibilities of the project manager 4. Identify Project Organizational Structures 5. Understand the definition of a Project Stakeholder 6. Identify project stakeholders 7. Identify information needs of the project stakeholders 8. Define responsibility for managing stakeholder and controlling stakeholder engagement 9. Define the purpose of using a project charter 10. Summarize the key elements of a project plan 11. Identify common sources of conflict within a project environment 12. Describe the difference between authority and influence...
Highlights
foundational knowledge

(842 Reviews)

introductory course

(675 Reviews)

Top reviews

DS

Nov 19, 2017

It was very helpful for me to understand what the project management is. I am just thinking about starting this new career path and i was feeling comfortable in this field during the learning process.

PD

Jan 28, 2020

Thank you to Coursera for such a great platform to improve our skills and literacy.The learning environment offered here is completely a learn at your own pace environment,making it flexible to learn.

Filter by:

3201 - 3225 of 4,025 Reviews for Initiating and Planning Projects

By FSC L 2

Dec 17, 2019

t

By FSC L 2

Dec 17, 2019

V

By Ramesh K

Nov 29, 2019

n

By Ayesha A A H

Nov 27, 2019

I

By Степанов Д В

May 7, 2019

/

By Kumaraguru R

May 18, 2018

F

By Nichole A

May 16, 2018

l

By Miguel H

Jan 17, 2017

.

By William C

Nov 26, 2016

I

By Moustapha N

Feb 16, 2016

g

By Abraham F K

Feb 9, 2016

A

By Lisa I

Dec 15, 2022

The course had very helpful information. The course content was very clear and easy to understand. It had information that could be helpful in any job whether running a project or trying to get through your daily chores. Having videos, reading & quizzes was good. The variety made it better than some other courses I have taken through other programs.

Going through the presentations & optional reading took me way longer than the estimated times. the presentations, when I was really paying attention and taking notes, took almost double the listed time, and the reading in the PMBOK took a long time. Each chapter was quite long 40-60 pages. I would like a few more real world examples. I am not in project management and not working in a department where there are projects that I can be involved in, so for me a couple more samples of projects would be appreciated. My supervisor suggested project management skills would be helpful to assist me in promoting up. I will be taking other courses in the series.

By Teruko O

Nov 27, 2020

I think it was a good introduction course for project planning in order to understand how project is successfully made with detailed processes. Since any work place despite type of occupation needs to plan at least few time projects. It was helpful. I just wished there could be more video lessons so for me as a working lady, I could listen more during lunch break or transportation time. But thank you very much.

By Tonya S

May 15, 2017

Since I have no other point of reference I gave this course 4 stars, but I really enjoyed it. I like the layout of each course and the content. The way it was presented made it easy to follow and understand and prepared you for the quiz and final at the end.

I'm excited to complete the other courses in the Project Management program, in hopes of advancing my career.

By Chetna T

May 25, 2022

I enjoyed this course very much, it was lengthy and had a breadth of knowledge that I can use in my journey as a PM. The speaker Margaret Meloni ,had a pleasant demeanor and was easy to follow. The one thing I enjoyed the most was the 3 panelist interview that was shared atthe end of this course, it was refreshing to hear valuable feedback from others in the field.

By Nancy R

Mar 8, 2020

While my job at a large software company is not a project management role per se, I could identify many of the concepts discussed in this lesson occurring right before my eyes each and every day. This course could be helpful to anyone who is starting their ascent into a supervisory/managerial role or those asked to take charge of any project, large or small.

By Thierry U

Nov 11, 2015

I just finished week 2 (of 6) and I feel like I am learning. I am taking this course because I am an entrepreneur and would like to acquire tools and techniques and explore processes that can help me manage my company's projects. Though we are a year in, this is a great guide for starting to rein in runaway work and control the processes of the organization.

By James D S

Jan 23, 2018

Course gives a fantastic overview of initiating and planning phases of project management for those with little or no formal training in project management. The video lectures are excellent: very clear and concise. The flash slides, however, are not as good although still helpful. Revising them would help (especially the ones for the lesson on scope).

By Ahmad K S

Nov 16, 2020

Thank you very much for providing updates and useful information throughout this course. It was really good and helpful for project managers on how to initiate and implement the program and how to address the conflict in a timely manner before it became big.

I have not received my certificates so far please arrange to send me it.

By Justin R

Jun 3, 2018

Course was good, but in the end I feel that I could have gained the same information if I just purchased the PMBOK Guide, and it would have been cheaper than taking this course. Also, the flash lessons were really annoying, I would much prefer a PDF or something similar, so that I could more easily go back and review content.

By Zeeshan N

Oct 1, 2020

I will give it 4 star not because lessons were bad or anything its just that there was more reading then visual/video explanations so thats what was down but over all it was a great experience. Learn allot and most of the this were new to me and was an amazing experience thanks UC irvine and thanks coresera.

By Athar A

Mar 23, 2018

The course was well designed and its pace was quite good in order to to grasp the basic and deep understanding. It also includes real life case studies creating different scenarios. At-last but not least it broaden my horizons and give more confidence in order to solve the real life business problems.

By Marcus M

May 12, 2018

Excellent introductory course to project mgmt. Could use some clarification/streamlining on the terminology vs test questions throughout. (subject matter does not discuss "scope"; but test does have questions surrounding it). Overall I did end up learning a lot and looking forward to the next course!!

By Emrah A

Mar 2, 2021

It is forcing on self-learning by reading assignments. Some more videos could be added in order to give deeper understanding to the learner instead of letting him/her to read more. Apart from that it is a very good course providing the basics and motivating the learner on the way to becoming a PM.

By PARASURAMAN R

Sep 30, 2019

Hi UCI Master's ,

In the way of Presenting the teaching is Amazing and its very easy to understand the language with classic case study to review the Subject . This is really useful for me to scale up my Project management Skills to next level of thinking . Thanks & Regards, Parasuraman. Ramasamy