Chevron Left
Back to Initiating and Planning Projects

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Initiating and Planning Projects by University of California, Irvine

4.7
stars
20,063 ratings
3,812 reviews

About the Course

The courses in the Introduction to Project Management Principles and Practices Specialization are a recommended precursor to UCI's Applied Project Management Certificate. Successful projects require careful upfront planning. In this course, you’ll learn the key roles and responsibilities of the project manager and project team. You’ll also learn to answer some key questions upfront to help you meet project objectives: What will this project accomplish? Why is this project important? Who benefits from this project? How will we plan for successful outcomes? Upon completing this course, you will be able to: 1. Identify the key characteristics of a project 2. Identify primary project constraints 3. Define the role and responsibilities of the project manager 4. Identify Project Organizational Structures 5. Understand the definition of a Project Stakeholder 6. Identify project stakeholders 7. Identify information needs of the project stakeholders 8. Define responsibility for managing stakeholder and controlling stakeholder engagement 9. Define the purpose of using a project charter 10. Summarize the key elements of a project plan 11. Identify common sources of conflict within a project environment 12. Describe the difference between authority and influence...
Highlights
foundational knowledge
(842 Reviews)
introductory course
(675 Reviews)

Top reviews

SY
Aug 30, 2020

The course is a very great asset to any aspiring project manager. You get to understand the fundamentals and essentials in any given project and the means to ameliorate conflicts amongst stakeholders.

BS
Jul 5, 2020

Excelent course! It gives you the principles of project management for the early phases, initianing and planning, it has very good dynamic and share examples, it's a good option if you're newbie in PM

Filter by:

3676 - 3700 of 3,777 Reviews for Initiating and Planning Projects

By Lauren N

Apr 6, 2016

I would have liked to had more relevant examples of how to apply the concepts learned to real life scenarios.

By Deniss �

Jan 20, 2021

project should be changed tosuch what explain strongly HOW to write for example DOCUMENTS and how to govern.

By Dikshant P

May 1, 2020

Course can be further detailed and digged dipper to understand the concepts explained in the video lectures.

By Tanvi S

May 4, 2020

The exercises should have examples which we can solve because as students we don't have many to work with.

By Jingzhou ( L

Mar 26, 2020

The pattern of the course was too repetitive. There was not detailed feedback on the questions of the quiz.

By Filipa M

Dec 19, 2019

It is a very good introduction to Project Management, but very simple. I would say only for very begginers.

By Hanna P

Jan 16, 2016

test questions far too easy

slide show lessons not well structured and too focussed on repetetive concepts

By Lorenzo M F F

Jun 17, 2020

The lessons were really informative, however, I wish the structure of the lessons were more organized

By Stephanie G

Apr 3, 2020

If you're right brained it's very hard to get and stay into. That said, the information was helpful.

By Aadib K

Jun 16, 2017

Video lectures contains too many definitions requiring too much to pause while viewing the video.

By Tathagat K

Sep 8, 2020

The conecepts are difficult to understand because of the difficult language used in the course.

By Rushi

Jul 3, 2020

It helps get your feet wet. Also, I like the professor. She's enthusiastic about the material.

By Anvi I

Jul 12, 2020

the assesments were not very helpful in testing your knowledge, you could add more examples.

By Shady E A D

Nov 18, 2015

Good way to refresh your knowledge about PMP .. but not qualifying as a professional course

By NOURAH A

Sep 28, 2020

It's just theoretical. We didn't get a change to apply the planning process and so on.

By Andrea R

Mar 7, 2016

Good course, easy to follow. Stayed away from complicated, deep-dives of information

By Elena N

Feb 11, 2017

Useful if you want to take PMP exam, beginner info about PM, but not very deep.

By Joyce M

Feb 6, 2017

Real live scenarios of running a project would add a great deal to the course.

By Megan M

May 22, 2018

I have no background in project management an even I found it too elementary.

By Sayed O

Dec 2, 2017

this is very described and detailed information and lessons, good examples.

By Sophia D

Jan 5, 2017

I did not enjoy this as much as the first course. Still interesting though!

By Andrew S

Sep 3, 2021

V​ery high level, wish there were more opportunities to practice skills

By Diego M

Jul 15, 2017

Very high level course, gives a few hints on the main concepts of PMI

By He G

Jun 29, 2016

The content is good but the quiz and final exam are way too easy...

By marilyn.tormey@rockwellcollins.com

Mar 23, 2016

The site is not very user friendly. The information is good though.