Chevron Left
Back to Initiating and Planning Projects

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Initiating and Planning Projects by University of California, Irvine

4.7
stars
18,604 ratings
3,549 reviews

About the Course

The courses in the Introduction to Project Management Principles and Practices Specialization are a recommended precursor to UCI's Applied Project Management Certificate. Successful projects require careful upfront planning. In this course, you’ll learn the key roles and responsibilities of the project manager and project team. You’ll also learn to answer some key questions upfront to help you meet project objectives: What will this project accomplish? Why is this project important? Who benefits from this project? How will we plan for successful outcomes? Upon completing this course, you will be able to: 1. Identify the key characteristics of a project 2. Identify primary project constraints 3. Define the role and responsibilities of the project manager 4. Identify Project Organizational Structures 5. Understand the definition of a Project Stakeholder 6. Identify project stakeholders 7. Identify information needs of the project stakeholders 8. Define responsibility for managing stakeholder and controlling stakeholder engagement 9. Define the purpose of using a project charter 10. Summarize the key elements of a project plan 11. Identify common sources of conflict within a project environment 12. Describe the difference between authority and influence...
Highlights
foundational knowledge
(842 Reviews)
introductory course
(675 Reviews)

Top reviews

PD
Jan 28, 2020

Thank you to Coursera for such a great platform to improve our skills and literacy.The learning environment offered here is completely a learn at your own pace environment,making it flexible to learn.

BS
Jul 5, 2020

Excelent course! It gives you the principles of project management for the early phases, initianing and planning, it has very good dynamic and share examples, it's a good option if you're newbie in PM

Filter by:

3401 - 3425 of 3,509 Reviews for Initiating and Planning Projects

By Masoud P

Oct 27, 2015

I think the discussion on initiating and planning projects could be improved to be a bit more comprehensive and It would be great if the lecture slides were downloadable.

By Chris W

Jun 6, 2016

A nice intro course into what is a project and who is involved in a project. Some of the lecture material did not match the paired video which led to some confusion.

By Pranav

May 9, 2020

The Modules which were in the form of HTML files should have been in the form of lectures which would make them more understandable than reading for oneself.

By Victory O

Nov 23, 2019

The course is quite alright. The videos were too long and had too many messages in just one video. Nevertheless, I learnt how to be a better project manager

By Benjamin C O

Jan 12, 2016

It's a good course, if you're looking to learn the basics of planning projects, and it doesn't take more than a day to complete, it's just a bit of reading.

By Simone K

Nov 18, 2015

Informative and clearly structured course. However, its content is aimed at professional project managers - useful but not exactly what I was looking for !

By Miguel A D F

Feb 25, 2020

I suggest update content media and incorporate material to create a toolkit for students. Benchmark vs. Linkedin learn PM course which I consider great.

By lucyNet

Oct 22, 2020

Good and diversified resources such as videos, lectures, etc.

Exams could be more challenging and the optional eventually readings included as e-books.

By Reeve C

Aug 19, 2020

Reading materials were detailed but can cause information overload if the presentations are to be presented alone without discussion of instructor

By Yoni D

May 6, 2017

Content is good and qualitative. But lack of real assignments beyond quiz, applying this knowledge to use case, and having peer reviews for it.

By Alice L

Mar 20, 2020

Please add exercise for a real-life project scenario that I can work on. This course has many pieces of information but no practice.

By Jonathan O

Apr 11, 2020

This is great. The manner in which so much details are compressed in a few lessons running over a short duration is impressive.

By Aghyad A

May 18, 2020

It is a good course for beginners. The exercises that include imagining could be changed with something else more proactive.

By Paolo L

Jun 8, 2016

Pros: Very clear explanations, useful slides for PMP preparation.

Cons: Very easy questions and exams. Not challenging at all

By Daniel R G

Jul 10, 2020

El material dado es claro y de alta calidad. Sin embargo los videos y los casos de estudio podrían ser mayores y mejores

By Muhammad F

Sep 6, 2020

This course enhanced my knowledge about initiating a project and how to plan it and get success in your projects

By I K

May 12, 2019

Although I understand it was a beginners course, it was far too easy. I finished the entire course in 3/4 hours.

By Ran F

Feb 5, 2018

Good course for novices. Not enough new stuff for people have some experience in projects, formally, informally.

By Lauren N

Apr 6, 2016

I would have liked to had more relevant examples of how to apply the concepts learned to real life scenarios.

By Deniss �

Jan 20, 2021

project should be changed tosuch what explain strongly HOW to write for example DOCUMENTS and how to govern.

By Dikshant P

May 1, 2020

Course can be further detailed and digged dipper to understand the concepts explained in the video lectures.

By Tanvi S

May 4, 2020

The exercises should have examples which we can solve because as students we don't have many to work with.

By Jingzhou ( L

Mar 26, 2020

The pattern of the course was too repetitive. There was not detailed feedback on the questions of the quiz.

By Filipa M

Dec 19, 2019

It is a very good introduction to Project Management, but very simple. I would say only for very begginers.

By Hanna P

Jan 16, 2016

test questions far too easy

slide show lessons not well structured and too focussed on repetetive concepts