Chevron Left
Back to Initiating and Planning Projects

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Initiating and Planning Projects by University of California, Irvine

4.7
stars
13,781 ratings
2,644 reviews

About the Course

The courses in the Introduction to Project Management Principles and Practices Specialization are a recommended precursor to UCI's Applied Project Management Certificate. Successful projects require careful upfront planning. In this course, you’ll learn the key roles and responsibilities of the project manager and project team. You’ll also learn to answer some key questions upfront to help you meet project objectives: What will this project accomplish? Why is this project important? Who benefits from this project? How will we plan for successful outcomes? Upon completing this course, you will be able to: 1. Identify the key characteristics of a project 2. Identify primary project constraints 3. Define the role and responsibilities of the project manager 4. Identify Project Organizational Structures 5. Understand the definition of a Project Stakeholder 6. Identify project stakeholders 7. Identify information needs of the project stakeholders 8. Define responsibility for managing stakeholder and controlling stakeholder engagement 9. Define the purpose of using a project charter 10. Summarize the key elements of a project plan 11. Identify common sources of conflict within a project environment 12. Describe the difference between authority and influence...
Highlights
foundational knowledge
(842 Reviews)
introductory course
(675 Reviews)

Top reviews

DS

Nov 20, 2017

It was very helpful for me to understand what the project management is. I am just thinking about starting this new career path and i was feeling comfortable in this field during the learning process.

P

Jan 29, 2020

Thank you to Coursera for such a great platform to improve our skills and literacy.The learning environment offered here is completely a learn at your own pace environment,making it flexible to learn.

Filter by:

2051 - 2075 of 2,615 Reviews for Initiating and Planning Projects

By John R K

Apr 11, 2016

Learning was relevant to any project and put forward in a concise manner. The teachers used real life project management experiences to emphasize concepts and principles. I especially enjoyed the panel discussion with experienced project managers where they talked about their experiences.

By Christine R

Feb 18, 2019

Really enjoyed this class. I am a very detailed note taker and there were a couple of instances that the information provided didn't match the quiz answers; i.e. The Triple Constraint. Overall this is very convenient, good layout and I enjoyed the professor. Ready for my next class!

By Mohammad Z

Apr 18, 2020

Very nice course for PM starter, the ways and tricks presented in this course really gives you the tools required to start your project management learning journey.

Great thanks to the tutor Ms. Margaret Meloni and defiantly to Coursera for giving me such nice opportunity for leaning.

By Barabanova E

May 18, 2020

Thank you Margaret for this course. It was great and I really enjoyed it. What I would maybe add as a point is the length of the video materials (longer), additionally, it would be great to have more videos included but still keep reading as backup information or refresh.

Ekaterina

By Tereza H

Jul 11, 2017

Although I had already some experience with project management I still learned a lot in this course. It really broke for me certain ambiguity I had from the theoretical education compared to the real work experience and my personal identification with the role of a project manager.

By Håkon S

Jul 07, 2016

This was a great course, and I espesially liked the last bonus video. The creaters have grosely underestimateed how much time you are going to use on week 4 though (about scoping). For those of us who does these courses in our work time, that makes it really hard to plan the day.

By Gasim K

May 14, 2020

Almost perfect. It would be perfect if more practical examples, as well as more tests (some of them were repetitive), will be added. Besides, open-end and/or case-solving questions, if added, would make learning and assessment during the course better. Thanks for the course.

By Kondratiuk A O

Aug 06, 2020

this is a useful course, the only thing that is very upset is the lack of ability to translate text materials using Google Translate or other means, although the text can not be copied, which means that to master the course if you are not a native speaker is very difficult

By Mohammed J D

May 31, 2020

The course is very flexible and easy to understand. The instructor was amazing, but she should have contributed more to the course. The lessons are helpful, but the instructor excluded most of the topics from her lectures. The quizzes were easy but thoughtful.

By Roger T

Feb 06, 2016

Very good high-level intro to PMBOK-based project management. The UC Irvine classes are not particularly demanding, and won't by themselves prepare you to take the PMP exam, but they will give you a decent grounding in the terminology and principles involved.

By Erin R

Nov 06, 2017

I thought this was an excellent overview of project management. It didn't overwhelm with all the nuts and bolts of how to do this, but instead gave a general idea of what needs to be considered. I've already started using some of the tools presented at work.

By Rachel H

Oct 25, 2016

Excellent introduction to Project Management. This course give definition to the field and provides foundational context for any level of practice. I especially appreciate the clean visual presentations and valuable bonuses provided by UCIrvine.

By Kendra O

Apr 11, 2020

The lectures of the course are concise and well thought out. The provided text gives a lot of detail and examples of the concepts. The real-world practice sections could really use some work, but otherwise, I really enjoyed this first Course.

By Hardik D

Feb 05, 2017

The Course is good for a beginner as it is easy to understand. The final test should be a little difficult. If possible the videos could be more elaborate.

Instead of slides, Videos could be added to make it more interactive to learn

By Paul B

Sep 17, 2015

The course was very helpful for undersatnding basic concepts in project management, with interesting and insightful use cases. The pacing is excellent, lectures are just the right length to not get you overfluded with information.

By Meghan P

Jul 19, 2020

Great, high-level overview of the project management process. The slideshows were easy to access and provided condensed and highly relevant information. The platform was well used, and I appreciated the flexibility of the format.

By Meng G L

May 11, 2020

I loved that the course was short and sweet and provided a quick overview to PMP, PMBOK and how to initiate and plan projects. The practical tips provided by the instructor and panel discussion were very informative and useful.

By Randall G

Dec 01, 2017

Very good introductory course if you are new to Project Management. I also liked the fact that the course is designed to help you build your project management knowledge and provides a clear pathway for more advanced training

By Anne-Charlotte M

May 07, 2020

This course is definitely aimed mainly at professionals who want to work for big organisations, but the content was explained very clearly and the panelist videos are very interesting for aspiring project managers. Thank you!

By Alin C F

Jul 17, 2016

The course is a little bit hard to follow for the people who are just starting in the Project Management Area. It would be nice to have more video lessons and less additional material to consult.

I liked the weekly exercises.

By Yash V

Aug 09, 2018

The course offers an inside into Project Management and what are the various parameters that project managers need to do and how to make decision to run a project smoothly and efficiently with cross domain functionalities.

By Debora B

Sep 29, 2018

Very useful information and a good start. My suggestion would be to have more interesting videos. There are more creative ways of presenting information that helps the student stay engaged. Perhaps a less formal approach.

By Johann J C

Jun 18, 2020

A comprehensive introduction to good practices and approaches provided by the PMBOK framework, emphasizing the importance of criteria over methodologies, and establishing a fresh perspective towards conflict management.

By Thakur r v

May 04, 2020

the course is good and it gives basic ideas about planning project the video lecture are very easy to understand i like the last video where expert panelist shared their experience and the flash reading material is good

By Synthia

Mar 28, 2019

This is a good course for anyone in a project management role or is looking for a role similar to project management, the course modules explains the concepts from the PMBOK really well and keeps the learner engaged!