Chevron Left
Back to Initiating and Planning Projects

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Initiating and Planning Projects by University of California, Irvine

4.7
stars
18,071 ratings
3,464 reviews

About the Course

The courses in the Introduction to Project Management Principles and Practices Specialization are a recommended precursor to UCI's Applied Project Management Certificate. Successful projects require careful upfront planning. In this course, you’ll learn the key roles and responsibilities of the project manager and project team. You’ll also learn to answer some key questions upfront to help you meet project objectives: What will this project accomplish? Why is this project important? Who benefits from this project? How will we plan for successful outcomes? Upon completing this course, you will be able to: 1. Identify the key characteristics of a project 2. Identify primary project constraints 3. Define the role and responsibilities of the project manager 4. Identify Project Organizational Structures 5. Understand the definition of a Project Stakeholder 6. Identify project stakeholders 7. Identify information needs of the project stakeholders 8. Define responsibility for managing stakeholder and controlling stakeholder engagement 9. Define the purpose of using a project charter 10. Summarize the key elements of a project plan 11. Identify common sources of conflict within a project environment 12. Describe the difference between authority and influence...
Highlights
foundational knowledge
(842 Reviews)
introductory course
(675 Reviews)

Top reviews

OU
Mar 26, 2018

This is absolutely worth everything that I invested into this course. And I do not mind studying it all over again! I recommend it for anyone who wants to learn project management. Thank you Margaret.

PI
Nov 25, 2020

Por error en la encuesta presione very dissatisfied, pero en realidad estoy muy satisfecho y contento con el curso, aprendí bastante aunque me tomó un poco más de tiempo por cuestiones externas, 10/10

Filter by:

176 - 200 of 3,428 Reviews for Initiating and Planning Projects

By Kelly F

Aug 31, 2020

I feel much more knowledgeable about Project Management after taking this course. I've already used some of the lessons learned as I continue my job hunt. I plan to continue taking the courses in this series to earn the Specialization.

By Azubuike C P

Jun 16, 2020

Am glad to have taken up this course, it has widened my understanding and more knowledge of carrying out a project, processes to follow , how to solve conflicts. I appreciate for this wonderful opportunity May you be blessed Margaret.

By Luccas K

Sep 29, 2016

This introductory course was amazing. It exceeded all my expectations about it. The course is developed for a smooth growth of knowledge through the weeks. The videos and the interactive material helps the student to learn more easily.

By Jafed E G

Jul 6, 2019

I enjoy the lectures. The professor has a good speaking and teaching style which keeps me interested. Lots of concrete math examples which make it easier to understand. Very good slides which are well formulated and easy to understand

By Guido F P

Jun 26, 2020

Un curso muy interesante donde se ven desde los conceptos más básicos del desarrollo de proyectos, a conceptos más avanzados. Un buen puntapié para aquellos que desean empezar a pensar estratégicamente cómo desarrollar sus proyectos.

By Mark A C

Dec 10, 2015

Fast moving course. Covered a lot of material quickly. I took this course as a refresher since I have managed a number of large projects in the past bit do not have a pmi certification. I learned some things! I glad I spent the time.

By Monta K

Jan 15, 2021

Great course with important basics and inspirations as well. It shows how important is planning and preparing, documentation before real work. Easy to understand and nicely to listen Margaret Meloni lectures and advices. Thank You!

By Joy N

Mar 23, 2020

The course structure has been extremely flexible , allowing me to study at my convenience. It has also simplified the complexity of studying and understanding PM. This course has also greatly enhanced my career opportunities .

By Rana T H

Jul 11, 2020

I think everyone who is interested in project management should have to take this course. Here you can learn how to tackle problems related to stakeholders and much more about planning and executing the project assigned to you.

By Muhammad B H

May 26, 2020

This is a good course to learn project management with very detailed information and good explanation. I'd suggest to add more study case especially on risk management and "how to" create a good plan and execution of a project.

By SSEMBATYA E

Aug 9, 2020

Am so happy that my current project is propelled by the knowledge and skills of Project management acquired from UCI . Thanks a lot , it has really worked for me. Never will my projects hit dead end. Am sky rocking at moment.

By ATHAVALE K M

May 18, 2020

This course is perfectly designed for the professionals in the field as well as for the fresher professionals. The concepts regarding the project management are easily taught in an easier and more user friendly way

Best wishes

By Jacyara d O

Nov 4, 2016

Very well organized course. Not exactly what I was hoping to get into, but I'm glad I took it. I think I will be a better and more organized project manager, even if I am not applying these principles to such a specific task.

By Aaron O

Nov 29, 2020

This was a very interesting course, and allowed me to understand what the project managers in my department do in much more detail. I would like to be a PM one day, so this has gave me a better idea of what will be expected.

By Ahmed F A

Oct 13, 2020

Very information course. Easy to follow lectures. Wonderful Bonus Materials. It equips you with all the necessary concepts, while opening the door for you to delve deep in the each of the knowledge areas. Highly recommended.

By OTHOI K R

Jun 29, 2020

It is a very basic course. If you are a beginner thinking to take the course, do not get scared just start it. I understood the basics for project management through this course without any previous knowledge in this sector.

By Ovakporoye A

Jan 31, 2020

I had a lot of fun learning this course, Margaret made it especially easy, and the Panelist interview answered questions I often was confused about, and it also gave me the confidence about my approach to project management.

By Josef L

Nov 26, 2017

Enjoying this very much. It is directly applicable to my current line of work and I am finding ways to employ what I am learning on a daily basis. This is making me better at my job and I am happy to be part of this program.

By SHERYLL A M L

Jan 25, 2021

THE COURSE INITIATING AND PLANNING PROJECTS HAS PAVED THE WAY FOR MY SELF IMPROVEMENT AS A PROFESSIONAL WHICH BENEFITS NOT ONLY THE PERSONS I WORKED WITH BUT MOST OF ALL TO THE ORGANIZATION THAT I BELONG.

THANK YOU COURSERA!

By Tasfia A M

Apr 30, 2017

The course was really elaborate and resourceful. I have already recommended my colleagues to do this course. I am planning to enroll myself into the next course of the Project Management - Budgeting and Scheduling Projects.

By William A

May 18, 2018

Very nice alternative to brick and mortar classrooms. Easy to keep up with the work and review what you have learned. I do recommend picking up the suggested text to aid you on your journey if you plan to take this course.

By Natalia K

Jun 12, 2017

I really enjoyed the examples and the lectures, very easy to understand, even for non-english speakers. This course will be very helpful to get a masters degree in Project Administration here in Mexico City, so, thank you!

By Barış Y C

Dec 19, 2020

My course, which I applied, believing that it would be very helpful for me to improve myself, is finally finished. This course gave me very good information and helped me to advance my management goal in my business life.

By Faith A I R

Sep 19, 2020

This is an excellent course for anyone seeking to study Project Management. It is clear and comprehensive and affords you the opportunity to work at your own pace. I highly recommend this course to interested persons!!!!

By Gabe R P

Aug 23, 2020

I really grateful to complete this course, because today after all of this material that I've just finished, I know how important the theoretical of project management it is & how to implement all of that part in my work.