Chevron Left
Back to Initiating and Planning Projects

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Initiating and Planning Projects by University of California, Irvine

4.7
stars
18,095 ratings
3,470 reviews

About the Course

The courses in the Introduction to Project Management Principles and Practices Specialization are a recommended precursor to UCI's Applied Project Management Certificate. Successful projects require careful upfront planning. In this course, you’ll learn the key roles and responsibilities of the project manager and project team. You’ll also learn to answer some key questions upfront to help you meet project objectives: What will this project accomplish? Why is this project important? Who benefits from this project? How will we plan for successful outcomes? Upon completing this course, you will be able to: 1. Identify the key characteristics of a project 2. Identify primary project constraints 3. Define the role and responsibilities of the project manager 4. Identify Project Organizational Structures 5. Understand the definition of a Project Stakeholder 6. Identify project stakeholders 7. Identify information needs of the project stakeholders 8. Define responsibility for managing stakeholder and controlling stakeholder engagement 9. Define the purpose of using a project charter 10. Summarize the key elements of a project plan 11. Identify common sources of conflict within a project environment 12. Describe the difference between authority and influence...
Highlights
foundational knowledge
(842 Reviews)
introductory course
(675 Reviews)

Top reviews

PI
Nov 25, 2020

Por error en la encuesta presione very dissatisfied, pero en realidad estoy muy satisfecho y contento con el curso, aprendí bastante aunque me tomó un poco más de tiempo por cuestiones externas, 10/10

MH
Jun 24, 2020

This course provides some practical situation which enriches my acknowledgment about being a responsible in any project and it also helps me to understand the planning process management proficiently!

Filter by:

2801 - 2825 of 3,431 Reviews for Initiating and Planning Projects

By Divyanshu G

May 14, 2020

The course is good for a start in the Project Management field. It has covered various terms and techniques required by a Project Manager to Plan, Execute and Close the project efficiently.

By David L

Aug 1, 2018

Great course! It would be even better if lecture and study could be blended a bit more (occasionally felt like the material was just covered twice), but overall good content delivered well.

By Giovanni Z

Aug 28, 2016

Very interesting and well organized. Sometime it's pretendet to have the pmbok that should not be essential for the book. In geleral there is a week connection between lectures and classes.

By TAN , H (

Dec 15, 2020

This course is great for those who want to learn about the basics of Initiating and Planning Projects. It also tackles the issues of leadership and management in the construction industry.

By Paul H

Jul 18, 2020

Fantastic course, very interesting. Useful even if you are not looking to become a full time project manager and just are simply involved in projects and would like a better understanding

By Vanessa A

Apr 26, 2020

Good planning and execution of this course...a little dry, and too much repetition for me, but I can see where that helps to reinforce learning for various learners and their styles.

By Mohamed A

Nov 2, 2016

its have a lot of very useful information including the bonus videos, but the way we are examined could be more challenging and the discussion forum would have been very interesting

By Polina D

Apr 17, 2020

I liked the course - it's detailed, short and provide a lot of information.

The only thing I did not like is the final exam that include all the same questions as from other quizes.

By Luis P

Jul 5, 2017

pretty good, maybe it would be better if the supplemental materials were provided, or instead they added more richness to the course material rather than leaving optional readings.

By Darren L

Oct 16, 2020

I did enjoy this course, optional/mandatory lectures with a more in depth drill down descriptions of individual tasks would be an asset to a more in depth understanding of roles.

By Juan A G A

Aug 17, 2020

Es muy bueno y durante las clases aprendes a cómo resolver conflictos y elegir la mejor decisión para algún proyecto que nosotros deseamos realizar. En general excelente curso.

By Amanda Z

May 21, 2020

While the nature of the work is not new it gave me the language to articulate what I have already being doing throughout my career. The videos and concepts were well presented.

By Alexey A

Jan 23, 2019

The course is a good introduction to the topic.

One improvement I'd like to suggest is to avoid using the questions from the intermediate quiz'es in the final test, if possible.

By Tongxun G

Apr 29, 2016

A lot of information, the explanation is clear and intriguing, wish the course could provide more detailed cases and examples so beginners would find them easier to visualise.

By Nishant J

Jan 17, 2020

Inclusion of a little bit more of some interactive content and videos will be greatly appreciated. Overall a really good course. Please rely less on PMBOK Guide. Thank you.

By Omar A

Sep 9, 2016

I thought this course was excellently administered and was much better than than many of the online courses I took as an undergrad. I'm excited to start on the next course.

By Adarsh L

Nov 17, 2020

This course really helped me a lot by giving more insights towards a Project manager role towards Project Scope, Stake holder management, Conflict resolution techniques.

By Rory C

Jan 7, 2018

Great course, a good overview of project initiation from an American PMI perspective. Video's are clear and correlate with the lessons and exams. No ambiguity, enjoyed!

By Diksha

Jun 26, 2020

A great course with to-the-point lectures and lessons covering all areas related to Initiating & Planning Projects. Would like to see inclusion of more case studies.

By Armand G V

Apr 24, 2017

It is a great course, they should just expand more and do more questions, the TMBOK guide goes why deeper, they should also but nether the less it is a great course

By Sabiha A

Apr 17, 2020

It was a nice journey with this course. It will be helpful for the project starters. They will overcome their fear & will be confident after completing this course.

By Ben W

May 16, 2018

Good information, quizzes and exams reasonable in competency relevance.

"Flash Lessons" are quite wordy, difficult to process information portrayed in these slides.

By Lu M

Apr 10, 2020

A good and comprehensive introductory course with valuable pm tools. However, the tests and the final exam were almost too easy. Could be created more challenging.

By Jay P

Jun 19, 2019

Great pace and content of instructor. Helped put a actual perspective rather than what can become a dry and very process intensive effort to learn this material.

By Monica P

Dec 30, 2020

Overall, the information provided was clear and concise. I would like the option to download the required readings to make notes/highlights if possible. Thanks!