Chevron Left
Back to Initiating and Planning Projects

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Initiating and Planning Projects by University of California, Irvine

4.7
stars
19,954 ratings
3,794 reviews

About the Course

The courses in the Introduction to Project Management Principles and Practices Specialization are a recommended precursor to UCI's Applied Project Management Certificate. Successful projects require careful upfront planning. In this course, you’ll learn the key roles and responsibilities of the project manager and project team. You’ll also learn to answer some key questions upfront to help you meet project objectives: What will this project accomplish? Why is this project important? Who benefits from this project? How will we plan for successful outcomes? Upon completing this course, you will be able to: 1. Identify the key characteristics of a project 2. Identify primary project constraints 3. Define the role and responsibilities of the project manager 4. Identify Project Organizational Structures 5. Understand the definition of a Project Stakeholder 6. Identify project stakeholders 7. Identify information needs of the project stakeholders 8. Define responsibility for managing stakeholder and controlling stakeholder engagement 9. Define the purpose of using a project charter 10. Summarize the key elements of a project plan 11. Identify common sources of conflict within a project environment 12. Describe the difference between authority and influence...
Highlights
foundational knowledge
(842 Reviews)
introductory course
(675 Reviews)

Top reviews

DS
Nov 19, 2017

It was very helpful for me to understand what the project management is. I am just thinking about starting this new career path and i was feeling comfortable in this field during the learning process.

BS
Jul 5, 2020

Excelent course! It gives you the principles of project management for the early phases, initianing and planning, it has very good dynamic and share examples, it's a good option if you're newbie in PM

Filter by:

3176 - 3200 of 3,765 Reviews for Initiating and Planning Projects

By Pardeese E

Dec 15, 2016

Good basic introduction to Project Management. I wish they gave more examples of how it comes together with forms etc.

By Ha H V

Jul 18, 2018

The course is informative for beginner who wants to know basics about different aspect to consider managing a project

By suzana

Oct 9, 2020

The course allowed me to get a deep view of how to start a Project. So much to learn yet.

Now I know where to start.

By Eleni V

May 5, 2020

8/10, Ι am very much satisfied and looking forward to completing the other 2 courses on Project Management Strategy.

By Kaushalya B

Apr 15, 2018

It was good course but can be finished within 4 hours instead of 6 weeks which means the content isn't large enough.

By Marc R

Oct 23, 2016

Interactive lecture, with good breakdown to the core of the knowledge area, but also with a look on the big picture.

By Kervin C P

Oct 5, 2020

I enjoyed it, It was my first experience doing a online course, I can definitely recommend these courses to people.

By Ioannis F

Feb 8, 2021

On the final exam there is an error in 2 questions with same correct answers and it doesn't give 100% of my grade

By Dr. C L

May 9, 2020

Very good and simple to understand, the instructor was very clear and uses simple example as well simple language

By clara p

Nov 2, 2020

Thank you, UCI and Coursera, for this!! Learned a lot and looking forward to using what I've learned in my work.

By Miguel L Y

Oct 7, 2020

They cover the basics of initiation really well. I just think that the lecture videos are delivered too quickly.

By Usman A

May 15, 2020

many things are useful in my professional life which i learn from this course but content of course is too short

By Wilma W

Aug 3, 2017

This course provide a overview of project management. Also it leads me to think the PM problem in real business.

By Refaat E

Feb 15, 2016

It is most usefull course here i have joined I got a lot of infomation from, with high Efficiency!

thanks at all!

By David R

Feb 13, 2021

Clear structured, but some modules too many reading materials (less suitable for people who don't like reading)

By fiorenzo c

Nov 18, 2018

Overall a good course, but I would have loved to have more realistic study cases. I loved the final interviews!

By Kisha

Apr 3, 2018

The resources are helpful and the Professor has a wonderful demeanor making it easy to understand the content.

By Joe B

Jul 11, 2016

Useful and interesting, but seemed a bit easy; I completed the whole course in only a few hours worth of work.

By Mafalda F

Sep 17, 2020

I appreciated the course I think that could have given more tools for project managers to apply their skills.

By Abdelhak B

Jul 8, 2020

multiple abstract cancepts in this course that need some concrete case study examples to apply and understand

By Sanjeet R

Jul 6, 2020

I liked the course very much but at the same time, I felt the need for more case studies and video lectures.

By Amro H

Apr 17, 2016

Great course and material! It kept me disciplined and following up on class requirements to ensure learning.

By Moeti M

Aug 18, 2020

Great course, would highly recommend. Only critique would be the lack of diversity in assessment questions.

By Ingrid A G C

Nov 1, 2020

Very informative and helped me review project management. I hope it will help me in the professional field

By Rodolfo E B

Mar 28, 2016

O curso é ótimo, a única que coisa que faz falta é não poder ver as lições em slides no dispositivo móvel.