Chevron Left
Back to Initiating and Planning Projects

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Initiating and Planning Projects by University of California, Irvine

4.7
stars
19,055 ratings
3,619 reviews

About the Course

The courses in the Introduction to Project Management Principles and Practices Specialization are a recommended precursor to UCI's Applied Project Management Certificate. Successful projects require careful upfront planning. In this course, you’ll learn the key roles and responsibilities of the project manager and project team. You’ll also learn to answer some key questions upfront to help you meet project objectives: What will this project accomplish? Why is this project important? Who benefits from this project? How will we plan for successful outcomes? Upon completing this course, you will be able to: 1. Identify the key characteristics of a project 2. Identify primary project constraints 3. Define the role and responsibilities of the project manager 4. Identify Project Organizational Structures 5. Understand the definition of a Project Stakeholder 6. Identify project stakeholders 7. Identify information needs of the project stakeholders 8. Define responsibility for managing stakeholder and controlling stakeholder engagement 9. Define the purpose of using a project charter 10. Summarize the key elements of a project plan 11. Identify common sources of conflict within a project environment 12. Describe the difference between authority and influence...
Highlights
foundational knowledge
(842 Reviews)
introductory course
(675 Reviews)

Top reviews

PD
Jan 28, 2020

Thank you to Coursera for such a great platform to improve our skills and literacy.The learning environment offered here is completely a learn at your own pace environment,making it flexible to learn.

DS
Nov 19, 2017

It was very helpful for me to understand what the project management is. I am just thinking about starting this new career path and i was feeling comfortable in this field during the learning process.

Filter by:

3476 - 3500 of 3,573 Reviews for Initiating and Planning Projects

By Aghyad A

May 18, 2020

It is a good course for beginners. The exercises that include imagining could be changed with something else more proactive.

By Paolo L

Jun 8, 2016

Pros: Very clear explanations, useful slides for PMP preparation.

Cons: Very easy questions and exams. Not challenging at all

By Daniel R G

Jul 10, 2020

El material dado es claro y de alta calidad. Sin embargo los videos y los casos de estudio podrían ser mayores y mejores

By Muhammad F

Sep 6, 2020

This course enhanced my knowledge about initiating a project and how to plan it and get success in your projects

By I K

May 12, 2019

Although I understand it was a beginners course, it was far too easy. I finished the entire course in 3/4 hours.

By Ran F

Feb 5, 2018

Good course for novices. Not enough new stuff for people have some experience in projects, formally, informally.

By Lauren N

Apr 6, 2016

I would have liked to had more relevant examples of how to apply the concepts learned to real life scenarios.

By Deniss �

Jan 20, 2021

project should be changed tosuch what explain strongly HOW to write for example DOCUMENTS and how to govern.

By Dikshant P

May 1, 2020

Course can be further detailed and digged dipper to understand the concepts explained in the video lectures.

By Tanvi S

May 4, 2020

The exercises should have examples which we can solve because as students we don't have many to work with.

By Jingzhou ( L

Mar 26, 2020

The pattern of the course was too repetitive. There was not detailed feedback on the questions of the quiz.

By Filipa M

Dec 19, 2019

It is a very good introduction to Project Management, but very simple. I would say only for very begginers.

By Hanna P

Jan 16, 2016

test questions far too easy

slide show lessons not well structured and too focussed on repetetive concepts

By Lorenzo M F F

Jun 17, 2020

The lessons were really informative, however, I wish the structure of the lessons were more organized

By Stephanie G

Apr 3, 2020

If you're right brained it's very hard to get and stay into. That said, the information was helpful.

By Aadib K

Jun 16, 2017

Video lectures contains too many definitions requiring too much to pause while viewing the video.

By Tathagat K

Sep 8, 2020

The conecepts are difficult to understand because of the difficult language used in the course.

By Rushi

Jul 3, 2020

It helps get your feet wet. Also, I like the professor. She's enthusiastic about the material.

By Anvi I

Jul 12, 2020

the assesments were not very helpful in testing your knowledge, you could add more examples.

By Shady D

Nov 18, 2015

Good way to refresh your knowledge about PMP .. but not qualifying as a professional course

By NOURAH A

Sep 28, 2020

It's just theoretical. We didn't get a change to apply the planning process and so on.

By Andrea R

Mar 7, 2016

Good course, easy to follow. Stayed away from complicated, deep-dives of information

By Elena N

Feb 11, 2017

Useful if you want to take PMP exam, beginner info about PM, but not very deep.

By Joyce M

Feb 6, 2017

Real live scenarios of running a project would add a great deal to the course.

By Megan M

May 22, 2018

I have no background in project management an even I found it too elementary.