Chevron Left
Back to Initiating and Planning Projects

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Initiating and Planning Projects by University of California, Irvine

4.7
stars
19,713 ratings
3,756 reviews

About the Course

The courses in the Introduction to Project Management Principles and Practices Specialization are a recommended precursor to UCI's Applied Project Management Certificate. Successful projects require careful upfront planning. In this course, you’ll learn the key roles and responsibilities of the project manager and project team. You’ll also learn to answer some key questions upfront to help you meet project objectives: What will this project accomplish? Why is this project important? Who benefits from this project? How will we plan for successful outcomes? Upon completing this course, you will be able to: 1. Identify the key characteristics of a project 2. Identify primary project constraints 3. Define the role and responsibilities of the project manager 4. Identify Project Organizational Structures 5. Understand the definition of a Project Stakeholder 6. Identify project stakeholders 7. Identify information needs of the project stakeholders 8. Define responsibility for managing stakeholder and controlling stakeholder engagement 9. Define the purpose of using a project charter 10. Summarize the key elements of a project plan 11. Identify common sources of conflict within a project environment 12. Describe the difference between authority and influence...
Highlights
foundational knowledge
(842 Reviews)
introductory course
(675 Reviews)

Top reviews

DS
Nov 19, 2017

It was very helpful for me to understand what the project management is. I am just thinking about starting this new career path and i was feeling comfortable in this field during the learning process.

PD
Jan 28, 2020

Thank you to Coursera for such a great platform to improve our skills and literacy.The learning environment offered here is completely a learn at your own pace environment,making it flexible to learn.

Filter by:

3676 - 3700 of 3,712 Reviews for Initiating and Planning Projects

By Peter S

May 18, 2020

Wish I'd been told before starting how much content relied on having the PMBOK book. Lack of linear structure to the planning process was quite confusing. The teaching seemed to flit back and forward the process. Left a litte confused about the correct order to tackle things in.

By Bruno V

Dec 16, 2017

well organized course, teach you the basics of project management.

Rated 2 stars: no point in paying if you don't have any course material, like downloadable presentation, which are crucial if you want to review what you've studied.

By Jürgen B

Dec 17, 2020

Instructor and lectures are good, but the Adobe Flash-based materials are annoying and difficult / impossible to use for future reference. Also Flash is being EOL'ed.

Overall the course is OK, but should go into a bit more depth.

By Dan-Timon R

Mar 31, 2016

Good as overview, but pretty shallow. Only some slides to read through, no real exercises but constant reference to the standard project management book. Pretty fast click-through as start into project management.

By Eleanor C

Apr 23, 2021

Subject matter is presented clearly with good examples. It is easy to understand the presenter. I would have preferred there be more panels and actual case studies rather than lectures and made-up cases.

By LUANA N M

Oct 12, 2020

The other courses I took at coursera were much better, so I expected more from this one. The flash lessons aren't that good for this generation at least, and soon google chrome will no longer support flash

By Tobias d G

Feb 24, 2017

The course is not interactive enough, it's a waterfall of dry information. I'd expected more based on the generally good reviews. Say, more examples, better videos. Think twice before buying.

By Anton

Jun 24, 2021

Content is t​oo superficial, can be aasily replaced with an brief overview article. Poor quality of video material - some phrases are cut in the middle where pieces are stitched together

By oranut s

Jul 20, 2020

It's for the young worker who just starts to work in the office. The lesson may be too simple for the experienced officer

By peyman s

Dec 18, 2016

Despite having high quality contents, the quantity wasn't as much as I expected. The number of videos could be a lot more.

By Helga B

Jan 24, 2021

This course is too theoretical for me, I really miss some practical homework each week.

By Toby P

Oct 18, 2015

Some good concepts and stories, but lacking in specific techniques.

By Danish J

Feb 9, 2019

It should be alligned with PMBOK 6th Edition

By Sanghamitra K

Apr 6, 2021

Where is the other parts

By Euromina T

Mar 15, 2019

Not interactive enough.

By Ali F

Apr 14, 2020

It was just theory!

By Aymen A M A

Jul 6, 2019

Very Boring

By Paul

Sep 16, 2020

5 star

By Milos M

Apr 15, 2021

I have expected much more from the course. It involves a lot of reading, which can be done without the course. LIstening to teachers how they present brings much mroe value. In this course even lectures don't have the names.

There are no case studies provided, or interesting research. Compared to some coursed like Leading People and Teams specialization from Michigan University, this one is really poor.

Regards,

Milos

By Elham L

Jun 26, 2021

T​he quality of videos were low most of them have so many issues, also the content is more fit a 2 hour short course rathen than a course. Overal, the quality was not even close to other courses I have taken in courseara

By LUISA I P I

Aug 22, 2020

Estimados: Al querer entrar en el curso, me envía a la semana , pero no me da la posibilidad de ver los vídeo, la pantalla se va a blanco.

Espero me lo puedan arreglar, la verdad me interesa el curso

By Tyler N

Oct 29, 2015

This class is taught a terrible pace and is very old-school in it's thinking. It was pretty painful to get through actually

By Rafael P V

Jul 10, 2020

It said I could earn a certificate of completion... I paid and all and didn't get anything! I'm really disapointed.

By Rajesh G

Apr 29, 2020

Lot of Improvement required, Sorry to say, but nevertheless Youtube videos are better than the course content

By YANWEI H

Mar 31, 2016

Very through introduction course, very helpful for those who are preparing for PMP exam .