Chevron Left
Back to Initiating and Planning Projects

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Initiating and Planning Projects by University of California, Irvine

4.7
stars
20,082 ratings
3,814 reviews

About the Course

The courses in the Introduction to Project Management Principles and Practices Specialization are a recommended precursor to UCI's Applied Project Management Certificate. Successful projects require careful upfront planning. In this course, you’ll learn the key roles and responsibilities of the project manager and project team. You’ll also learn to answer some key questions upfront to help you meet project objectives: What will this project accomplish? Why is this project important? Who benefits from this project? How will we plan for successful outcomes? Upon completing this course, you will be able to: 1. Identify the key characteristics of a project 2. Identify primary project constraints 3. Define the role and responsibilities of the project manager 4. Identify Project Organizational Structures 5. Understand the definition of a Project Stakeholder 6. Identify project stakeholders 7. Identify information needs of the project stakeholders 8. Define responsibility for managing stakeholder and controlling stakeholder engagement 9. Define the purpose of using a project charter 10. Summarize the key elements of a project plan 11. Identify common sources of conflict within a project environment 12. Describe the difference between authority and influence...
Highlights
foundational knowledge
(842 Reviews)
introductory course
(675 Reviews)

Top reviews

SY
Aug 30, 2020

The course is a very great asset to any aspiring project manager. You get to understand the fundamentals and essentials in any given project and the means to ameliorate conflicts amongst stakeholders.

PD
Jan 28, 2020

Thank you to Coursera for such a great platform to improve our skills and literacy.The learning environment offered here is completely a learn at your own pace environment,making it flexible to learn.

Filter by:

3751 - 3775 of 3,777 Reviews for Initiating and Planning Projects

By Danish J

Feb 9, 2019

It should be alligned with PMBOK 6th Edition

By Sanghamitra K

Apr 6, 2021

Where is the other parts

By Euromina T

Mar 15, 2019

Not interactive enough.

By Ali F

Apr 14, 2020

It was just theory!

By Aymen A M A

Jul 6, 2019

Very Boring

By Paul

Sep 16, 2020

5 star

By Milos M

Apr 15, 2021

I have expected much more from the course. It involves a lot of reading, which can be done without the course. LIstening to teachers how they present brings much mroe value. In this course even lectures don't have the names.

There are no case studies provided, or interesting research. Compared to some coursed like Leading People and Teams specialization from Michigan University, this one is really poor.

Regards,

Milos

By Elham L

Jun 26, 2021

T​he quality of videos were low most of them have so many issues, also the content is more fit a 2 hour short course rathen than a course. Overal, the quality was not even close to other courses I have taken in courseara

By LUISA I P I

Aug 22, 2020

Estimados: Al querer entrar en el curso, me envía a la semana , pero no me da la posibilidad de ver los vídeo, la pantalla se va a blanco.

Espero me lo puedan arreglar, la verdad me interesa el curso

By Tyler N

Oct 29, 2015

This class is taught a terrible pace and is very old-school in it's thinking. It was pretty painful to get through actually

By Rafael P V

Jul 10, 2020

It said I could earn a certificate of completion... I paid and all and didn't get anything! I'm really disapointed.

By Rajesh G

Apr 29, 2020

Lot of Improvement required, Sorry to say, but nevertheless Youtube videos are better than the course content

By YANWEI H

Mar 31, 2016

Very through introduction course, very helpful for those who are preparing for PMP exam .

By Maur M

Aug 5, 2021

Sorry! I want to unenrolled but the option does not open in the three dots menu.

By Colin H

Jul 11, 2021

T​hey don't let you download the materials. So don't waste your time on it.

By Julien K

Jan 4, 2021

no certification ??? are kidding me ?????????????????????????????????????

By RAFAEL G G

Sep 22, 2021

EL CURSO ES INGLES Y NO SE ENTIENDE, OAJALA Y LO PUEDAN PONER EN ESPAOL

By Alvaro J

Jan 5, 2017

Muito Fraco, faltou detalhamento e as atividades eram muito simples

By STEPHEN E

May 10, 2020

Please, I wish to change to Project Management Project Instead.

By Terry M

Jan 31, 2020

The quizes ask you questions based on non-required books.

By S M N S

Jun 29, 2020

The question patterns should be hard

By Jean C M M

Jul 16, 2020

Los textos no estan traducidos.

By Daniel M

Sep 7, 2020

boring. did not learn much

By Roberto P

Sep 22, 2015

advertising for her book

By Stéphane N

Jan 20, 2017

No factual tools !