Chevron Left
Back to Initiating and Planning Projects

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Initiating and Planning Projects by University of California, Irvine

4.7
stars
18,604 ratings
3,549 reviews

About the Course

The courses in the Introduction to Project Management Principles and Practices Specialization are a recommended precursor to UCI's Applied Project Management Certificate. Successful projects require careful upfront planning. In this course, you’ll learn the key roles and responsibilities of the project manager and project team. You’ll also learn to answer some key questions upfront to help you meet project objectives: What will this project accomplish? Why is this project important? Who benefits from this project? How will we plan for successful outcomes? Upon completing this course, you will be able to: 1. Identify the key characteristics of a project 2. Identify primary project constraints 3. Define the role and responsibilities of the project manager 4. Identify Project Organizational Structures 5. Understand the definition of a Project Stakeholder 6. Identify project stakeholders 7. Identify information needs of the project stakeholders 8. Define responsibility for managing stakeholder and controlling stakeholder engagement 9. Define the purpose of using a project charter 10. Summarize the key elements of a project plan 11. Identify common sources of conflict within a project environment 12. Describe the difference between authority and influence...
Highlights
foundational knowledge
(842 Reviews)
introductory course
(675 Reviews)

Top reviews

PD
Jan 28, 2020

Thank you to Coursera for such a great platform to improve our skills and literacy.The learning environment offered here is completely a learn at your own pace environment,making it flexible to learn.

BS
Jul 5, 2020

Excelent course! It gives you the principles of project management for the early phases, initianing and planning, it has very good dynamic and share examples, it's a good option if you're newbie in PM

Filter by:

2801 - 2825 of 3,509 Reviews for Initiating and Planning Projects

By Zeeshan N

Oct 1, 2020

I will give it 4 star not because lessons were bad or anything its just that there was more reading then visual/video explanations so thats what was down but over all it was a great experience. Learn allot and most of the this were new to me and was an amazing experience thanks UC irvine and thanks coresera.

By Athar A

Mar 23, 2018

The course was well designed and its pace was quite good in order to to grasp the basic and deep understanding. It also includes real life case studies creating different scenarios. At-last but not least it broaden my horizons and give more confidence in order to solve the real life business problems.

By Marcus M

May 12, 2018

Excellent introductory course to project mgmt. Could use some clarification/streamlining on the terminology vs test questions throughout. (subject matter does not discuss "scope"; but test does have questions surrounding it). Overall I did end up learning a lot and looking forward to the next course!!

By PARASURAMAN R

Sep 30, 2019

Hi UCI Master's ,

In the way of Presenting the teaching is Amazing and its very easy to understand the language with classic case study to review the Subject . This is really useful for me to scale up my Project management Skills to next level of thinking . Thanks & Regards, Parasuraman. Ramasamy

By Gary M

Oct 11, 2017

There does tend to feel like a big chunk of reading material but its not death by power point, the videos are good however the American PM gentleman at end bursts the bubble a little with his 'are you sure you want to be a PM' mentality, yes of course otherwise I would not be investing my time.

By BOURTZOULAS M

Sep 23, 2020

The course level was high with very detailed explanations in project terminology. The only one that could change in my opinion is that, at the bonus videos could be presented professionals with certain problems or situations that were encountered in their workplace and what actions they took.

By Tadeáš P

Aug 8, 2019

Good, relevant information. My only reservation is the structure — the same phases are often revisited since the course arranged according to bodies of knowledge within the PMBOK. Wouldn't it make more sense to walk through the project from start to finish, i.e. using time as the main axis?

By John R K

Apr 11, 2016

Learning was relevant to any project and put forward in a concise manner. The teachers used real life project management experiences to emphasize concepts and principles. I especially enjoyed the panel discussion with experienced project managers where they talked about their experiences.

By Christine R

Feb 18, 2019

Really enjoyed this class. I am a very detailed note taker and there were a couple of instances that the information provided didn't match the quiz answers; i.e. The Triple Constraint. Overall this is very convenient, good layout and I enjoyed the professor. Ready for my next class!

By Mohammad Z

Apr 17, 2020

Very nice course for PM starter, the ways and tricks presented in this course really gives you the tools required to start your project management learning journey.

Great thanks to the tutor Ms. Margaret Meloni and defiantly to Coursera for giving me such nice opportunity for leaning.

By Barabanova E

May 18, 2020

Thank you Margaret for this course. It was great and I really enjoyed it. What I would maybe add as a point is the length of the video materials (longer), additionally, it would be great to have more videos included but still keep reading as backup information or refresh.

Ekaterina

By Tereza H

Jul 11, 2017

Although I had already some experience with project management I still learned a lot in this course. It really broke for me certain ambiguity I had from the theoretical education compared to the real work experience and my personal identification with the role of a project manager.

By Håkon S

Jul 7, 2016

This was a great course, and I espesially liked the last bonus video. The creaters have grosely underestimateed how much time you are going to use on week 4 though (about scoping). For those of us who does these courses in our work time, that makes it really hard to plan the day.

By Gelo A

Oct 20, 2020

This course helped me in properly organizing a project even though I am not on a managerial position. As a staff, I feel empowered to suggest (as an application of this course) on how our organization can be efficient, organized and effective in terms of delivering services.

By Gasim K

May 14, 2020

Almost perfect. It would be perfect if more practical examples, as well as more tests (some of them were repetitive), will be added. Besides, open-end and/or case-solving questions, if added, would make learning and assessment during the course better. Thanks for the course.

By Kondratiuk A O

Aug 6, 2020

this is a useful course, the only thing that is very upset is the lack of ability to translate text materials using Google Translate or other means, although the text can not be copied, which means that to master the course if you are not a native speaker is very difficult

By Rakibul H

Aug 22, 2020

It is a very good course who want to know about project management skills.

It is introductory do not expect to learn many things. The course is very easy and introductory level.

Before deciding a career or paid course doing this course can help in your decision making.

By Leung K W S

Nov 15, 2020

Overall, the course is enriching laying a good fundamental understanding of project management. Somewhere could be improved;

1) Provide a visual mapping understanding of the deliverables and the WBS.

2) Deliver the flash lesson to be in a form of lecture delivery.

By Mohammed J D

May 31, 2020

The course is very flexible and easy to understand. The instructor was amazing, but she should have contributed more to the course. The lessons are helpful, but the instructor excluded most of the topics from her lectures. The quizzes were easy but thoughtful.

By Roger T

Feb 6, 2016

Very good high-level intro to PMBOK-based project management. The UC Irvine classes are not particularly demanding, and won't by themselves prepare you to take the PMP exam, but they will give you a decent grounding in the terminology and principles involved.

By Erin R

Nov 6, 2017

I thought this was an excellent overview of project management. It didn't overwhelm with all the nuts and bolts of how to do this, but instead gave a general idea of what needs to be considered. I've already started using some of the tools presented at work.

By Carmina L

Feb 25, 2021

This course is very engaging and informative. I have learned a lot. The video lectures are so good it retains in your memory easily. One thing I would like to be improved is the difficulty of the quizzes. Overall this is a recommended course for beginners.

By Ieva M

Nov 3, 2020

It was very interesting to watch videos, I think they are very well-made. Though, it was a little bit boring to read "Flash lessons" and they took me much longer than indicated 10 min. In general, I am happy with the course, I learned a lot, THANK YOU!

By Rachel H

Oct 25, 2016

Excellent introduction to Project Management. This course give definition to the field and provides foundational context for any level of practice. I especially appreciate the clean visual presentations and valuable bonuses provided by UCIrvine.

By Yisy G

Oct 5, 2020

This course really covers the basics and the videos help organize and summarize a lot of the information. The readings and slides help provide even more information and they guide you to sites and other readings to learn even more on your own.